Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mills E. Godwin Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1038 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2013

this school is pretty good academics and a great and strict bullying policy that i love i would reccomend


Posted January 19, 2012

Godwin middle school is a awesome school. they have new staff and they are very strict. Students are getting better grades and higher scores. LOVE THIS SCHOOL


Posted August 6, 2011

Estoy muy orgullosa de decir que nuestra experiencia en Godwin ha sido una fant stica. Los maestros son muy dedicados y profesionales. Nuestro hijo ha formado parte del programa I.B. y nos encontramos muy felices por todos sus logros en su trayectoria por Godwin. Sabemos que continuar haciendo una gran labor acad mica gracias a el apoyo y esfuerzo de los consejeros y maestros de GM School. Gracias. :) Fam. Nieves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

I am going to 8th. When I was in the 6th Godwin was CRAZY. BC out staff didnt care what we did. Now this year we have bette staff and we are strict. We might even be having uni-forms. There was 1 or 2 fights when i was in the 7th. but when i was in the 6th there was like 6-7 fights. with a great new staff it changed. and the fights when i was in the 7th it wasnt even at our school it was one behind the 7'11 and one in a neighborhood. So i think you should let your child go there. Cant wait tillt school starts back.


Posted November 18, 2009

I like the new renovations, but there is some fighting going on in the hallways.


Posted August 20, 2009

I am very happy with the IB program at Godwin Middle! The administration could use some work though....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

I taught at Godwin for less than a year and it was the worst experience of my life. The students were great for the most part, but administration was the worst. The principal was nowhere to be found. One of the vice principal was very supportive and the other was out for blood. The teachers for the most part were good, but there are a few that were only concern with their own success rather the school as a whole.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 2, 2009

I attended this school and i thought they had great teachers. I will always remember that Godwin was the first school that i ever recieved straight A's in! =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2009

Godwin I think could have alot fo potential if some things were to change. I sent my child who has an IEP to thic school because I liked the IB program that was presented. My son started out in those classes but then they basically switched him to regular classes. The teachers do not seem to want to work with him or his IEP just as much as the school does not seem to comply with it. Also as a board member pf the PTO I can tell you that it is very difficult to work with both the parents and the teachers. Everyone has great ideas but nobody wants to help enforce them. Suffice to say my child will not be returning next year and I believe our family will be going the route of home schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

the program at goodwin has deteriated since they changed principals. the current principal is hard to find
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

Godwin is an OK school i guess. I'm not sure if i get the education i woulda like. We have two huge problems, First is our principal acts in a way like she doesnt like her job. She never interacts with us. Second, is the way the teachers teach, they read out of a book and expect us to have it learned.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2008

My child goes to this wonderful school though the students tend to get a little over excited in the hallways sometimes it is a very educational and safe school enviroment. I highly recomend this school for other children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

Godwin is a very diverse school where students openly express themselves. Although the principal comes to school late often and she never interacts with us. Bullying is another huge problem trying to be dealt with. My second year at Godwin has beem a complete disaster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

My student is involved in the International Bacalaureate program. It is the only middle school in Woodbridge that offers the program and my child enjoys it although it is really intense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

Godwin is the best school i've ever been in. It has caring and educated teachers as well as students. It has its ups and downs, but thats just normal for a school with so many talented students in. It's a very safe envirment. The only bad thing about Godwin would have to be the principal, it seems as if she does not care for the students nor school. Other then that, i would have to say 'Godwin Pride, Governers Rule!'
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2007

I think godwin is a 4 alot of changes with the school apperance should be change but godwin ad a whole is wonderful and I enjoyed my three years. AND the princapal is great and Im said too see him go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2005

My child is experiencing problems in regards to Bullying @ GMS. I have met & talked to several school officials regarding my concerns for my child's safety to, during & from school. At one of my meetings, w/the principal, he assured me that he would personally look into, my situation, and handle it accordingly for he and GMS has a 'Zero Tolerence'. To date, the problem still exist. What 'Zero Tolerence'?! multiple trips to school/school security, half a dozen remediation attempts, multiple verbal threats & multiple near miss fights...how much more does my child need to be subject to before this 'ZERO TOLERANCE' is implemented? Needless to say, I'm looking into a school transfer & assistance from the School Board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

MY daughter is a 7th grade IBMYP student at GMS. I have found the school to be wonderful. She had a great transition from Elementary to Middle school. Thanks to the Sixth grade teachers. She passed Adanced in the recent SOL exam. The extra curriculum activities are extensive and varied. Some techers even offer after school help for students free of charge. We have a new Principal who seems to care a lot about the school. I urge parents to get involved and use the EDULINK to check on thier child's progress. Also encourage your children to tap on to all that GMS has to offer. I have been extremly pleased with my daughter's progress and her teachers. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2004

My Son is a 7th grade IB Student at Godwin Middle. Our first year was positive for the most part. I found most of his teachers helpful when I needed them. I like the homework hotline so I can check to see if he is doing his assigments. I also like being able to email the teachers and get a response. (one or two don't use emails but the majoity of them do.) My only concern is the standards of learning test. Although he is an A/B student he fails these test consistantly. I have spent thousands of dollars at Huntington Learning Centers to help but he still struggles. I have been told when he matures more he will learn to study more effectively and pass these tests. But it is mind blowing that a child could get A/B report cards on class work and not pass these tests?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

Since my child entered in the fall of 2003 I have seen him consistantly fail in all areas of curriculum. He wasn't a poor student at his previous school (A&B's) but has continued to flounder at GMS. I have tried to contact the counselor and have made repeated attempts to contact the teachers, but with the exception of one intervention by the counselor (which lasted about three days) I just had the feeling that they were 'doing their jobs' to get through the day and be done with it. I have had my child in another school system, where they seemed to care. Godwin just doesn't seem to give a second thought to whether or not the students succeed. The minimum seems to be the norm and their test scores reflect it. They haven't passed any of the Standards of Learning and are well below the state average. Makes you wonder.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students75%
Male students70%
Black students69%
Asian students95%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial88%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students70%
Female students75%
Male students66%
Black students64%
Asian students94%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial93%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students71%
Male students67%
Black students65%
Asian students87%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial86%
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students57%
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students37%
Female students35%
Male students39%
Black students39%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracial70%
White students29%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficient students30%
Proficient in English42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students73%
Male students70%
Black students69%
Asian students96%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial80%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English76%

English: Writing

All Students69%
Female students78%
Male students61%
Black students59%
Asian students77%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial70%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities28%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students51%
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students79%
Female students82%
Male students76%
Black students83%
Asian students81%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial82%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English84%

Science

All Students70%
Female students72%
Male students69%
Black students65%
Asian students83%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial77%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jehovanni Mitchell

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14800 Darbydale Av
Woodbridge, VA 22193
Phone: (703) 670-6166

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Christ Chapel Academy
Woodbridge, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT