Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
113 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Summit Christian Academy - Upper School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Our son received an excellent education and was challenged in every way, spiritually, educationally, and physically. He had a great soccer experience, tried tennis, learned Spanish, adapted well to school from a homeschool environment, and was taught to write, think, articulate, and enjoy his education.

Summit Christian Academy - Upper School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Dana Tuminello has gone above and beyond to share what our school means to families and students, and she has come in to her position with energy and creativity to communicate this with the community. Also, Cindy Earwood has done a fantastic job as an academic advisor to the senior class, reminding and helping them in the transition from high school to life beyond SCA. Thanks a million to both of them!


Summit Christian Academy - Upper School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
There are teachers many students love at SCA and they have a passion for the subject they teach, and they love kids - I think they do a very effective job of teaching and give the students many different approaches and a great variety in their education. Teachers are highly qualified and have taught my son to love learning.

Summit Christian Academy - Upper School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Ninth grade homework seemed heavy due to the adjustment from homeschool to SCA, but as my son adjusted to the level required and as he learned to budget his time, his homework management became much better, and it didn't seem like there was too much expected, as a general rule. Teachers were fair about sharing assignments very early so students can plan ahead.

Summit Christian Academy - Upper School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Students are encouraged to pursue challenging academic options and in doing so are putting themselves in situations where they have to persevere to accomplish their academic goals. Mentors and faculty do all they can to encourage students to perform to the best of their ability, challenging them to rise above the level to which they think they can reach.


Summit Christian Academy - Upper School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Students are expected to show respect for others in their treatment of students, faculty, guests, family members, and the community. They are given tools to make this concrete with training in etiquette, reminders of God's calling in Scripture, and also in practical examples by the administration with offsite retreats and events.

Summit Christian Academy - Upper School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
This school community is a family and meets in many ways outside of the school day as well as in the classroom. Students are constantly reminded that the teachers care about them personally, the administration knows them by name, and they are encouraged through chapel and other venues to be mindful of one another and their impact on the family with actions, speech, and participation.

Summit Christian Academy - Upper School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
There is encouragement for accountability in the Ministry Teams that meet every day after lunch, where peers, older student mentors and teachers remind students of their calling, their Biblical basis for all of life, and for high standards in their education.


Summit Christian Academy - Upper School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
Our girls loved their time at Summit Christian Academy. The classical curriculum is a great education. Unlike many Christian schools, SCA's Christian commitment influences the entire curriculum. The students learn logic and Latin and many other great things. I'll never forget when my first grader was given an advent calendar by our neighbor. The neighbor asked, "Do you know what advent is?" My daughter responded, "Oh, yes. It comes from the Latin word adventis. It means 'coming' or 'to come'." I think my neighbor almost feinted from shock!

Summit Christian Academy - Upper School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
This is our 8th year to send our children to Summit. It's not just a school, it's like a family. Summit has been a ministry to myself and my husband, not just our children. The education at Summit is PHENOMENAL, but I now realize that what college or career my child lands in is not the most important aspiration. Mostly, I want my child to find JOY in serving God and serving others, in every aspect of her life. I also want her to think critically, work hard (as if working for the Lord), and to search out truth. The staff and teachers at Summit are an amazing example of these qualities. My children not only feel loved by their teachers and principal, but they also learn to love like that. Now that is invaluable!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Summit Christian Academy - Upper School
4209 Big Bethel Rd, Yorktown, VA  23693
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (757) 867-7005
Last modified Summit Christian Academy - Upper School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top