Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Janney Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
This school has a very diverse population that makes up a strong student body of 700 students. With an awesome principal at it's helm, education strategies continue to evolve to meet the needs of the students. The PTA is very involved with promoting these strategies through financial support from the Janney community. Janney also has an after care program until 6:30pm, and after school enrichment activities, such as robotics, piano, flag football, and cooking. Note: This is one of the top performing schools in north west D.C..
1 person found this helpful

Janney Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
Janney is great. My Son is a fourth grader that hated going to school before Janney. The teachers and students welcomed my Son making his school day fulfilled with a well balaned education and social environment. The teachers are dedicated to ensuring the success of every Student academic involvement. The Principal make certain that all students are safe and well taught.


Janney Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
The principal has a laser-like focus on fostering a professional community based on quality instruction. The teachers care about good teaching, and they have a shared sense of what it looks like. The principal is level-headed, strong communicator, community-minded---doesn't always do what the parents want, but does always have the children's Education in mind, with every decision. The reason for the positive tone in this learning community starts with the Principal.

Janney Elementary School 4

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
Our 2nd and 4th graders attend and we feel fortunate to be in a school where parent involvement makes it tick. There are some special teachers there, who aren't "burnt out" and are excited to be at a school like Janney. They have a beautiful library, gym, art room and music. There is even a full time recess coordinator who gets the kids moving. Most are made possible through PTA funds (i.e. voluntary parent contributions) so as long as parents keep contributing, it certainly beats private school tuition.

Janney Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2012
- a parent
We are completing our first year with a child at Janney and have been delighted with the school. They just completed a full renovation--the facility is gorgeous. The grounds are now being filled in with fruit trees, a science garden, an outdoor classroom and more. The teachers and parents have always been very involved and caring, but under the leadership of Principal Lycknell, this school rivals any you could hope to send your child to. Library, science lab, art room, music room, glass-enclosed gym--it is a joy.


Janney Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 02, 2009
- a parent
The parents and faculty are so involved you just now things will always be taken care of well.

Janney Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Janney has been a wonderful place for my children to learn and play. The school and the staff are wonderful.

Janney Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 18, 2009
- a parent
The Janney community is amazing. My kids are thriving in an educationally challenging and socially nurturing environment. As parents, we are encouraged to be centrally involved in the school. And our teachers -- as educators and people -- are as good or better than any I have seen at any other school, private or public.


Janney Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
Janney is a school where there is a spirit of love of learning and and having fun doing it! Children haave many options for learning due to high parent and community involvment.

Janney Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
Never was there a better community, a more dedicated staff, or more exciting students!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington Dc


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Janney Elementary School
4130 Albemarle Street Northwest, Washington, DC  20016
(202) 282-0110
Last modified Janney Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Janney Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 29 reviews.