Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rippon Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1029 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2014

This is a horrible school. Teachers that have no control over their classrooms. My son is tormented daily and is now in therapy and a counselor that could care less. Teachers would rather waste parents time having conferences over missing pencils.....really?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

The Principal and Assistant principals are not performing professional as leaders. I have not seen the Principal on any concerts. The Assistant Principal seems to be busy with his own problems and not focussed on children at the concert. He stayed at the corner and did not approach any student and parent to express appreciation of what kids were doing on the stage. I would not recognize him as an administrator if my son told me that this is not a janitor holding the keys to the building. Shame. He did not approach any student for encouragement. I did not see him talking to the music director either. Shame
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

Rippon Middle School is a great school because of its special programs. I get that the school has bad students but if you apply to the specialty program then they would not be with bad student. ( i am in the program)


Posted October 2, 2013

My son got a perfect score on the 8th grade SOL in 6th grade! He looks forward to going to school. Enough said...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

We New to the school and only have bin there for 4 weeks .to the teachers I have to say ,they all very friendly and helpful ,to the front desk ,I agree to some people here ,that they not very nice ,they do what they have to do, but not in a very friendly way.the school building it self ,could use some updates and remodeling.overall I think the school is ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

I think Prince William County need to evaluate this school with great attention. We are parents with kids in the schoool. I no longer sleep at night as i think something is happening to my child at this school. VERY TERRIFIE PARENT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

Very disappointed in this year's math & science program. My son placed 1st in his category at the science fair and placed 1st in the overall category for his grade level. He was to participate in the county wide science fair. His science teacher did not register him. We didn't find out until we went to set up the evening prior. My son and myself were very upset. We spoke with science fair coordinator/math & science program head, but unfortunately there was nothing he could do. The following Monday, not a word was spoken to my son about the mistake. I spoke with his Gifted Ed. teacher and the principal. The principal apologized and my son was given his apology a day later after I requested one. His science teacher did not own up to her mistake and pushed the blame onto my son. She is the adult and he is the student. He issupposedly in the Math & Science Program and you'd think they'd encourage student growth and want to increase the perception of the school. How does this happen? Very sad. Luckily, this is his last year there and this the only bad apple, but it was a big one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

I think Rippon Middle School is an excellent school. The teachers are great, and have a great friendship with the students. The way they teach the students is magnificent. The principal is very nice, and obiously knows what shes doing. The school has many assemblies and special occaisions.The band program is excellent, with a great teacher. This school also offers a Math and Science Program, which gives the students chances to really understand and participate with the subject. To be honest, bullying and things as such are happening, but not very often. Every school deals with this. I strongly recommend this school to anyone who is interested.


Posted August 23, 2010

I went to this school for a year and a half, and I can honestly say it was one of the best experiences of my life. Most of the teacher are great, but there are a few, like in every school, that are kind of below average. I loved all my teachers, the band teacher is my favorite :). The band is a great program, and the other music classes are getting better. I think they got a principal since I was there, and they renovated. It is really a great school.


Posted August 16, 2010

RMS is by far the most dysfunctional school my son has attended. It appears that the school administration is out of control. There seems to be a heavy focus on punishments and not academics. I have walked in the office several times for various reasons and they are very rude and impatient to parents and students. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2010

This is an excellent school with caring teachers who work late daily, so they can focus on teaching. Although there has a been a turnover of principals-- five principals over the last 18 years, teachers work hard at maintaining a sense of continuity for all students. They offer students an opportunity to excel; although it is up to the student to choose how they will participate. Being located in a bedroom community, many parents spend a great deal of time at work or in traffic, thus limiting their involvement. The school offers frequent technological use, but many students do not have access to a computer and/or the internet at home. Also the lack of parental involvement affects being able to take field trips. Teachers spend a great deal of money on supplies such as pencils, paper, etc. Teachers work well with the requirements of system as well as the situations.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 15, 2009

This school is by far the best school I have been to. I have moved many times in my life and have to say that this school sets high expectations. Some teachers are mean, but they get the job done if you just listen to what they have to say. This school is definitely bully-free and drug-free. It is not really based on the parent to rate, for the children go to this school so they know the most information. And kids exaggerate a lot. I myself am a kid, but show to be very mature. I am an honor roll student. It's up to your kid to do what's right.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2009

Most people who say they don't like this school have kids that are out of control. The truth is, this is a great school with high expectations for kids and their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

this school is the best Middle school in Woodbridge
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

Oh My God ! Where do I start! my daughter has been a student at RMS since the 6th grade and it has been a nightmare! The administration spends way to much time trying to accuse students of wrong doing that they have forgotten to praise and motivate and care about their students! my daughter hates going to school at Rippon. I have to say that I have been a mother for 31 years having two grown sons I have had a lot of experiance with dealing with school staff and this staff is the worst by far. I almost can't find the words to explain how bad this school is! If you are moving into this district I hope that you can afford private school! PLEASE DO NOT LET YOUR CHILDREN GO TO THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2008

i go to rippon middle and i say its not to good. some teachers are just horrible and one gets the job done right.But he's a bit mean.Some cared about us but then stop caring.We've had one field trip and it was to the old country buffet.so the school to me is below average.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2008

It is dirty, we have no field trips. they spend money on plasma screen t.v.'s but not on educational field trips.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2008

I have three boys who attend this school; one in each grade. We have had no problems with bullying, and for the most part we are very happy. It does seem like we have to press the teachers for information/progress reports for the kids. They always refer you to the Intouch website which is rarely up to date. It is hard for us to motivate our children if we do not have up to date information available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2008

We are a military family and new to the area our two girted/Talented students are absolutely thriving at Rippon Middle. We love the entire staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

This school is absolutly horrible. During my visit the teachers seemed mean, and very rude to the students. my child was being bullyed and when he talked to a teacher, she said that they didn't do anything. I aboserved a classroom and i indeed saw a lot of bullying without the teacher doing a single thing about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students73%
Male students65%
Black students69%
Asian students80%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial70%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students74%
Female students79%
Male students70%
Black students77%
Asian students92%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial72%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students61%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students69%
Male students63%
Black students64%
Asian students80%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial71%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students29%
Female students30%
Male students28%
Black students26%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracial40%
White students53%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities28%
Limited English proficient students22%
Proficient in English33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students70%
Female students73%
Male students67%
Black students67%
Asian students72%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial83%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students49%
Proficient in English77%

English: Writing

All Students64%
Female students76%
Male students54%
Black students64%
Asian students82%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial81%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities19%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students77%
Female students77%
Male students77%
Black students71%
Asian students91%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial70%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students69%
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students66%
Female students63%
Male students69%
Black students65%
Asian students72%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial78%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students40%
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female studentsn/a
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Gail Stone

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15101 Blackburn Rd
Woodbridge, VA 22191
Phone: (703) 491-2171

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Christ Chapel Academy
Woodbridge, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT