Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodbridge High School

Public | 9-12 | 2862 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2013

Comments about administration not caring or listening to parents are spot on. Have had two graduate from WSHS with more following. Won't send the others there. They won't even follow county policies. WSHS does not want parents involved. On a positive, if you child is a star football player you'll be treated like royalty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

Woodbridge Senior High School has disappointed me. We were impressed with what it had to offer when we moved here but have found the school only looks good on paper. I highly advise you to avoid this school if your child will transfer in from another high school out of state/country. We came from a DoDEA school in Germany. The school guidance/ administration is not educated in this type of transfer. Mostly the SOL requirements have confused them. It's been tough. My children registered for JROTC and were extremely active. We have become more and more disappointed in this program. The leadership doesn't follow school guidelines for field trips and basic safety. They also lack in any type of mentoring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2011

Woodbridge has been a very good High School for my Daughter, and she has attended two other highly rated High Schools listed in Great Schools. Due to my prior Military career (now retired), my Daughter had to transfer twice. With Woodbridge being her last School, she was still able to maintain her high grades and have a diverse group of friends that she likes. The Teachers,Staff and curriculum have all been great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

i read in woodbridge senior high school. now iam moving from there. i will miss it's great eduacational system. it really provides the greatest educational system.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

Woodbridge Senior High School is a great community of diverse students and teachers. I enjoyed the 20 years I taught there, and I miss the students and my colleagues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

WSHS has been a great school. My oldest daughter graduated fromthere and now I have two more in the school now grades 9&10. The teachers are very responsive and helpful in keeping you in touch with what your child is or is not doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

My son recently started the 9th grade at Woodbridge High School and I have to say I am extremely distressed over the overcrowding of the school. I went to orientation and back to school night and it was ridiculous at how crowded the hallways were. This has got to be a fire hazard. I spoke to the school administrators and they told me the school was designed to house 1500 students, but now houses over 2600. Not only that, they have makeshift classrooms that they call PODS, which are open in the back and my son said it is very hard to concentrate in class when he can hear the teacher and students in the next 'pod'. This in my opinion is not a conducive learning environment for any child. I am very disappointed with this situation and I am considering moving to Georgia because I can t afford to move where there are good schools (Fairfax), since the prices of houses have skyrocketed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2004

Much has changed at WSHS, since my oldest son (a 2001 graduated from there. He was just a number. Sometimes teachers cared, but he really just fell through the cracks. This school was too large. He became math phobic due to a long standing philosophy in the math department, that it is the parent's problem, not the teacher's when a student doesn't understand. My younger son is experiencing the same difficulties in math. The math department needs to focus on remediation, not just pass the students on without a good foundation. Unfortunately, I have to pay a tutor to teach them math. How can a student pass the VA SOL's, earn D's and F's in a subject, graduate and not have a clue as to basic Algebra, Geometry and Algebra II? In other academic areas, my second son feels that teachers care, so much has changed for the positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

Both my children attended woodbridge high and loved their experience there. The education they received from wshs not only prepared them for college, it helped propel them to become highly successful adults in their careers and the relationships they foster. The friendships they made while at wshs have lasted 15-20 years after graduation and, in fact, have become more sacred! They speak fondly of their days at wshs and wish their children could go to a school that excelled in all aspects of public education. Sadly, their children live in Florida where the emphisis on education and athletic is not as great as it was at wshs. I understand coach ross is now the principal at wshs - he's a man of high character that will take wshs to new heights! May wshs continue to excel in preparing our children for life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

What a great atmosphere for learning and sports! The only negative I could find at WSHS would be the school is so large that you can attend the school for 4 years and never meet some members of your class.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 30, 2004

Marginal education. Overcrowded. Rude, ignorant students. My son went to military school to try to get his act together. He had a 1.9 average at WHS, ended up with a 98 average at the military school. He's not a discipline problem or anything like that. Learning is not fostered in any way. My son said he was ignored or mocked in class by everyone from his teacher to his peers. Won't even go into the overcrowding. I was horrified when the underclass students brought their kids for Back to School Night. Should have realized what kind of atmosphere this was overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2004

We've been pleased overall with Woodbridge. There are plenty of opportunities for advanced students and most of the teachers are good (with some exceptions) Extracurricular activities are many, although support for academic clubs is somewhat lacking. The school is crowded, but that should change somewhat. There is a lot of school spirit. All kinds of kids can find their 'group' at Woodbridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

Teachers are hit and miss. Some care, others don't seem to. School administrators have not been very responsive to concerns addressed by myself or my spouse. As a parent, I feel my child is just another number and cannot wait until he is out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2003

I give very high ratings to this High School. Both of my children graduated from this school, one receive a 4 year scholarship in Biochemistry at Virginia Tech, the other went to Virginia Tech in Math. One has already graduted and the other is getting a Master's degree in Biochemistry. I was a volunteer parent who awarded scholarship. I am a CM Engineer I highly recommend this schoool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Although the school is a bit overcrowded, I have been extremely pleased at my children's education as a whole. A survey at the school showed that 80% (an impressive number) of graduates attend a 4-year school. I doubt my three children would be attending the University of Virginia, Virginia Tech, and Yale University, if it were not for the excellent education they received at Woodbridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

This school is over crowded and the teacher quality is marginal. The school board is totally unresponsive and inert. This is an example of herd management and a politicized school system. The school is too big and the county is still managing this schools in a 'wally and the beaver' mode. After graduation, most of the students have to go to community college to repair the damage and extending their college life cycle. There is no hope since the county and its political representatives have no intent on improvements. Advice... go to Fairfax county schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2003

The class sizes are usually bigger than 30 in all of the academic courses. You'd also be very lucky to have a good geometry teacher.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

619 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

969 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

610 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

676 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

690 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

859 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
97%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

808 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

681 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students66%
Female students64%
Male students67%
Black students66%
Asian students79%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial58%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English69%

Algebra II

All Students64%
Female students65%
Male students62%
Black students51%
Asian students79%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial73%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English64%

Biology

All Students83%
Female students85%
Male students82%
Black students79%
Asian students92%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial84%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English86%

Chemistry

All Students76%
Female students77%
Male students74%
Black students58%
Asian students79%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial81%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English77%

Earth Science

All Students82%
Female students84%
Male students80%
Black students73%
Asian students86%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial92%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English88%

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students92%
Male students87%
Black students82%
Asian students88%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial90%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English92%

English: Writing

All Students89%
Female students92%
Male students86%
Black students78%
Asian students91%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial95%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities49%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English91%

Geometry

All Students72%
Female students76%
Male students67%
Black students62%
Asian students88%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial73%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English75%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students87%
Female students88%
Male students87%
Black students78%
Asian students87%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial96%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English90%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students93%
Female students92%
Male students94%
Black students89%
Asian students98%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial94%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English94%

World History II

All Students86%
Female students85%
Male students87%
Black students82%
Asian students88%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial97%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities66%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. David J. Huckestein

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3001 Old Bridge Rd
Woodbridge, VA 22192
Phone: (703) 497-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Christ Chapel Academy
Woodbridge, VA


Gar-Field High School
Woodbridge, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT