Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Yorktown Elementary School 5

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attended kindergarten at this school. I wish we could've kept her there forever! the staff are friendly and the school is a fun, safe, place for the kids. We loved this school.

Yorktown Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Dawson is the best and she helped make my daughters first year at the school amazing. I trusted her with my child and she never let us down.


Yorktown Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 29, 2016
- a community member
I don't think this is something that is taught in ANY school anymore. I don't believe it's gair to judge one school when no one else is teaching it either.

Yorktown Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 29, 2016
- a community member
They raised money to support a fellow elementary student in his fight against cancer, participaye in Angel Tree at Christmas, and give multiple opportunities to express generosity and compassion.

Yorktown Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2016
- a community member
YES has had an extreme amount of growth especially compared to the surrounding elementary schools in the district. There have been some issues directly related to the rapid growth. Despite that, parents have been vocal in advocating for the school to the School Board and the Board of Supervisors. The parents are not letting our school suffer without a fight. While I have been disappointed this particular year with my students' teachers, I have gotten involved to alleviate the pressures and attempt to be a part of the solution. There is an extremely high concentration of military kids here and the school does a wonderful job of supporting them. The PTA is extremely involved and active. It will only remain so if new parents continue to be involved and get in the school.


Yorktown Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
Not sure what to say as far as respect... I mean some of the students don't really respect their teachers and they also don't respect each other, so go figure...

Yorktown Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
Not really the place for a child that just moved into the area. They do not make your child feel welcomed nor do they teach or encourage other children to make someone who's new feel welcomed. Totally different from where we came from. Thank goodness it is very temporary.

Yorktown Elementary School 3

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
I say average because I don't want to say it is totally bad. We are new to VA, and so far, this school does not excite my son. It doesn't feel like a grade school. Nothing done to excite the students with their education. No real recognition for doing well, there aren't any award assemblies for the kids that do well. So there's very little thrive in these kids. Every time I go to pick up my child the office is always full with kids that get into trouble. It's because they're bored. The only way for them to get any recognition is by doing wrong things. I don't like this school for my kid. I'm looking forward to the end of the school year. I will place him in a different (better) school next year. ;)


Yorktown Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
To my son for tolerating the inconvenience of being surrounded by peers, teachers, and some admin., that haven't made him feel welcomed since he started here. I can't wait for the end of this school year so I can place him at a better school.

Yorktown Elementary School 1

Posted March 06, 2016
- a community member
This use to be a great school but, has been going down hill. Lots of new construction in this area has made this school overcrowded. I would avoid this school at all cost!

Nearby schools

Yorktown Elementary School
131 Siege Ln, Yorktown, VA  23692
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. (757) 898-0358
Last modified Yorktown Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top