Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
We are THANKFUL for Mrs. Herrit, our new Principal. She is doing an AMAZING job at changing the climate and culture of our school. She is friendly, easy to talk to, and always very positive. She truly enjoys what she does and loves the students and staff. My children as well as all the children will benefit from her caring positive and inviting attitude. She makes everyone feel welcome in the school, and has made a huge difference in the short time she has been here. We look forward to the next years with her.

Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
CMES is a great school! Several of the teachers have won numerous and or have been nominated for teachers awards. The staff is great and genuinely care about the students education and safety. They score great on their SOL's and my kids enjoy going to school there. It's a great community of teachers, staff and parents. Ms. West is truly a good principal and has turned CMES into a great place to learn!


Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School 3

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
My school is very clean and the staff seems very nice. The staff is so good that they don't even ask for volunteers to help in many of the classrooms. That is the only thing that I find disturbing about this school. I think they are cheating the students when they don't let parents and grandparents help.

Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School 3

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
This is our first introduction in to the PWC school system. We are only in the 4th week of school, so I am only able to say so far the Principal has been very good in meeting with us and discussing our needs and concerns. Over all the school seems to be struggling with organization, but it only the first month of the school year.

Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience at McAuliffe! My daughter attended K and 1st grade here with excellent teachers who make sure all the students in their care are challenged according to their abilities. The principal is always looking for new ideas to keep the students engaged in learning and the new after school enrichment programs offered this year were fa great testament to her and her staff's work.


Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
This is the best school my son has attended so far. They have a wonderful staff, and even though my son has an LD, This school has been able to get him up to grade level, for the first time since 1st grade. The teachers my son work with keep me well informed of his progress, and are always available if I have an questions or request a meeting. I absolutely recommend this great school!!

Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School 1

Posted October 19, 2011
- a parent
My child attended K & Grade 1 here &, although K was outstanding - we were extremely dissatisfied with Grade 1. The Principal is not an honest person and some of the teachers need to retire because they have no idea how to manage a class full of students in absence of the physical discipline which was allowed in the old days. I witnessed several teachers quit (the good ones) & several parents removed their children from this school. The PTA is a puppet of the Principal &, as such, is essentially useless.

Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2009
- a parent
My child is in Kindergarten at McAuliffe and my wife and I are members of the PTA. The Principal sets a wonderful tone for all the teachers and students alike implementing the STARR achievement system (Self Discipline, Trustworthiness, Appropriate Attitude, Responsibility and Respect). The positive motivation from the 'stars' given for behavior which implements these values is a breath of fresh air. Communication is excellent. There are school activities at least once a month, including evening 'Curriculum Celebrations' at least twice this year where teachers host learning stations for parents and kids alike. The teachers are talented, hands-on and involved in their students' daily lives. My child's teacher has achieved the perfect balance of teacher, caregiver and structure provider. Having witnessed a day in her life, while helping out as a parent-helper one Friday, I can say with conviction that we are blessed to have our child in this school.


Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2008
- a parent
My Child will be entering 5th grade and my child had attended this wonderful school from K-G4 and this a great school. The New Principal is nice and kind, and the teachers make sure no one gets left behind.

Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has attended McAuliffe Elementary for 3 years, 1st through 3rd Grade. She has excelled and I am extremely pleased with her progress. I was very surprised to see the bad grade given to this school. All of her teachers have been great and the new Principal seems very dedicated.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School
13540 Princedale Dr, Woodbridge, VA  22193
(703) 680-7270
Last modified Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sharon C. Mcauliffe Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top