Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Public
Washington, DC
Students enrolled: 572
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Murch Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
Murch is amazing. My kid is having so much fun! There is one bad teacher out of a lot of staff but other than that Murch is amazing.

Murch Elementary School 2

Posted January 25, 2014
- a community member
I used to go to Murch and hated everyday of school. I never wanted to go and I went there from Kindergarten to 5th grade and never liked. However, I learned well and was in a good place after Murch.


Murch Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, experienced teachers, dedicated principal and very engaged parents. Our kids love it there.

Murch Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
We strongly recommend this school! This school has a great principal leadership, very good teacher quality and a lot of parent involvement. Jose Marquez, Rubi Alonso (Mexico)

Murch Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
I love Murch so much because it cares about each student's education, very open and communicative with the parents, also has a vastly diverse school environment.


Murch Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2009
- a community member
Murch Elementary School is wonderful. It is a public school. However, it runs like a private school. The teachers put their blood sweat and tears into everything they do. I applaud all of the teachers at Murch. It has always had a reputation of being the best. Parents will not be disappointed.

Murch Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
Murch has an excellent teaching staff and an amazing community of involved parents who support the school in so many ways. In 2009 we have a new, enthusiastic Principal and a brand new completely redone playground which the kids love!

Murch Elementary School 5

Posted July 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Murch Elementary School 4

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Murch Elementary School 2

Posted June 02, 2009
- a parent
Murch has sadly deteriorated in the past two years. Before then we had a dynamic principal who hired excellent teachers, had a strong vision for the school, and created a great spirit. Alas, after she departed Murch has now become a typical bureaucratic public school. With few exceptions, the teachers are competent at best, most mediocre, and totally lacking in inspiration. School leadership is below lackluster and totally lacking in creativity; parents and parent input and not welcome. What a sad change. If you child is a self-starter who can be motivated regardless of the classroom, they'll do well. If they need come help or real teaching....forget it. Look elsewhere. We are.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Murch Elementary School
4810 36th Street Northwest, Washington, DC  20008
(202) 282-0130
Last modified Murch Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Murch Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top