Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Duke Ellington School of the Arts
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
Big thanks to the entire Museum Studies Team! Great teachers and motivators! They have given my daughter so many opportunities to expand her skills and learn more about the world through museum work.

Duke Ellington School of the Arts 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
If you want your kid to have a good grasp on sciety and what is going on the world now, SEND THEM TO THIS SCHOOL. Duke Ellington's teachers are not only dedicated in making sure their kids get the best education DCPS has to offer but also teaching them to be independent thinkers. This school breeds innovative young arts that strive for greatness and individuality in today's world.


Duke Ellington School of the Arts
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted January 05, 2016
- a student
When pursuing an Art career there will ALWAYS be homework. Whether it's assigned or not.

Duke Ellington School of the Arts 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
Kudos to Ellington! As a parent of two graduates I'm so excited about the latest news: DESA had a 99% senior on-time graduation rate, Those seniors earned over $5 million in scholarships(!), Ellington achieved the highest proficiency level in the DC CAS standardized testing, Reward level - the only high school to do so that does not have a minimum GPA for acceptance, For the 2nd year in a row, Ellington swept the DC-CAP STARS talent competition - this year with winners from vocal music, dance, and instrumental music, Ellington continues to improve with each year, in no small part because of the caring and supportive Ellington community. Congrats to all the staff, students, and parents!!

Duke Ellington School of the Arts 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a student
The audition process is unorganized and all about who you know at at this school. It's sad because the children with the skills to continue studying are overlooked for the children that live out of state, know someone behind the scenes or look a certain way.


Duke Ellington School of the Arts 1

Posted June 13, 2013
- a student
The education here is so bad, that I felt like I hadn't gone to school the years that I had been there. Only certain departments work hard and some kids learned. I feel unprepared for college and there was no strong college counseling. This school may have a somewhat good graduation rate but I doubt the kids who go to college will stay in college. Duke Ellington simply does not teach you the academic skills necessary - or sometimes even the arts - and teachers sometimes grade without any basis behind their decisions. I would not recommend going here. It is however quite helpful with certain disabilities. Although the school is extremely disorganized. Most teachers are kind although not motivating and peers seem disengaged and do not seem to try in the academics. Not a good experience at all! I worry about the years of school I have essentially missed while I attended Duke Ellington, as I go on to college. All of my knowledge is from my past schools. I do not recommend it.

Duke Ellington School of the Arts 1

Posted March 26, 2013
- a teacher
This School prefers out of state students. The fact that they are a DC public school but would rather accomodate out of state students to collect tution is insulting. The number of MD & VA tags that drop students off is ridiculous! IT IS QUITE SAD THAT OUR VERY OWN TALENTED DC STUDENTS ARE BEING LOOKED OVER. I WOULD SUGGEST NOT HAVING STUDENTS AUDITION AND GET THERE HOPES UP IF TUITION IS WAHT YOU WOULD RATHER COLLECT.

Duke Ellington School of the Arts 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a community member
THIS is a great school! Kids actually like to go to school here. There are always those who are bitter because they got kicked out or couldn't adjust. But it is the best thing that can happen to the right student.


Duke Ellington School of the Arts 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a community member
I as a child always had a dream to go to Duke Ellington Scol Of The Arts..... But now i see that 3 out of every 10 people get accepted into this chool of my choice.... So now all i can do is TRY and TRY my hardest to get accepte in t this school.

Duke Ellington School of the Arts 1

Posted May 28, 2012
- a student
I came to this school hoping for a good arts and academic education. The arts education was good aside from teachers who don't grade based on valid evidence. The academics were so horrible I am most definitely transferring as well as possibly moving to Virginia. The academic level was the same in history as I got in third grade. Biology was so remedial I was moved into AP Biology as a freshman, a course typically only taken by juniors or seniors. They try to make it seem as though they put work into the academic portion of the school, but it's all a big joke. This school was the most remedial and utterly ridiculous thing, it's a joke to even call it school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Duke Ellington School of the Arts
3500 R St. NW, Washington, DC  20007
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (202) 282-0123
Last modified Duke Ellington School of the Arts is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top