Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 664 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2013

Westridge is reviving! This is our second year at the school and I cannot believe the difference I've noticed with the new principal! The teachers (and I've spoken personally spoken to several) are much happier and the mood is so much lighter. New teachers have been hired including the addition of two teachers dedicated to autistic students. I've never had a problem volunteering or checking on my children in their classrooms. Every teacher is different and some are ok when you show up spontaneously while others may prefer a scheduled visit. It is what it is. Do not have any apprehension sending your child to this school. It really is a great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My school has blossomed more this year, with new leadership, effective changes and more vitality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2013

Westridge is one of the best elementary schools in Northern Virginia!! This is the school you want your kids to go to!!! Mrs. Zhikharev is an amazing teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

The Westridge learning environment is excellent. We've been at this school for ten years with multiple kids and are still impressed with the teaching staff, the parental involvement and the extracurricular activities. The principal has hired engaging teachers and provides numerous opportunities for creative learning - the chorus is exceptional and well attended (two separate choral groups due to the outsized interest), elementary strings frequently outperform middle schools, 24 club mathematics competition, running club, excellent support for Odyssey of the Mind (they always have multiple highly creative teams), well represented at the County art fairs and science fairs and all around expectations of student excellence. Mrs. Hayden has also instituted an anti-bullying program that has worked very well - bullying is not a problem at the school. Our kids moving to middle school are more than prepared for the increased academic requirements. When you expect excellence from the students, they respond to the challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

This is my son's first year in school and he loves attending Westridge. His teacher is wonderful (Mrs. Forvour). There are a lot of activities that reinforce his learning. I am a first time parent and new to all these things, but I have always been able to get my questions answered by calling the school or emailing his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

I was very disappointed in this school--so much so that we pulled our Kindergartner out mid-year. The teacher was nice, kind, caring, and good at her job but the classrooms are large (25+ children) and the entire school only had 5 teachers assistants to share between all of the classrooms. My son had an IEP for PDD-NOS and yet when I requested opportunities to observe my child and his ability to interact and cope in his classroom I was practically frozen out and every request or action to see him in his classroom was hindered. I was later told that to see him in his classroom I needed to use the phrase "hang out" or I would get the same reaction. The school has poor communication and seems to dislike when a parent wants to know more or details about their child's day or interactions. Maybe they're too used to dual working parents and aren't accustomed to a SAHM who has always been involved and knowledgeable? Also, I felt the curriculum was lacking and that my child was bored in the classroom because of all the sit and wait time. I can not recommend this school to any actively involved parent and/or any parent who has a child with special needs or an IEP!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

I too am disappointed by the remarks by some of the parents here. My first experience was with the Assistant PRincipal, Mr. Kahn, who is just fantastic! He took a personal interest in my 7 year old, and now he has a buddy for life - and the whole staff is that way, including the Principal, who takes no guff from the BMW/Mercedes set that likes to think they run the school - maybe that is wher ethe comments come from. The teachers are great and so is the community if you can get past the many snobby parents - the teachers are EXCELLENT, and it was clear that much though and time was put into their hiring. Now I know why - the only other school I might consider is Springwoods, but this one is within walking distance ina a pleasant neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

So far I'm disappointed. The communication with this school is the worst I've ever had with any of the three elementary schools our family has atteneded. The reputation was excellent but the reality is falling short of all of my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2011

It makes me sad to see the negative reviews from other parents; I don't agree with them. I have felt VERY encouraged to participate and volunteer ever since my daughter began school. My daughter's teacher, Mrs. Forvour, is absolutely amazing; my little girl loves going to school! I am so impressed by the efforts made by the PTA to raise money for the school and get everyone involved. I once had a question for the administration and the assistant principal, Mr. Kahn (who is new this year), returned my phone call immediately and was very kind. This is a great school so far! Great job Westridge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

Great teacher, horrible administration. If you want to feel unwelcome from the minute you walk in the front door, this is the school for you. If any school ever needed a shake up this is it. Think that the teachers do the best they can under the oppressive grip of this principal. Don't be fooled by the awards. Glad that I never have to step foot in that place again and hopefully now they my kids are out of that Stepford environment, they can grow and thrive and fulfill their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

We moved to our new home because we wanted our kids to attend Westridge. However, the school performance has been a disappointment. The test scores have been going down the past few years. Teachers seem more concern about children behavior (such as not touching a friend while standing in line) than academic improvement. School works that my kindergarten brings home are the same thing he did in Pre-K. I expect a lot more from school that claimed to win so many awards each year. So far, Westridge is just an average school at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

