Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 610 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2013

My daughter has attended Lake Ridge ES for two years and this school is just great! The teachers and admin staff are awesome as well as their programs for the kids, specifically SIGNET. Being a military family, this is my daughters thirds school that she has attended and ranks among the best including DoDS and private schools. Would definitely recommend this school any day. Lake Ridge ES has been awarded the School of Excellence Award for countless consecutive years, this award is the highest recognition awarded by the Prince William County School Board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

My children are new to this school and they have had nothing but a hard time. I finally got my 1st grader moved out of the classroom with a "permanent" substitute because my child was not being allowed to use the restroom (and has a bladder condition), myself along with several other parents had to have their children moved due to the substitute. My child was only moved after I contacted the Superintendent. So to the person who said not to point fingers, I suggest you learn your facts before pointing your finger. The other teachers that I've encountered are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

We reviewed this school before we moved here and there were several reviews that had us slightly concerned; however we disregarded them and came to this district anyway. Our 1st grader had an amazing teacher who suffered from some serious health problems. The substitute they brought in was very harsh with the children and not very thorough. She speaks to the children in a way that an adult would speak to another adult. After several issues, offering to help in the classroom, contacting the principal and with no results, we contacted the Superintendent and finally our child was removed from that classroom (along with several other children who were removed from her class). Our other child is in 4th grade and her teacher is amazing! Hopefully that substitute won't be back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2013

We relocated to this area several years ago and were told to specifically get our children into Lake Ridge ES. We have been pleased at the exemplary staff! When reading the review about the first grade teacher and substitute, we were highly upset. Two of our children have been in that classroom(last year and currently). They have had nothing but great experiences with both teacher and substitute. The sub picked right up from where the teacher left off and has provided excellent communication. It was quite unfortunate for the teacher who had a life threatening and unexpected illness last year that she fully recovered from and was able to return this year. Parents last year were amazing and understood and supported the substitute. Surprisingly to all, especially to the teacher, she became seriously ill again. The same substitute offered her skills, again, and has done an amazing job! She is a certified and experienced teacher who has made the transition with our children very easy. We are blessed to have gotten such a dedicated teacher for a substitute! Parents should be more involved in a positive, supportive way versus pointing their fingers at something they aren't willing to do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

My daughter have been attending Lake Ridge Elementary since 2nd grade. Currently she is in 4th grade. After attending a private school, this is the best school in Prince William Country. The teachers are very dedicated to the students and the communication with the parents is great. They have excellent teachers, and always challenge the kids. No wonder we are number 9 of 10! Nice to see the stuff get to know each kid and call them by their names. My daughter could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

My Child has really blossomed here. She came from Christ Chapel hating to read and despised homework, now she loves both! Her teacher is awesome and I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I have 3 boys and we have been attending LRES for the past 8 years. This is our last year as we are being transfered and it makes me so sad to be leaving this incredable school!! The teachers have all been open and caring and very easy to comunicate with. Each child is an individual at this school and even the office staff gets to know each and every one of them!!! We will miss this school so much and all they have ment to our children. I'm certain we will never find such a top notch, caring school again!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

I went to this school for only kindergatern through second grade and those were the best times of my life. great school i remember all my teachers ms davis Mr scoot all of them


Posted October 19, 2010

The teachers are just perfect. This school is a great example of how great a school can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My daughter is in 1st grade at LRES. We coudln't be any happier with the teachers and staff. Both last year and already this year, her teachers were easy to communicate with and really keep the parents in the loop. My daughter has excelled tremendously here and there are many opportunities for her to continue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

My son is in the 5th grade at LRES, and has been at the school since kindergarten. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the teachers, staff, children, and parents at this school. It truly feels like a family, and we are sad to be leaving. There are so many activities and programs to be involved with. Chess Club, Club Fit, Strings, Signet...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

This is my son's 2nd year and I am impressed with the teachers. There was constant communication between his teacher and I. They have a great French program. The classes could be a bit smaller. There were about 28. Overall, great school,teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2004

We are entering our second year at LRES. We had an overall good year. The class size is very large in most grades...28 in my son's 4th grade class. A lot of ESL kids. The teachers are really teaching for the standardized tests...it doesn't leave a lot of room for anything else besides 'test-taking' practice. Overall a good experience...beware of a few teachers that are unorganized and very ineffective...the administration is hush-hush but willing to work with parents who are unhappy. Great parent organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2004

We have loved this school and our daughter has excelled here, placing in the Gifted/Talented program. They have good teachers but the coming year will be eventful because they are getting a new principal (after 17 years with Mr. Scott!) and a few new teachers due to turnover. Hopefully this transistion will go smoothly and the school will continue to excell.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students84%
Male students79%
Black students79%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students76%
Female students73%
Male students79%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English76%

Science

All Students93%
Female students93%
Male students93%
Black students79%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students69%
Male students66%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students33%
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students77%
Female students79%
Male students76%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students88%
Male students81%
Black students88%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English85%

English: Writing

All Students83%
Female students89%
Male students78%
Black students88%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students76%
Female students75%
Male students78%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students89%
Female students89%
Male students89%
Black students88%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11970 Hedges Run Dr
Woodbridge, VA 22192
Phone: (703) 494-9153

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Prince William Academy
Lake Ridge, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT