Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


Key Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Key is arguably the best public elementary school in DC. The teachers are outstanding and take great care in attending to the needs and education of their students. Plus, it is small compared with other excellent DCPS elementary schools. The parent body is very active and involved, raising money for aids, and playground equipment, expanded library and more. The principal is committed to his team and does an excellent job maintaining an outstanding public school. Our family has spent 8 years collectively at Key with 2 students, and both had an excellent experience. It is truly a "neighborhood" school where people look out for each other's kids, and it is a warm and close-knit community. My older child who has already graduated was well prepared for private middle school afterwards. We love Key!

Key Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
Key School is a happy place, and I think that is the best thing you could say about an elementary school. I've had two kids now, go all the way through. 2/3 teachers are excellent, and the rest are fine. The principal is a true leader. Many public schools have the same fault, that they are geared toward moving the middle, rather than the top or the bottom, and I suppose Key has this flaw. If your child goes from Key to a rigorous school, some parents complain that Key did not prepare them. Not only have I been happy with Key School, but I'm jealous of it. I wish I had gone to a school like this for K-5. It's a very good school, and a great community. Your child will love it. I found it to be very welcoming, and they had many opportunities to not welcome me.


Key Elementary School 3

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
Key School can be a great school for children that do not have learning differences and that fit into "the box". There are some fabulous and very committed teachers here. If your child has moderate learning differences, like both of ours do, it was our expericence that Key School was not equipped to meet their needs. The IEP process was ineffective and did not provide our children with the necessary resources they needed to succeed. When the IEP was written, it is weak and lacking substance. Confidence and self esteem took a huge hit with both of our children. It was challenging to get them back on track and even more difficult to reingnite their love of learning and of school. If your child has learning differences and you choose to place your child at Key School, my advice is to hire a special education consultant who can guide and direct the IEP process with you to make sure that your child is getting as much support as possible.

Key Elementary School 2

Posted March 02, 2011
- a parent
This school did not live up to its expectations. This school is completely run by the parents. The principal is very committed to parent involvement but gives the parents whatever they want without being objective to the current situation. This school (parents) is not very welcoming to new parents and has a hard time integrating different cultures into their school community. I am a very involved parent within the classroom and the PTO. The students can be very rude and mean to their peers and the teachers picks their consequences based on the relationship they have with the child and their parent. If you are looking for an objective school were the best interest of your child is a priority then the Key school may not be for you. On a positive note the curriculum seems to be a lacking substance but my child is learning, which makes me happy. I truly like the daily structure of the classes to keep the students in engaged and interested in learning. All in all I just wish the leadership at the school would spend more time protecting the students and less time trying to be best friends with the parents.

Key Elementary School 5

Posted December 22, 2010
- a parent
Great school - the principal is incredibly committed and open to parent involvement. Teachers are amazing.


Key Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Key Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Key School is a phenomenal school for children in the pre-k to 5th grade age. The school nurtures love of learning. The friendships and parent's involvement are one of the strongest I have seen. Their before/after school foreign language program is great. Key school was designated a Blue Ribbon School in 2008 - and is by far one of the top private/public schools in DC.

Key Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Key School is an outstanding Blue Ribbon school with high-quality teachers, good student-teacher ratio (20-1), impeccable facilities, and a positive and enriching learning environment. Sometimes characterized as overambitious (partnership with overseas schools, etc...) but also the reason why it is the best DC Public School and private or public school in the area. It was the only school in the Metropolitan Area (public or private) to receive the U.S. Education Departments Blue Ribbon Award for Excellence in 2008, which is a testament to its dedication to teaching and learning.


Key Elementary School 1

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
The classes are large and the teachers seem overworked. Very slow paced for the kids.

Key Elementary School 4

Posted October 29, 2006
- a parent
Overall, we have really enjoyed Key. The quality of the teachers is relatively high, but varies from average and overly wedded to the curriculum to incredibly creative, enthusiastic and very experienced in challenging a broad range of kids. PTA and Parent commitment is top-notch. The school needs a gifted program and more access to team sports as PE does not include team sports. The kids get art, music and drama through Fillmore and teachers tend to be very dedicated. Because the Fillmore building is being renovated, the teachers come to Key which means less access to necessary resources (e.g., computers for digital arts class). Key classes tend to have 24 or more students in older grades with only one teacher. Good diversity of student body. Excellent science teacher, but she is leaving. Principal has can-do in spirit, but sometime says yes when he shouldn't as he can't follow through as needed.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

5001 Dana Place Northwest
Washington, DC 20016

School website
(202) 729-3280
(202) 282-0188

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.

Find the great schools in Washington Dc


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Key Elementary School
5001 Dana Place Northwest, Washington, DC  20016
(202) 729-3280
Last modified Key Elementary School is a public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Key Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.