Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hardy Middle School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
A hidden gem in DCPS. It's small size and committed staff means everyone knows your child. Both the administration and the teachers are very involved in making your child's education their top priority. Administration is outside the school both before and after to both greet your child and see them off safely at the end of the day. The classes are engaging and my child is truly happy and has developed a strong work ethic which has surprised me a bit. There are 8 periods a day (as opposed to 7 at Deal) which allows for the chance to try electives like art, computer design, foreign language and more. There is PE each and every day as well as time to play outside after lunch (recess) which is still essential for most middle school students. New this year is a once per week special elective called "talon time" for Hardy hawks . Creative writing, team-building and many other options for this multi-grade activity. I have been very impressed with Principal Pride and her staff. I am thrilled my child goes to Hardy.

Hardy Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Hester has been at Hardy for years. She heads the athletic department but is also so very committed to each and every student's well being. She is outside the school each morning to greet your child. She knows middle schoolers. I hope she doesn't retire soon.


Hardy Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
80% of the teachers are very effective. A few are a bit more old school or boring according to my student but this opinion seems to vary by student.

Hardy Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Homework can range from 30 minutes a night to 3 hours. Some of it depends on how well your student can manager their time. Work is often given a week out which means if left to the last minute, it will take hours. Math is more of a daily assignment and science is more project or packet based.

Hardy Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Hardy classes are challenging, even for gifted students. The teachers do a great job differentiating and pushing students to get to the next level.


Hardy Middle School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
This is a challenge in many schools. I think it is on their radar. Their choice of electives called talon time that run once per week (on a rotating schedule so the kids don't miss the same class each week) has the students working together in small groups on interesting topics. There are also some small groups to support kids to help them develop appropriate social skills to resolve conflicts. There are some random afterschool clubs like cartoon club where kids can watch cartoons while getting their homework done. They are trying, just not there yet.

Hardy Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Very clear and fair discipline policy. They are not understaffed so they can easily support students in challenging situations that can arise. Students are graded at least weekly in homework, class participation and quizzes.

Hardy Middle School 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a community member
I go to this school and it is the best. It is also easy for me I had straight A's only one B in the whole school year. It is about 60% blacks 5% whites 30% hispanic 5% other. What it can improve of is flexible and nice teachers. That is my opinion. Grrrrrrreeeeeeeaaaaaaattttttt school


Hardy Middle School 5

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
This school was actually put on my radar when the DCPS central office tried unsuccessfully to meddle with the program. While it was unfortunate that the school community suffered leadership upheaval, in the end it gained a great leader in the current principal. After some investigation, we decided as a family to transfer our child from one of the more successful schools in town to Hardy, and it's the best decision we've made in a while. My child is engaged and challenged in a way I suspected he wasn't before. The teachers are energetic and bright. There's a strong parent organization. Class sizes are small and the school has a very warm and cozy feel. Hardy has a new school-wide program designed to address the needs of its most academically advanced students and offer enrichment to those who could be identified as gifted. I can't really ask for much more from a middle school. Hardy is a hidden gem.

Hardy Middle School 5

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
Hardy has transformed itself in the past few years. They now have an amazing building with the addition of experienced teachers and supportive leadership. If you're looking for an option other than Deal, please do look at Hardy. You'll find bright, vibrant classrooms filled with students from all parts of DC being taught by true professionals. There are lots of sports, and after school options and the added benefit of the music and arts program. Check it out!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hardy Middle School
1819 35th St. NW, Washington, DC  20007
(202) 729-4350
Last modified Hardy Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hardy Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top