Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hardy Middle School 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a community member
I go to this school and it is the best. It is also easy for me I had straight A's only one B in the whole school year. It is about 60% blacks 5% whites 30% hispanic 5% other. What it can improve of is flexible and nice teachers. That is my opinion. Grrrrrrreeeeeeeaaaaaaattttttt school

Hardy Middle School 5

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
This school was actually put on my radar when the DCPS central office tried unsuccessfully to meddle with the program. While it was unfortunate that the school community suffered leadership upheaval, in the end it gained a great leader in the current principal. After some investigation, we decided as a family to transfer our child from one of the more successful schools in town to Hardy, and it's the best decision we've made in a while. My child is engaged and challenged in a way I suspected he wasn't before. The teachers are energetic and bright. There's a strong parent organization. Class sizes are small and the school has a very warm and cozy feel. Hardy has a new school-wide program designed to address the needs of its most academically advanced students and offer enrichment to those who could be identified as gifted. I can't really ask for much more from a middle school. Hardy is a hidden gem.


Hardy Middle School 5

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
Hardy has transformed itself in the past few years. They now have an amazing building with the addition of experienced teachers and supportive leadership. If you're looking for an option other than Deal, please do look at Hardy. You'll find bright, vibrant classrooms filled with students from all parts of DC being taught by true professionals. There are lots of sports, and after school options and the added benefit of the music and arts program. Check it out!

Hardy Middle School 5

Posted January 31, 2011
- a community member
I am a student at Hardy middle school. I am currently in the 8th grade. I have experienced the struggles and hardships that Hardy has gone through in the past year. Hardy is a very interesting school and I am proud to be a student that attends the school. The arts and music in the school interest me and help me look forward to my goals in the future. The teachers are great and outstanding. The only concern that I have about the school is the re-assignment of our last principal, Mr. Pope. He was really great and I really miss him.

Hardy Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Outstanding leadership and staff: teamwork. Complete and thorough implementation of a quality program under Principal Pope.


Hardy Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Students learn at a high levl Teachers really care Best principal in the area Music & Arts program make students excited about learning in general and it teaches great discipline

Hardy Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Great programs, administration, teachers and students! This is a wonderful learning environment for all!...

Hardy Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 18, 2010
- a parent
Hardy MS provides a wonderful, well-rounded education at the middle school level. The principal has put together a program that succeeds because of the extraordinary arts and music faculty and strong core academic faculty. The diverse student population from all over the city is also an enormous asset.


Hardy Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 18, 2010
- a parent
WOW!, there are so many reasons why Hardy is a great middle and why I love Hardy Middle School totally!! Hardy Middle has AWESOME leadership- Principal Mr. Pope, teachers, staff and students. Hardy gives thousands of children the ability to thrive, be challenged through curriculm and experience the greatness of the world through arts and music. Hardy rocks...

Hardy Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 18, 2010
- a parent
I have two children that currently attend Hardy and we are very pleased with the quality of education they are receiving.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.

Find the great schools in Washington Dc


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hardy Middle School
1819 35th St. NW, Washington, DC  20007
(202) 729-4350
Last modified Hardy Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hardy Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews.