Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Occoquan Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 613 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2013

I have two sons that attends Occoquan Elementary School and they both love it! As a parent, I must say this school year has been the best thus far. The staff and especially the Principal and Assistant Principal are phenomenal. We are relocating back to NC and we as a family will miss the "O" family! Thank you for the best 2 years of education for my boys and we really appreciate you! Have a successful school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

My son is in second here and he loves it! The principal is super energetic and involved and is passionate about his job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

I once went to Occoquan but know I am in the 7th grade. I loved Occoquan. The teachers were so nice and the helped and care for students and thats why this school gets such high SOL grades. Occoquan is the best elementary school in Prince William County!!!!!


Posted June 9, 2010

I'm a student here and i just absolutely love this school. I'm in the fifth grade and I'm going of to middle school. Icould not be more proud of my school. It was really sad to me and man of my other friends, when our previous principle, Mr. Erickson, left/got promoted (I'm not sure) but we're still very happy to have gotten Mrs. Carrilo. I love the teachers and everyone else in the school. And I would completely disapprove if anyone didn't like this school. I will truly miss this school.


Posted January 7, 2010

I have two children at this school. K & 1st. We love the teachers! Great office staff. Our children really love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

We have a kindergarten student in Mrs. Hall's class and she and her assistant are just wonderful! Our child really enjoys it and they are teaching them well beyond what is required of a kindergarten. I just wish PWC offered a kindergarten that was a half day..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

The school is excellent . My two kids attend this school and they love it. The academic programs challenge the kids and the teachers do a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

We Have 3 childrens at occoquan elementary and we feel so proud of the school and all the personal.we recommend this school 110%
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

My daughter goes there and we love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

The staff have very poor/ rude communication with parents they are un welcoming and have a bothered attitude towards (topic agreed to by several parents.) Occoquan has some amazing teachers absolutely outstanding job in teaching my child is advanced by 2 years. if you want your child to learn but YOU as a parent outcasted then her eya go. they are very clean as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

When we first moved here some of the neighbors put their children in private school because they did not like the school. My daughter is in 1st grade and I can not rave enough about how much we love it here after 2 years. The administration and teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

Yes, I was once a student of Occoquan, and now is attending my last year Fred Lynn Middle School in the highest honors. Occoquan is a good school with helping staff, the friendliest principal you can ever meet, and wonderful inviting students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2004

Wow, what a terrific school! A wonderful, caring staff along with a superior administration puts this school on the map. Kids are always engaged in something fun and meaningful. One of Prince William's finest!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students67%
Male students58%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students70%
Female students74%
Male students67%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English74%

Science

All Students81%
Female students80%
Male students82%
Black students77%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students74%
Male students60%
Black students70%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students73%
Female students70%
Male students76%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students58%
Male students77%
Black students79%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English84%

English: Writing

All Students72%
Female students76%
Male students65%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students73%
Female students70%
Male students77%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students75%
Female students68%
Male students82%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12915 Occoquan Rd
Woodbridge, VA 22192
Phone: (703) 494-2195

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT