Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Trinity School

Private | PK-8 | 300 students

Our school is best known for educating the whole child in the Jesuit tradition.
 
 

 

Living in Washington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $750,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2013

Holy Trinity School not only provides an education but also a community. My children, as well as my husband and I, have established wonderful friendships with the other families who attend the parish and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Holy Trinity School is where our three children attended. It is a great small catholic school K to 8 in Georgetown. The teachers are wonderful in the learning environment as well as teaching about faith and being a person for others. It is academically challenging and genuinely service oriented. Many more extra-curricular activities and programs have been added over the years which is great. The parents are very supportive and work well together to support the students, teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

We have put three children through Holy Trinity. We have the odd less-than-desireable teacher interaction, but 95% great teacher experience. You can (respectfully) voice concerns as a parent and you will be shown similar respect and concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

Holy Trinity offers a great education in a warm, caring environment with excellent teachers, involved parents, and well-rounded students. I have two children that are Holy Trinity School alums. After graduating from HTS, they both went on to attend great DC private schools. Some of my children's closest friends to this day are those they made at HTS. I highly recommend Holy Trinity School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

I read the rate on internet and want to know if you have a high school to enroll our daughter who will start grade 9 next academic year. pls reply asap. thanks, Aberash G.G. (mother)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

This is a great school if you are searching for an education that is focused on academic excellence and social justice. Holy Trinity is a jesuit based catholic school in the heart of Georgetown. Outstanding teachers, who love their jobs and where they work and a great family community and parish. Feel luck to be here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

This school has many gifts, but unfortunately continues to have a bullying problem, with no effective response from the school. A number of students have left in recent years due to bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

HTS is a fantastic school. It is very well rounded academically, socially, athletically etc. The kids are wonderful and so are the teachers. Its a perfect match for my daughter. The parents are also very involved in the school community. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

I have been going to this school for 10 years. It is my life, my home away from home. It is the best school I could've grown up with. It is a great school, very nice and educational. It rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

I just came to Holy Trinity but I think it's a great place to learn. It's also a lot of fun to learn there as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2008

We have 4 kids at HTS They love it and we love it. They are all now well read, well rounded and happy kids. The teachers are fantastic - the parents are very involved. It is a fun place, and a great commnity!!! It is like a big family - the kids care about the other kids, the parents care about all the kids. I am so glad we chose HTS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2008

Excellent teachers! The school also has a wonderful academic and religious program.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 7%
Black 10% 80%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: Manually entered by school official

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Special education 12%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/AN/A
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Catholic Relief Services' Operation Rice Bowl (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Charlie Hennessy
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jesuit/Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (202) 337-0368

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Rosetta Stone
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Washington
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Cross country
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Girl scouts
  • Lego Robotics
  • Underwater Robotics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School colors
  • blue, white
School mascot
  • Titan
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
53
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
122
Students typically come from these schools
American schools abroad
DC Public Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$12000 - $19000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Opportunity Scholarship
Application fee
Yes. $60.
Fee waivers available

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Georgetown Visitation
Gonzaga College High School
Georgetown Prep
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1325 36th Street NW
Washington, DC 20007
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 337-2339

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hardy Middle School
Washington, DC




Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT