Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gonzaga College High School

Private | 9-12 | 965 students

We are best known for Educating Men for Others.
 
 

 
 

Living in Washington

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $386,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

I'm an alumnus, and not thrilled with the jock school that Gonzaga is today. When I attended in the 70's, the emphasis was academics, service then sports. Now it s completely the other way! Every week I get newsletters announcing another great sports win or an outstanding sport accomplishment with only one mention of academics over the past several months. Make sure your son gets on a sport program freshman year otherwise they will be marginalized. Did I say my upperclassman son has a 4.2+ GPA and is a misfit?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

I loved it as a student 30 years ago and found Penn fairly easy after four years on Eye Street. I love it as a dad today, dropping my son off at the subway every morning and debating him over dinner and on the weekends. Gonzaga's really a remarkable bit of grace for our family and for the District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

Many excellent teachers, long standing DC educational institution with decades of tradition. Located in the heart of our nation's capital, a unique experience traveling into an urban setting--certainly not the school bus stop experience.


Posted June 22, 2012

Gonzaga holds its head high in a geographical area highly competitive with notable "magnet" public schools and elite private schools. Its inner-city location affords students from the suburbs an opportunity to relate to others less fortunate than themselves, and as "men for others" they embrace various service projects which become a valuable part of their education. Much publicity is given to the success of Gonzaga's extensive sports programs, and perhaps the sports are the school's primary drawing force, especially when no cuts are made in some sports and every kid can find something to play. But this should not belittle the strong academic program, which includes a variety of elective courses, and the family atmosphere that permeates a dedicated faculty which takes a personal interest in their students' efforts both in and out of class time. In the coming year a new position -- Dean of Faculty -- has been created to ensure educational enrichment even more. More publicity could be given to Gonzaga'a many non-sports extracurricular activities that bring prestige to the school, such as Debating and Quiz Bowl clubs. Mostly, however, wherever, there's the joy on students' faces!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2012

I've only been at Gonzaga for about 6 months now; however, I am in love with it! Every single teacher and faculty member really do care about you. The athletics are very competitive, any sport you do will challenge you physically and mentally. As for academics, the academic aspect of Gonzaga is phenomenal. Also, the feeling of loyalty and community is like no other school. Unlike other schools, a freshmen can be great friends with a senior and vice versa. The ages don't make a difference and there is not an ounce of bullying. Everyone knows that they are at Gonzaga for the same reason and every student wants to make the next class feel just as they did. Also, the loyalty to the school is fantastic. Many students attend as many athletic events as they can whether is tennis, football, swimming, basketball etc. I wouldn't be surprised if half of all the clothing I own is Gonzaga related. Every student is proud to be there. Finally, the service and urban feeling of Gonzaga is unique to Gonzaga. I talk to friends from other schools and they say they have never been to chinatown, they have never been on the metro. DC is a wonderful city and Gonzaga gives kids a chance to explore it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2011

I love Gonzaga with all my heart and soul, I have only been here 2 years, entering my 3rd and the academics and sports of this school are exceeded by none. The spirit of this school is amazing and is a huge part of the schools intense brotherhood that forms! I love this school so much and will be tearful when I graduate! G-O-N-Z-A-G-A GO GONZAGA ALL THE WAY!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2011

Amazing school! Anyone who likes the rigorous academics, but also great sports has a place here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2009

I'm an alumnus of Gonzaga. I know firsthand that the academic program is first rate. Several of my teachers had at least one PhD. All of them were excellent. In senior year, the headmaster was our religion teacher. His profound insights about religion are comparable to Thomas Aquinas. The curriculum included four years of latin and religion, algebra with set theory, geometry, two years of calculus, two years of german, two years of physics, among others. I didn't appreciate the Gonzga education until I got to college, where I breezed through the first two years because most of it was a slight amplification of what I already knew. But the best part of it all is that they taught me to think for myself.


Posted November 9, 2009

My son chose Gonzaga, I didn't choose it for him. When I asked him why, his reply was, 'We don't have to worry about competing with or for girls and I'm pretty sure I'll be challenged academically.' As a parent I could not ask for more but Gonzaga gives it anyway...Gonzaga provides the environment for boys to become young men, responsible for themselves and others. I have never seen my son so excited to get out of the house and into school. Gonzaga is truly a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

I only taught at Gonzaga for one year, but it was one of the highlights of my entire academic career, most of which was spent at the college level. My students were bright (most with more than a passing knowledge of the classics) and raucous (I well remember seeing the Washington Monument bathed in purple light on the eve of the annual St. John's football scrum). The faculty were both dedicated and delightful, and the folks in the Headmaster's office ran a tight ship. What more could an aspiring English teacher want? When I left the cramped, crumbling walls of Gonzaga for the alluring charms of Chapel Hill, North Carolina, I knew there would always be a place in my mind for an unlikely urban oasis on North Capitol St.


Posted May 28, 2009

My son is a risng junior and we are plased with his experience and growth at Gonzaga. My son loves his school and his classmates and Ihe is challenged academically. Also, being a 'Man for Others' whichis the school's mantra, prepares him to identify and deal with challenges in his community and his fellow citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

Amazing school very fun and great sports and academics
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

I didn't decide to go to Gonzaga, but I cannot thank my parents enough for making me. It has truthfully changed my life for the better and I can't see myself anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2009

Working at Gonzaga is an increidble experience. I enjoy my career so much because the kids love to be there every day. Through interviewing the kids every day, there is a constant sens of loyalty, dedication to studies, and conraderie. While we are not perfect by any stretch of the means, it is a great place for young ment to become compassionate and strong citizens.


Posted February 22, 2009

Gonzaga is, bar-none, the best choice for most. My son applied to landon, g-prep, and st. albans (and of course, gonzaga). he was accepted into all four, but he chose gonzaga for the spirit and challenge. if you want your child to go to school at a pampered country club, send him to prep or landon. if you want him fluorish in a supportive and academically challenging environment and really become a 'man for others,' send him to gonzaga.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

My three sons, have been Gonzaga students. I chose the school for my oldest son, (in 1990), and quickly came to believe this is the best environment to help develop the minds of young men to be truly in service to others. The educational experience is second to none. The spiritual and psychological growth and maturity I have seen in my sons, have assisted us to prepared them well for transitioning into a world that sometimes require serious choices, an attitude of caring for others and the ability to succeed. My youngest who is currently enrolled, wanted to be an 'Eagle', from an early age because he learned from his brothers what being 'a man for others', truly means. I recommend to any parent who wants his/her son to have the best opportunity for success and he is willing to work hard- Gonzaga is the place for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

Gonzaga is a fine institution, and like any other educational facility, what one gets from it is in direct proportion to what one invests in it. However, like all institutions, it too has limitations. There is too much of a grade point fixation by the boys, and that leads to a level of competition that sometimes makes the boys consider cheating on tests and homework. Gonzaga does a reasonable job in trying to handle this, but it could use improvement. There is also a level of favoratism and politics (it is just three blocks from Congress - so this shouldn't be a surprise), and that means that not every kid gets an equal opportunity to participate in sports, clubs, and other activities. Does this make Gonzaga bad - no. It means that it, like any of the other rated schools, has some nicks in it's halo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

Choosing Gonzaga College High School was for our son was the best decision ever. He has truly come into his own in 3 short years and the administration, teachers and coaches have been instrumental in our push for standards for him. If it was good enough for Maryland Governor, Martin O'Malley, then it's even better for all the young men enrolled there now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

No education will prepare your sons like the education they will receive at Gonzaga, plain and simple. It's much more than notebooks and chalkboards, its the entire experience that Jesuits have perfected for hundreds of years. These young men will leave with a real thirst for knowledge and a better understanding of themselves and those around them. What strikes me most about just how special Gonzaga is and what truly separates them from other great schools is their honest and true dedication in providing an enriched education to ALL young men, both rich and poor. I was one of those kids that Gonzaga took a chance on, not because they had to, not because it was good for PR, but, because it was the right and moral thing to do based on their faith that all children are God's children, both the affluent and the underprivileged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

All four of our sons have gone to the school, and all had a great experience. The academics are top notch, and the spirit of community and togetherness is unequaled. The retreat program makes the whole school experience special, and the boys recognize that. The emphasis on service goes beyond the lip-service or obligatory chore found in a lot of high schools. The opportunities for parental involvement are significant. It's a great place for boys to become men.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 7%
Black 12% 80%
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 7% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Special education 0%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Gonzaga students come from over 180 different grade schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 99% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Maryland
University of Virginia
Georgetown University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Greek
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • It's Academic
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • Rev. Vincent G. Conti, S.J.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • All boys
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (202) 336-7164

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Greek
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Squash
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Amnesty international
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French
  • It's Academic
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • SADD
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Purple, White
School mascot
  • Eagle
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
700
Students typically come from these schools
Gonzaga students come from over 180 different grade schools

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
We partner with outside organizations such as the ADW, CPE, BSF, LSF and OSP
Application fee
Yes. $35.
No fee waivers available

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Maryland
University of Virginia
Georgetown University
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 1%
4 year college - 99%
Military - 0%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19 Eye Street NW
Washington, DC 20001
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 336-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Albans School
Washington, DC


Dunbar High School
Washington, DC





Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT