Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Murch Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Homeroom teacher, who was also her math and science teacher, and the guidance counselor for making an effort to address concerns.

Murch Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
I can only speak from our experience. My daughter came from a gifted and talented program in Sarasota, Florida. ELA teacher at Murch insisted she would only address common core standards class as whole engaged in. My daughter, "went ahead" and thus, was, "not meeting grade level expectations." Literally, ZERO work came home - Progress Report was first indication she was not performing well.


Murch Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Homework in 3rd grade: ELA - Write same 12 spelling words Monday - Thursday 1 x each. Read for 15 minutes Math - 10 minutes of math which student or parent created; occasional workbook pages.

Murch Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
My daughter experienced bullying and poor teacher engagement. When issue continued, the guidance counselor created a "Friendship" group to address this issue across grade levels.

Murch Elementary School 1

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Murch is considered an above average school based on the caliber of it's students and their successful and highly engaged parents. Period. I've been an educator for over 20 years and I was shocked and very disappointed by, well, everyone and everything else...Parents beware.


Murch Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
We have been very happy with the pre-K. Much better than out prior private preschool. Small class size with one teacher and one aide. Great community, and my son is really learning. The downside are the old buildings, scheduled for renovation.

Murch Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
Murch is amazing. My kid is having so much fun! There is one bad teacher out of a lot of staff but other than that Murch is amazing.

Murch Elementary School 2

Posted January 25, 2014
- a community member
I used to go to Murch and hated everyday of school. I never wanted to go and I went there from Kindergarten to 5th grade and never liked. However, I learned well and was in a good place after Murch.


Murch Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, experienced teachers, dedicated principal and very engaged parents. Our kids love it there.

Murch Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
We strongly recommend this school! This school has a great principal leadership, very good teacher quality and a lot of parent involvement. Jose Marquez, Rubi Alonso (Mexico)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Murch Elementary School
4810 36th Street Northwest, Washington, DC  20008
(202) 282-0130
Last modified Murch Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Murch Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top