Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


R. Dean Kilby Elementary School 4

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
We have one grandson in 3rd grade at Kilby. I love the teachers. They are very attentive. They know me and call me by name. We still visit with his kindergarten teacher as well and all the others. We thoughly enjoy this school. Our grandchild is on the honor roll. I agree they need to have a little more attention to Non-ESL students but this is the world we are living in, I won't go there. Again we love our school and are looking forward to our new school in 2017. We do not look for to losing our neighborhood school. We will be having more students bused in.

R. Dean Kilby Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
This school does not have good classroom management practices. They cater more to ESL students/families and not enough to non-ESL students/families. Very disgusted in the lack of knowledge in the staff.


R. Dean Kilby Elementary School 1

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
This school is very behind on the times. They use a color system for classroom management, which is 10 years behind in the teaching vaults. They do not understand or know how to deal with students with special needs.

R. Dean Kilby Elementary School 4

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
After reading the negative reviews I am pleasantly surprised and delighted with this little neighborhood school. Kilby, and its staff, are a hidden gem in Prince William County. The teachers and administration have been very responsive to parent concerns and my children's 3 teachers' are exceptional. I also find this school to have a very warm, welcoming vibe. I've visited in other PWC schools in which that was not the case. Kudos to the office staff for their welcoming, patient, and warm demeanor as well. Parental involvement at Kilby could be higher, but that may a response to cultural and linguistic barriers in the neighborhood. Special needs parents do need to be actively involved, and obtain as many outside services. ( The Arc, POAC, and the Special ed Resource Center come to mind. ) I would love to see a SACC program. (That would give Kilby a 5 star rating in my book.) I've been told this is due to the small size of the building. Hopefully after the new building is built- yes major construction is coming- Kilby will have before and after care. The "2" rating is really inaccurate. Great school and my children love it!

R. Dean Kilby Elementary School 4

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
I have two children at Kilby. One in Kinder and the other in third grade. It is our first year here. We love their teachers. They really care if they do well and help them to progress. They have given extra materials and online helps when they are necessary. They are friendly and professional. They get back to me promptly whenever I have a question. I haven't had any personal experience with the principal, but other parents speak highly of her. There doesn't seem to be very much parent involvement. I know there are ample opportunities to volunteer, and I could've volunteered more, too. The parking/pick-up/drop-off situation is hectic. Overall, we like the school and have only had positive experiences. I feel like the teachers truly want the children to succeed, and also make the children want to succeed. I feel like my children are safe at Kilby as well. Thank you Kilby for a great school year!


R. Dean Kilby Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2010
- a parent
The Teachers have all been wonderful and patient by teaching me how to help support my sons learning. There has been a number of personal stories, I decided to help by volunteering because I wanted to be a part of it and learned so much more by doing that. My story is not grand but when teachers treat you like an equal it made me want to be apart of there team.

R. Dean Kilby Elementary School 3

Posted December 03, 2006
- a parent
They are not to bad , but I have seen and dealt with parent involvement and as a parent you really need to know your parental rights to protect your child and get proper help. This is not comforting to feel you have to know the laws inside and out.

R. Dean Kilby Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2004
- a parent
I have not been impressed with Kilby. My daughter has gone to school here 1st and 2nd grade, and I will be taking her out at the end of this year. There is clearly way too much focus on preparation for the SOLs and not enough focus on curriculum and progress. I do like the small class size and personal attention, but the school lacks quality education.

Nearby schools

R. Dean Kilby Elementary School
1800 Horner Rd, Woodbridge, VA  22191
(703) 494-6677
Last modified R. Dean Kilby Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top