As a professional educator in many schools and as a parent, I appreciate the warm caring environment in THIS school. The unreasonable expectations are far surpassed by this excellent staff. By all measures from- teachers to admin they keep the students learning at high levels. Thankfully they follow safety procedures so you need your id, and you are welcome in classrooms; they enjoy your help.Mrs. H has been here 8 yrs and knows the community and works tirelessly well with everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

amazing support from friendly admin team & teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Westridge used to be the best school in the Lake Ridge area but the current administration leaves a lot to be desired. There are many great teachers there but many have left because they don't like working for the current administration. I have heard now that Springwoods, Antietam and Penn Elem are more kid friendly and much more welcoming to parent involvement. As a whole the PWCS district leadership needs to work on those concepts as well and don't get me started on the fuzzy math program they are pushing into all the elem schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

Thank you Mrs. Hayden and the wonderful staff at Westridge Elementary. I cannot say enough great things about this school. The entire staff is dedicated to making sure each child has the best expereince possible. The focus is on making our children safe and responsible for their own learning. The school has received many honors and awards and has some of the highest test scores in the state. Well done Mrs. Hayden and the dedicated staff of Westridge. Go Knights!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

There are many excellent teachers at Westridge although the administration leaves a lot to be desired. This has been the most unwelcoming school and administration that I have ever come across.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Westridge has been a great learning environment for my child for several years. As mentioned by others, this school benefits from active participation of the community that it serves. Parental involvement has been discouraged during the current school year due to a change in one the the administration positions, which has led to declining morale (voiced by both parents and teachers). This school has held its place as one of (if not the) best in PWCS. Don't get me wrong, this is still a very good school, but I think it has lost its high standing to other surrounding schools, such as Antietam (which has a much better student teacher ratio) and Springwoods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

As a proud parent of a fifth grade Westridge student,I will be sad to leave this warm, caring community of teachers & staff working together to give our children a love of learning & a strong scholastic background. My older daughters found the transition to Middle School a breeze because they were well prepared. After moving to Woodbridge from a top Fairfax County school district, we were impressed with the individual attention & excellent instruction our girls received at Westridge. The music, art & PE programs are fantastic. The PTO is very active supporting Cultural Arts Programs, before & after school Spanish, OM & Theater/Chorus Clubs.The school has an in-school TV News Show, a great Computer Lab & high-tech Smart Boards. Teachers, Principal & staff are all extremely responsive to the needs of our students -focusing on safety & character while inspiring a love of reading & academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

This was a very good school. Parent participation is excellent and the teachers are very good. The principle problem is the large class sizes. Parents and teachers have tried to address this issue with school leaders. Class sizes may be lower last year because some families are leaving the school. There will also be new teachers in 2007-08 as they are also looking for a better learning/teaching environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

Westridge is a terrific elementary school located in a wonderful community. Their academic program is good and their test scores show it. The children have art, music and PE classes. In the 5th grade, they can learn to play a string instrument for their music class credit. Westridge has a very strong PTA and they do a very good job at fund raising. If something is needed at the school, that isn't supplied by the county, the parents and PTA step up to the plate. The school also has a very well stocked school library with a librarian on staff. We've been very happy with the education our child has received at Westridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students91%
Male students75%
Black students58%
Asian students80%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial88%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students59%
Female students67%
Male students53%
Black students17%
Asian students70%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial69%
White students64%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English60%

Science

All Students87%
Female students90%
Male students85%
Black students58%
Asian students80%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial88%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students88%
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students84%
Male students84%
Black students64%
Asian students90%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial93%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students92%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students93%
Female students92%
Male students94%
Black students91%
Asian students100%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial100%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students85%
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students82%
Male students90%
Black students85%
Asian students70%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial96%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students40%
Proficient in English90%

English: Writing

All Students76%
Female students81%
Male students72%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial76%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students84%
Female students84%
Male students84%
Black students76%
Asian students70%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial96%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students84%
Black students77%
Asian students70%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial96%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12400 Knightsbridge Dr
Woodbridge, VA 22192
Phone: (703) 590-3711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Prince William Academy
Lake Ridge, VA


Jewels and Jems
Dale City, VA




Cary Christian Academy
Woodbridge, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT