Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tabb Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 799 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

Academics and test scores great BUT some serious mean girl mentality. Parents assume the school is academically strong in a nice neighborhood and become uninvolved in their kids life. My daughter attended this school for 7th and 8th grade. As a military child and being quiet and more reserved by nature it started off slowly making friends. It came together quickly and the academics are great BUT lots of bullying, the worst kind..the sneaky convincing girls who manipulate others to gang up on kids. I've seen it with my child and with many others...really sad and the administrators are a bit soft on this issue. If I had it to do over she wouldn't attend this school, I would have looked more into the social issues at the school before sending her somewhere. Academics are important but so are the kinds of people your child has to deal with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

We could not have asked for more from a school. The staff and teachers were wonderful. They were responsive, clearly interested in the well-being and development of the children, and willing and able to go beyond just the basic level of instruction. There is a wide array of activities for the students to participate in, and no shortage of teachers willing to lend a hand in everything from school work to sports to extracurricular activities. As a military family, we had to move...but are extremely thankful for the opportunity to have our daughter attend Tabb MS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I love this school. My child went here for 2 1/2 years til we had to move. I miss it so much. When we first arrived in the area they were so helpful with everything and went over everything we would need to know. Even after we moved out of the area they went out of their way to help. The teacher were great. The edline is a great tool for the parents. Very happy with this school and wish we could move back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

Great small town atmosphere school with premiere academics and activities. I love the size of the school which is not too big so kids and staff don't get overwhelmed. The second of my three children is currently attending. He really loves it as did my oldest. The staff and teachers are quick to respond if you need to speak to them and are of the highest caliber. Awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

My son is in 6th grade. He adapted to middle school extremely well and loves his teachers and the after school clubs that are offered to students. Academics are a high priority. The teachers are very caring and make learning exciting and fun. TMS is a beautiful school set in a safe neighborhood with lots of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

My daughter attended this school and absolutely LOVED the school as well as her teachers. Quality of the teachers is very high and they really seem to care about the kids. We had to leave York Co. and moved to Fairfax Co., widely considered to be a 'better' district. After a year away, I really don't think it is better, however, my daughter now sees that there was a little too much 'spoonfeeding' at Tabb and not enough 'discovery' style teaching where the kids have to come up with ideas and synthesize the information. She still misses it though!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

Great school. The kids are known for their petitions! Mrs. Rhew is a fair principal, but Mr. Layne was more interactive with the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2009

Phenomenal school. 2 of my 3 children have attended and I have been very impressed. Academically challenging with an atmosphere of respect at all levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

My family moved to Yorktown for the 2007 school year. We absolutely love the area and are extremely happy with Tabb Middle School. The principle is fantastic and her staff is so professional. I get updates and information from the staff on a daily basis and am informed about all events through e-mail. Great school, great faculty and the students are pretty impressive as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

awsome school and i love my football coach
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2008

This school is great i just finshed sixth grade. Everbody is friendly and they all care.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2007

I am a former student of TMS, and I have to say it was a great school. They have the best teachers who are willing to help, and there was always an extracurricular activity fit for everyone. Everyone clamors to get into art and the other music classes, and I was rejected all three times (grades 6-8) because of no available room. The school's extremely safe and parents are always involved with every aspect of the school. However, I agree that the school quality and quality of life in York County has made housing much more costly in that area. The Tabb District has always been a premium.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 28, 2006

Tabb Middle is a great school and has been so for many years. My son attended eight years ago and was initially a bit unfocused as a student, but the excellent teacher leadership helped turn him around. He will graduate from the United States Military Academy at West Point this year. My nephew attends now and all his teachers are caring and attentive. We chose where we live because of the wonderful schools in York County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2005

I guess Tabb if a good school if your child is normal. I have a special needs child who has aspergers disorder. He is pick on all the time. Teachers don't let you know what is going on until report card time. There is only one Teacher that is great! A plus in my book. Mrs. Dow. She always offers help for all the children afterschool
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

Great school.My daughter went there for three years. Nice teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

I am a student at Tabb Middle School. Tabb Middle is a wonderful school and I am grateful about it. They offer wonderful courses, and the teachers will go their extra ways to help their students succeed for their future. Tabb Middle offers many, many things in extracurricular activities, classes, and what students want to map out for their future. This school is very diverse in just the perfect amount. Tabb Middle has one of the highest levels of parent involvement. The parents will go their extra ways to help with school, too. I recommend Tabb Middle and Tabb High to anyone. They also have some of the highest test scores in the MSA and state.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

I am a former student of Tabb Middle school and I miss it so much! Tabb is a great school. There are so many activities to do after school. Many recreational groups and what not. Teacher are great. Tabb allows after school help. The teachers are top- notch. Great school. Its takes a while to adjust. Just be sure to do extra curriculars to meet new people.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 15, 2005

I'm a former student of Tabb Middle school and I just want to say it is a great school. Tabb is in a very nice area , the teachers are great, and there are many after-school activities to choose from. Tabb isn't a very strict school but it has limits to which to be aware of. Tabb is a great school for kids to exspand their minds for a great futur.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students91%
Male students87%
Black students70%
Asian students100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial87%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students94%
Female students93%
Male students94%
Black students89%
Asian students100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial97%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students87%
Male students79%
Black students81%
Asian students89%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial83%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students78%
Female students85%
Male students71%
Black students80%
Asian students75%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial78%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students82%
Male students77%
Black students50%
Asian students95%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial89%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

English: Writing

All Students83%
Female students86%
Male students81%
Black students63%
Asian students95%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial95%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students82%
Female students84%
Male students80%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students90%
Female students87%
Male students92%
Black students67%
Asian students95%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Yorktown Rd
Yorktown, VA 23693
Phone: (757) 898-0320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Living Word Academy
Yorktown, VA



Hampton Roads Academy
Newport News, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT