Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rosa Parks Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 764 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

Not sure what or who that previous parent is complaining about but my daughter has been at Rosa Parks for 4 years now and we love it there. The teachers that we have had and the ones I know are wonderful and have always praised and helped my daughter. Not sure how she can take a bad experience with one and talk bad about the whole school. I would recommend Rosa Parks to anyone, we love the staff and administration and could tell you many great things about them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

This school was a horrible experience for our family. The students have no freedom at any point during the day, the teachers regularly tell the students how bad they are on a daily basis without ever acknowledging good behaviour. The guidance counselor especially bears caution as she levels unfounded accusations which cause much harm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

My child attended Rosa Parks from 2nd grade through 5th. We were very pleased with the whole experience. Prior to Rosa Parks my child attended Pattie, and I can say first hand they are light years apart. Rosa Parks staff is great, teachers are kind and responsive, my student and I both love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

Rosa Parks elementary school is EXCELLENT! The past principal and current principal both have put their hearts into this school to make it what it is today. You can feel the warmth when you walk into the school. The staff knows each child by name and that is very impressive. My daughter always achieves honor roll and has learned so much in her 4 years at Rosa Parks. Thank you Rosa Parks staff for giving my daughter an awesome start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

This is an excellent school. The resources seem to be used in the best way possible. Lots of technology and a fair amount of diversity in the staff...people of all ages, different ethnicities, & both genders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

This school has everything I could ask for in a school. An administration that is beyond outstanding- very in touch, caring, involved, fantastic communicators, and quickly solves any issues. The instructors (including the music, art, PE, science, etc.) are very dedicated- and passionate about what they teach. The four classroom (home-room) teachers I've got to know very well are all exceptional! The classes appropriately challenge my children. My kids always come home pleased with this school. They love school- it is fun to them and they are most certainly learning every day. I feel like my children are treated like individuals here, not just a part of a group. They are very in-tune to my kid's feelings and immediately detect something when they aren't being their normal selves- and immediately contact my husband and I. The front office staff must have the greatest memories- they know the kids by their names and our situations at home. VERY HAPPY WITH THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

Great leadership. Sound basics. Solid discipline. Strong communication. Family friendly. Principal makes decisions based on what she would want for her own children. Rich activities- talent show, music programs, fitness. Excellent music program. Instruction- Committed gifted education staff. Classroom instruction varies, as w/any school. History and science are given short shrift by most teachers. A science lab is in the rotation of 'specials' each week. Reading instruction is quite strong. Writing could be more rigorous. Kids are not taught cursive in any coherent way. Mathematics is a mystery- teachers have not bought into county's new math program and so they appear to rely almost exclusively on Accelerated Math which is a pretty boring and low level test/drill/test/drill approach to math instruction. This is an area where they could improve. Technology use by teachers is above average. PTO is active and school has good resources- it is relatively new.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

School and staff is excellent. They do everything withing their power to accommodate the student's needs. My son went from being labeled with ADD at a previous school to the gifted program on this one. They worked with him to see how they could help him better and in the process learned he was just bored and not challenged enough. This year he got a score of 600 on his SOL and that is a perfect score. This was possible thanks to dedicated teachers and a very dedicated and hard working principal, vice principal and encore teachers. No wonder it's been school of excellence since it opened. Every year teachers and even the principal are awarded by the county. Is by far the best school my kids have been to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

This school is great! Being a military family, our kids have gone to a couple of different elementary schools. The school offers music, art, PE, computer and science labs as part of the curriculum and the staff and administrators know just about every child by name. They study and work hard, then are rewarded for their hard work! My 4th grader just attended an Honor Roll Sleepover at the school. The teachers send home weekly progress reports as a way of communicating about your child's progress. They are a little funny when it comes to any type of holiday celebrations. The children were not allowed to dress up for Halloween--even in Halloween t-shirts and their was no mention of Christmas or Christianity in their study of holidays. They also didn't allow any holiday parties. I know this might be considered nit-picky, but it was something that bothered me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

I'll have to admit I was hesitant from the beginning about sending my children to public school. I was requested by another parent to give this school a try. Boy, am I glad I did! What an excellent staff starting with the Principal and Asst Principal. They make every effort to know each child by name, and what's going on in their lives to better understand their learning habits. This school goes above and beyond the call of duty, and I would (and have) advocate this school to any parent in this district. If you're not afraid to get involved in your child's education, you can't go wrong with this school! They are continually finding new ways to challenge and reward the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

The school does very well in communicating to parents via monthly newsletters/bulletins and the website; however, communicating on an individual level continues to be a problem, particularly teacher-to-parent and teacher-to-child, e.g., homework and test dates/results. While the focus of the school is on achievement--recognition of excellence in SOLs, attendance, and requirements toward the IBP--the emphasis tends to be all about the school (and the school district looking good), rather than what the school and the district are doing to promote the individual achievement of the child. Perhaps one cause is that funding is attached to SOLs and IBP, but this isn't likely the entire problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

Excellent caring teachers combined with high tech classrooms. We have been with the school for two years and love it. The kids all have so much pride instilled from the administration. The teachers provide additional resources and helpful hints when needed. Encore subjects are great and PTO is very involved. My kids love going to school. Thank you Mrs. Hart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

Wonderful administration! I can't say enough about the dedication & professionalism of the staff. Academics are top notch & the parent is constantly informed. Administration makes children feel loved & often plans special events & gifts to reward their hard work. Absolutely love this school & feel honored to be part of the rosa parks family....Oh & the pto does it all for the school...A rock climbing wall...You name it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students86%
Male students69%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial90%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students77%
Female students76%
Male students77%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial80%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students94%
Female students95%
Male students92%
Black students89%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracial91%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students79%
Male students75%
Black students82%
Asian students100%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial90%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students89%
Female students92%
Male students85%
Black students84%
Asian students100%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial100%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities78%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students78%
Male students70%
Black students70%
Asian students100%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English77%

English: Writing

All Students74%
Female students78%
Male students68%
Black students63%
Asian students100%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students80%
Female students78%
Male students82%
Black students69%
Asian students100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English84%

Science

All Students88%
Female students90%
Male students87%
Black students85%
Asian students100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities89%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students85%
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13446 Princedale Drive
Woodbridge, VA 22193
Phone: (703) 580-9665

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT