Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Garrison Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 237 students

We are proud of our nurturing, diverse environment and improved academics.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Garrison is a great school. I attended this school as well as my oldest child. Garrison has change for the better. Its a great school for families moving into the neighborhood. I like Garrison because of all the great teachers and the principal. The only improvement would be more parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

My child has gone to Garrison since she first started school in kindergarten. At first I was skeptical about the school mainly because of certain staff. I felt like they didn't have the necessary tools and experience to make Garrison number one for me but now I can honestly say what a big difference I can see with my own eyes. When they announced the school might be closing I saw the principal put a lot of effort to keep for that not to happen. I saw constantly on facebook and fliers about the closure which I think helped alot of parents to be involved. Seeing the attitude of the staff and especially the passion that you can see in the principal, I believe is what motivates the team to work hard for their students. I am happy with Garrison and I have no doubt they will be successful in the future. I look forward for my daughter's academic years at Garrison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

This is our first year hear (our child is in PK). She loves it and we love the community and the motivated principal and staff. This school is going places!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Garrison Elementary is an excellent neighborhood school. My daughter is 3 years old and started PreK-3 there this Fall. We benefit from engaged and interested teachers and staff and a diverse student body. My daughter is excited to go to school and I am grateful that there is this option in my neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

We live in the neighborhood and have been very impressed with the community engagement at Garrison. The strong leadership from Principal Hill, as well as the PTA, not only helped to keep Garrison open, but is transforming every aspect of the school. Our daughter is in pre-school and is loving it. The teachers are great and there is a strong community spirit. We are proud to be part of the Garrison family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

My son is in 2nd grade and has been at Garrison for four years. He is reading above grade level and excelling in math thanks to all the great teachers he's had since we've been at the school. I love that he has a very diverse set of classmates who directly mirror the urban neighborhood in which we chose to live. This year we have a full-time on-site music teacher, so orchestra was introduced as an afterschool activity for 2nd-5th graders. My son who hates anything "artsy-fartsy" now LOVES music and is learning the cello. A concert was held recently and it is amazing how quickly the students learned to play string instruments in 5 weeks. They are so proud and it adds a new level of interest and activity for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

I really like this school. Great Job, Keep up the good work. Garrison has a good parent net-work.


Posted August 22, 2013

So far so Good!! I love the neighborhood! and when I went to a meet and greet all of the teachers were very nice! the principal was great as well! I am looking forward to having my children attend school on monday!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

This school has done a 180 degree turn in the last 2 years with the momentum for change lead by a small but strong and involved PTA, the hiring of a new dynamic principal and a teacher base that is experienced, engaged and developing constantly. I have 2 daughters aged 4 and 3 that currently attend PS and PK at Garrison. They are excited to go to school most ( if not every :) ) morning and be with their teachers Ms Lo and Ms Christian; the Tools of the Mind Curriculum is teaching them key concepts like self regulation and my 4 year old is beginning to read ! With field trips to Whole Foods, Sweet Greens, The Shaw Library; And Fall Festival activities, Doctor Seuss Day celebrations, my children are getting the best possible education that I can hope for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

I was hesitant to have my child in any DC school (DCPS or charter) but ended up sending my son to our local elementary school, Garrison (preschool program). I have been very surprised and delighted by the quality of the education, the new principle and the PTA. This is a school that has a lot to offer and is at the tipping point of becoming amazing. On the plate for Garrison in the next two-to- three years is new programming, new fields/exterior spaces, and new interiors (just to mention a few things). All of which, are in the planning and development phases. Parents' opinions and energies are full appreciated and often implemented. Being a DCPS parent is not the easiest path to take but this is one school that has the potential to be something the system can be really proud of. I can't wait to give the school the full five stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

Hurrah for neighborhood schools! The teachers are great, motivated and warm. The principal is able, present and inspiring. The parents for the most part know each other and get together. Heck - they are neighbors! The PTA simply rocks. The latest example is a sort of "walk to school pool" to ensure all children can get to school even if, say, a parent is stuck in bed with the flu. All this school needs now is for DCPS to add the Spanish language program the parents have been demanding, and finally modernize the premises. Yes, we all know esthetics are not as important as content but we sure would love to have a better looking school! I am so glad we no longer have to leave this amazing neighborhood! Especially since the new coffee place opened just around the corner from the school. The stars are aligning for downtown mothers;-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

great teachers, great new principals - now scheduled for much overdue grounds/facility work - growing PTA and located in a phenomenal community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

we love garrison oh yes we dooooo we dont love any school as much as you, when were not near you were blue, oh garrison we love youuu!


Posted January 11, 2007

i'm a student and has been going to garrison since 1999 wich is pre k the school had been a great teachers but the food is ok it cn be better. i'll give a 10
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2006

My son has been attending garrison elem school since the kindergardin and now he is in the 4th grade. Garrison has a wonderful afterschool and aftercare program they have the kids into classroom and also garrison has a outstanding summer school my son learn alot. Overall I from a rating from 1-10 I would give garrison a '10'. Thank you robin yarbrough
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
46%
Writing

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2011.

85 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2011.

83 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 35% in 2011.

24 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Writing

All Students44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Science

All Students29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

In 2012-2013, this school was designated "Focus".

About the tests


The DC school classification system includes multiple measures to evaluate performance and student growth. The possible classifications, from highest to lowest, are Reward, Rising, Developing, Focus and Priority. These measures include the DC CAS, annual growth, graduation rates, attendance rates and participation rates. Under the system, required under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), each school is given a School Index Score based on the performance of its students. Schools receive different levels of support, resources, flexibility and monitoring based on their classification.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the city.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests in the District of Columbia. Test scores are based on 2012-13 DC CAS results.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 DC CAS results from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 69% 1%
Hispanic 22% N/A
White 7% 1%
Two or more races N/A 57%
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
Special education 21%N/A13%
English learners 20%N/A7%
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Attendance

  This school District averageState average
All Students 95%N/AN/A
Asian/Pacific Islander 95%N/AN/A
Black, not Hispanic 94%N/AN/A
Hispanic 96%N/AN/A
White, not Hispanic 100%N/AN/A
Economically disadvantaged 94%N/AN/A
Students with disabilities 95%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 97%N/AN/A
Source: DCPS, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • DCPS Rewards School (2012)
  • Student received 5k Scholarship Dare to Dream Foundation (2011)
  • Target Literacy Fund (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Multiple disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • none at this time
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Amharic
  • French
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French Club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45am
School end time
  • 3:15pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Collin Hill
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • garrisonpta@gmail.com
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (202) 673-6828

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Tools of the Mind
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Multiple disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • none at this time
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Amharic
  • French
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
  • title 1 School
Transportation options
  • 63, 64 (Federal Triangle - Takoma Station/Fort Totten), 52, 53, 54 (Takoma/14th & Buchanan - L'Enfant Plaza/McPherson Sq), 90, 92, 93, 96 (Congress Heights/Anacostia Station - McLean Gardens/Ellington Bridge), X3 (Minnesota Station - McLean Gardens), 70, 71 (9th & Maine/Buzzard Point - Silver Spring Station), G8 (Avondale), G2 (Georgetown University - Howard University), DC98 (McPherson Square Station - Woodley Park/Adams Morgan)
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Target
  • Washington Architectural Foundation
  • Experience Corps
  • Martha's Table
  • Everybody Wins
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Girls on the Run

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • 21 century Achieve Tutoring
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Foreign language club: French Club
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Blue and Gold
School mascot
  • Wildcat
More from this school
  • The Garrison Improvement Project is the PTA-led community's vision for improving Garrison's 3.5 acres of land and building. Please visit www.garrisonelementary.org/content.php?page=garrison_improvement_project_(GIP). The Office of Bilingual Education is also housed at Garrision ES.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
36
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
227
Students typically come from these schools
N/A

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
N/A
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 S St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 673-7263

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Meridian PCS
Washington, DC


St. Augustine School
Washington, DC



Center City PCS - Shaw
Washington, DC


Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT