Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School 5

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
As a parent who has sent 3 daughters to Visitation, I have borne witness to some of the strengths and weaknesses of this institution. Strengths: rigorous education (your child will be prepared for college), interesting and talented teachers, strong sports programs, vibrant theater department, beloved traditions, beautiful campus. Weaknesses: strong alumni bias, poor administration/parent/teacher communication, stressful environment for students regardless of their academic/sports abilities, grade deflation, too little emphasis on non-performing arts. Overall, however, I have been impressed with the results - poised, analytical, well-informed, morally grounded young women. Prepare to be dazzled by your daughter and her classmates at a very moving graduation ceremony.

Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School 1

Posted May 21, 2014
- a student
This school is the most stressful learning environment I know of. It is unnecessary to make teenage girls feel this horrible about themselves. I am crying over the workload almost every night, and my teachers do not help. I want to transfer every day, and I would if my parents weren't so heart set on this "fine academy." Do not come here, no matter how hard the faculty may try to lure you in. I am smart and highly capable, but this institution has made me feel anything but. Take this as a warning.


Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a student
This is a dream school. The girls are bright, focused, and friendly. There is absolutely no bullying. Being intelligent is considered cool. Teachers are involved with the students. Classes are challenging and interesting. The girls bond like I've never seen. At the dances, all of the girls and their dates remain classy. There is no drinking or drugs.

Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School 2

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
No single child is taking public transportation to this school.All are being dropped off by a driver in their luxury cars or limos. If you are middle class family or cannot afford a house around the school forget about registering your child here. Your child will feel isolated. School atmosphere is not heathy at all. This school is only for rich kids who has no single dreams in their future. Absolutely pathetic.

Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School 1

Posted April 19, 2013
- a teacher
Heinously elitist school culture. Absurd levels of parental involvement in academic and school life. GV does not make DC or America great.
1 person found this helpful


Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School 5

Posted October 14, 2012
- a parent
We could not be happier with this school. The girls are poised and bright; the academic environment is challenging; the teachers care about their subjects and their students; and the leadership from the administration seems very sound.

Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School 3

Posted December 26, 2011
- a parent
My daughter really seemed to blossom at this school. However, I found that the Religious aspect was surprisingly unsatisfactory. A religion teacher was very inappropriate towards certain students. Cussing, speaking of drugs (in a jokingly way), and not preparing them well enough for exams and tests. Other than this, the teachers are great, and the girls are sweet.

Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School 5

Posted March 06, 2011
- a parent
Beautiful campus, great people, and classy girls! As a mother of three, I have had to work hard for my children, like most parents do. When my daughter came home from shadowing she was in love with the school. I wanted nothing but the best for my daughter and didnt want her going to some snobby school. Visitation is the exact opposite! The teachers are delightful and very intelligent. The physics program is rigorous and probably the highlight of the freshman experience so far. The sports teams are phenomenal and the sports coach is in charge without being mean! Parents are darlings and there are NO bad apples. Overall, just an extremely delightful school and experience.


Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School 1

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
Visitation seems to be a school that is more about parents than about educating our children. I'd been forewarned that it has a very elitist attitude - and now I've seen it for myself. I don't see Catholic morals or values in their operations, so I wouldn't expect to see them in their classrooms either.

Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School 5

Posted July 25, 2009
- a parent
A great school that really watches out for your daughter. Great friends have been made and she loves the school, arriving early and staying late.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School
1524 35th St NW, Washington, DC  20007
(202) 337-3350
Last modified Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top