Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Private
Washington, DC
Students enrolled: 965
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gonzaga College High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 14, 2015
- a community member
Great teachers during my time at Gonzaga in the mid-2000s. Many are still there. Teachers focus on more than teaching one subject. The best teachers at Gonzaga were focused on producing good people to send out into the world.

Gonzaga College High School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
Great camaraderie, kids with great attitudes, a very eclectic mix of teachers and students with different backgrounds, fantasitic sports program (top 25 in the country by Sports Illustrated), all boys, located near Union Square in DC


Gonzaga College High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
The jesuit teaching was often very effective, especially the more "strict" teachers. Sometimes the nicer ones were taken advantage of.

Gonzaga College High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
I can't remember feeling terribly overwhelmed in high school, so I'd say just the right amount

Gonzaga College High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
Gonzaga develops this qualities in a strong way not only through its ultra competitive sports programs but also through the collegial all-boys atmosphere


Gonzaga College High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
Goznaga absolutely develops a sense of respect. Teachers and students have a mutual respect for one another.

Gonzaga College High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
As a Jesuit school, these values are of uptmost importance, whether through volunteer work or the way teachers/students treat one another.

Gonzaga College High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
Gonzaga absolutely helps develop these qualities. Teachers really care about developing these qualities in students.


Gonzaga College High School 5

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
I am envious of my two sons' Gonzaga experience. I agree with the consensus in the previous reviews, but I'd highlight two things that aren't discussed enough: 1. Retreats. The Freshman retreat turned my oldest son from liking Gonzaga to loving it. He really bonded with his classmates. The Jr year Kairos experience was even more powerful. It got my son thinking about what kind of man he wanted to be. How could he serve others? How could he help his band of brothers? 2. School spirit. Go to any athletic competition and you'll feel it. Not just the purple clad, raucous student cheering section, but how the athletes overachieve. It was almost predictable to see the late game comeback. Or Gonzaga beating an athletically superior opponent. I think this is related to the brotherly bond that is formed in classrooms, in service projects, in retreats and yes, on the athletic fields. Gonzaga is a truly special place. I am proud to have given my boys a Gonzaga education. If you're considering Gonzaga, just go (if you get in). I guarantee that you will not be disappointed.

Gonzaga College High School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
I never attended Gonzaga but I knew I wanted my son to attend and he did. All I can say is I'm impressed with the rigorous academics and the volunteerism. The Jesuits motto is" Men for Others" . My son absolutely loves that school and his younger sibling is rocking the purple in anticipation of one day attending the Zag and becoming an Eagle. . The word of a parent who son graduated 2 years ago. "money well spent",

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gonzaga College High School
19 Eye Street NW, Washington, DC  20001
(202) 336-7100
Last modified Gonzaga College High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Gonzaga College High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top