Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marumsco Hills Elementary School 3

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
My child attended this school for only one year and I'm so glad I pulled him out. Parent involvement is low which creates for low expectations dispite the staffs good intentions. Most of the title 1 funding from my view goes towards second language children neglecting the other children's needs. If you feel your vcild needs additional help and you don't speak Spanish all bets are off. Teacher moral is low. Save time and just don't even move in the zoning area of this school.

Marumsco Hills Elementary School 4

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
My child has been going to this school for the last 3 years, doing very well academically. Never received award for exceptional things, no encouraging awards. It really upsets me because other parents tell me their child do get awards. Kids need to be encouraged and recognized. Another parent also told me the same no award ever been given to her exceptionally talented child. I wish they do something about it.


Marumsco Hills Elementary School 4

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
All 3 of my children attend MHES and they have all have succeded there.The teachers and staff do a great job, they are caring and attentive, of course there is always one teacher in the bunch that is difficult , that can try our patience and forgiveness levels, but for the most part this is a great school. I think more schools would do better if the parents would volunteer more and get involved in their childrens lives. Teachers are not babysitters they are there to teach our children to learn and grow into productive citizens, that takes teachers, parents and children working TOGETHER. I applaude all the teachers, staff, parents and of course the kids that care enough to work hard everyday, They are the ones that make this one of the best, caring,encouraging and learning environments that my kids have experienced.

Marumsco Hills Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
This is my son's 3rd year at Marumsco Hills, and it really exceeded my expectation. I am surprised with the quality of education and teachers (the teachers my son got) involvement. Few times issues happened with other kids bothering my son, and I had to communicate with the teacher to get it resolved. My son is going to 2nd grade this year and other people who have kids at private school get surprised with what he knows. Don't get me wrong, parents participation is extremely important no matter what school you send your child, there will be some or more issue. I really like the atmosphere. I checked so many private schools at PW county b/c we were planning to send our kids to private school (before I lost my job). Comparatively, the class size at Marumsco Hills is bigger and better. In general it is more than my expectation Parent

Marumsco Hills Elementary School 1

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
We are a military family and have always had higher learning type schooling. Unfortunately this school focuses so much on the non-English speaking students that the English speaking students are at a huge disadvantage-they are not challenged at all. I'd never pick this school willingly for my child to attend. It was more like daycare than school for my 3rd grader. There is a serious lack of professionalism as well, the front office has no tact & the teachers do not dress for teaching. They never even made a copy of my ID to have on file nor did they ever ask for it when I'd take my son out early. Just an awful experience overall-SEND YOUR CHILD ELSEWHERE!


Marumsco Hills Elementary School 1

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
My son went here from K-5 and I will say that the first three teachers he had were so willing to give up on him and only offered to hold him back. Well, being who I am I refused such action. They were quick to work against us and slow to work with us. The school does really need to upgrade their teachers who are willing to teach in a modern way as things have certainly changed in the last 20 years since I was in elementary. As time went on we fought our way through and "hold back" never came up again. I am so glad we are done with this school. If I had to do it all over again, this would not be my first choice of schools if .

Marumsco Hills Elementary School 4

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
Please send the information about Marumsco Elementary School. I will register for my daughter next yr 2013-2014! Thanks, Toan

Marumsco Hills Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2010
- a parent
Hidden jewel. Under estimated because of the high number of students entering not speaking english, this does NOT slow the class down (do the research). Amazing, smart, caring, superb staff. Principal knows her stuff and does what it takes to get the kids what they need.


Marumsco Hills Elementary School 4

Posted April 20, 2010
- a teacher
We are a supportive family all working together in order to help each other succeed.

Marumsco Hills Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
We are a community of learners who support the needs of our students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marumsco Hills Elementary School
14100 Page St, Woodbridge, VA  22191
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (703) 494-3252
Last modified Marumsco Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top