Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Potomac View Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
With the number of non-English speakers, every grade is a year behind. They teach to the slowest child. If your kid is on grade level, they will be bored here as they repeat information over and over.

Potomac View Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
I would have to actually know what is being assigned in order to answer this question.


Potomac View Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
The kids can not complete work on time, and then have until the end of the school year to get it in without consequence.

Potomac View Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Teachers call the students out in front of their peers, speak down to them, and make fun of them when they ask for extra help.

Potomac View Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
My kids are constantly harassed and bullied, by both other students and the staff. They are then forced to work in groups with the same kids who are bullying them, and when they refuse, they are sent home with behavior notices for not "working well with others"


Potomac View Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
The kids are barely taught anything in class, and given no resources to take home (texts, print outs) so they come home and copy everything from the internet.

Potomac View Elementary School 1

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are there for a paycheck and nothing more. As soon as the last school bus pulls out, the building is a ghost town. They have no concept of how to be authoritative, and any behavior issue, big or small, the parent is called and expected to fix anything that happened in the classroom. For instance, recent progress report says that my child is often "wandering around the classroom during independent work" and that I should address this with him. Yet she has never tried to re-direct him because she is too busy with the kids who need extra help at the end of the day to do so. (This is from her mouth). There are no text books, and I have no idea what or how my children are learning. I've had numerous meetings with the teachers and administration requesting additional information and to be informed of their assignments, to which I'm told I don't need to know because it's all individual work. Then, when an assignment isn't completed, they contact me to "encourage" my kids to get their work done. School started end of August and it was early October before I was informed that my one child hadn't turned something in. When I asked for clarification on the assignment (since he was just sent home with a piece of paper and a concept map) I was again, told that he knew and understood the assignment and that I didn't need to know what was expected of him. Overall this school is terrible. Their test scores are below par, they are over crowded, understaffed and expanding the student base before hiring additional teachers and staff. The communication (or lack there of) with the staff and admin has gotten so bad, I've had to hire a lawyer to be my mediator and ensure that my children have an advocate for them, as the school no longer listens to me. (And I'm not just a PITA parent, I volunteer 10+ hours a week there).

Potomac View Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2014
- a community member
Teachers are very nice. The food is great. The school is awesome. The school is safe :) Good Job


Potomac View Elementary School 2

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
Administration communicates poorly with teachers, and there is a strong tendency to overreaction among the staff that includes having a social worker follow up with a parent after a kindergartener's single accident and other events that have made national news. (A news search of the school and principal's name should turn it up.) My child has developed an attitude problem and severe study and concentration issues since starting here, and staff repeatedly try to lay blame with home instead of school environment. It's enough to make a parent consider homeschooling, and we are moving partly to be in another school district.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Potomac View Elementary School
14601 Lamar Rd, Woodbridge, VA  22191
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (703) 491-1126
Last modified Potomac View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top