Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Annunciation Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 140 students

We are best known for family atmosphere & strong academics.

 

Living in Washington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $775,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

Our son is in pre-K this year, and we are so happy with the loving and wonderful environment of this class and school. We could not be happier. The school is absolutely fantastic and we are so happy we found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

The classroom sizes are great! My son is in the 6th grade this year and he only has 12 students in his class. They also have engrade which helps me keep an eye on his grades on a daily basis. The parent family is also great. This is the best school my son has ever attended. Please come and check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

The school provides a strong academic foundation that also heavily embraces the catholic faith. The teachers are truly engaged with their students and strive to maintain a strong collaborative relationship with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2013

Wonderful principal. Energetic, active, dynamic, modern, innovative. No, they did not pay me for my comments. Sweet teachers who can connect with my child and many others that I know. Lovely families. Super after care activities many of which are free of charge. Chess, drama, Art and craft, photography and more. My kid loves his school which means a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

Annunciation is one of the worst catholic schools in DC. Don't be fooled by the location. I would rather home school my child that send them there. Worst principal, poorly trianed teachers and weak curriculum. Loads of turnover of families in the past two years and what few good teachers were there have left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

Annunciation was my foundation. It is the only school i've ever been to that left an imprint on who i am today. Its been five years since i graduated eigth grade there and i have to say it was an eyeopening, fantastic experience. I met my best friend there, i met my first crush there, i met my friends for life there, and i met teachers that you can't find anywhere else! The teachers are like family, and the atmosphere is so fun, loving, and open to all. The only bad part is i wish there had been more sports or extra curriculars but other than that, i have nothing to complain about, it was incredible, and will forever be a part of my history and life!


Posted February 10, 2011

Also My son left that school and guess what he loved Annunciation Catholic Schools so much That he came back he cried to come back. I do not know what to do without him stop begging me to take him back and now's he's back he's really happy..!? and im hoping for more children to come to this school because this school is 5 STAR for me..!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I went to Annunciation from 1-8th grade, and I can't imagine going anywhere else. The lack in extra-curriculers is made up for by great teachers, fun and informativer classes, and friends I have made for life. The classes are very small, mine only had 16 kids. They have and aftercare, girls basketball team, library, band, art, music, and computer classes as well. Annunciation prepared me for High School, and the world.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 21, 2007

I attended Annunciation from K-8 grade as well. Although I agree that there is a severe lack of extracurricular activities and that teachers can try to be more open-minded, I feel that my years there prepared me very well for high school and beyond. I can't imagine going anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2005

I went to Annunciation from K-8 grade. The academics are reaaly good and prepare you for high school. There aren't many extracurricular activities which was something that was always missing throughout that experience
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 26, 2004

i would like to send my child to the best mix boarding school in washington DC. The money isn t a problem because education doesn t have a price. please send me all the informations as soon as possible. sinceraly, aurelie armand
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 80%
White 20% 7%
Hispanic 10% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Full time resource teacher
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anti-Bullying Awareness Club
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Fashion Design
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Recycling club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Blue, White, Red
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
20
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
30

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$8000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Application fee
Yes. $75.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. John's College High School
Georgetown Visitation
Gonzaga
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3825 Klingle Pl, NW
Washington, DC 20016
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 362-1408

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Sidwell Friends School
Washington, DC


Mann Elementary School
Washington, DC


Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT