Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Peter's Interparish School

Private | PK-8 | 220 students

We provide an education characterized by Catholic values and academic excellence

 
 

Living in Washington

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $499,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,320.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

St. Peter School is a true treasure & we are thrilled to have our 3 children here! SPS is a small Catholic school (PreK-8) located three blocks from the nation's Capitol. DOEd recently recognized St. Peter s greatness by naming it a National Blue Ribbon School. Caring teachers create an academically challenging learning environment with a holistic approach to ensure students gain a love of knowledge as well as strong character. We have been at St Peter School over 5 years now and we feel blessed to have this wonderful school and the community of life-long friendships that go along with it. If you are looking for a school to offer a great education in a warm, caring environment with excellent teachers, involved parents and well-rounded students then take a look at St. Peter School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

I'm a parent with three kids currently enrolled at St. Peter School. Our oldest child has been at St. Peter School for seven years. We couldn't be happier with the outstanding academic education our children are receiving, as well as the strong moral grounding they get from a Catholic-based education. The principal, teachers and faculty are top notch, and the parent community is committed and engaged. We are grateful to have this special school in our Capitol Hill neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

St. Peter School is an amazing community of dedicated teachers, a strong administration, supportive parents and dynamic students from top to bottom. A faith based education that leads to the top area Catholic High Schools including Gonzaga, Visitation, St. Johns, Dematha and Elizabeth Seton to name a few. Students leave St. Peter School well prepared for high school, are grounded in their faith and strong in their academic grade school basics. Its the longest running Catholic Grade School in Washington DC and you can see the Capitol Dome from the top floor- its a pretty amazing place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

This school is phenominal. We could not be more pleased. St. Pete's recently won the Blue Ribbon Award by the Department of Education (very prestigious acknowledgement of quality only given to exceptional schools). The teachers, the administration, and the school community as a whole is very welcoming and all pulling in the same direction for our children. I genuinely thank God for St. Pete's, we were very worried about raising our daughter on Capitol Hill with the school situation so confusing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

We have been a part of this school community for 7 years. It has been a real gift for our entire family. Our children are challenged academically -- the teachers are top notch, the resources available to the kids are cutting edge, and the school's proximity to myriad learning opportunities in the Washington DC/Capitol Hill area make it an extraordinary learning experience. But academics are not the only thing St. Peter School has going for it. It is a spiritually robust environment that fosters a real sense of connectedness to God, to fellow students, and to community. When you walk through the halls of St. Peter School you hear laughter, you hear conversations and lessons in which the kids are really invested, you see the kids exhibiting an eagerness to learn, helping one another, and you sense a confidence among the kids that they are securely planted in a loving and supportive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today recognized St. Peter School as a 2013 National Blue Ribbon School!!! St. Peter School was nationally recognized as Exemplary High Performing, a category in which private schools are recognized among the nation s highest performing schools. This award reflects our commitment to high standards and climate of high expectations; the outstanding dedication and talent of our faculty and staff; and the positive work ethic of our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I'm a current parent with 2 children at St. Peter School. Every year we are happier and more confident in our family's choice to send our children here. The faculty, staff and families actively work together to create a supportive school community. High expectations, strong parent support and motivated students are the norm for St. Peter School. This year, St. Peter's was awarded a national Blue Ribbon for exemplary high performance, further evidence that this school is one of the best in the entire country. We are incredibly thankful that our children have the opportunity to attend St. Peter School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

I currently have a student at St. Peter school and one who graduated several years ago. I am extremely happy with the education that they both have received and certainly my older child was well prepared going off to high school. St. Peter's community is strong and the current teacher base is a very strong group of educators. They truly teach the standards required while providing a values based education. The results speak for themselves, self-confident, respectful and strong students. The school administrators have brought in a great deal of technology and also made physical plant improvements to help the students have a safe and very "current" learning environment. Parental involvement is key to the success of this program with fundraising and commitment to help out where we can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

St. Peter School is an Incredible School. I have two children in St. Peter School in the lower grades. Our family has found it to be an outstanding school for them to learn and gain a high quality education in a loving and caring environment. The teachers, administration, and faculty all are laser focused on making our children smarter, well rounded individuals in a safe environment. The academics are well refined for the students and each child is challenged according to their level and abilities. Our family has also found the additional benefit that the school is as much about academics as it is also a "community". The friendships and bonds across families are incredible and it has been a very friendly/welcoming environment for us as in our 4 years at the school. It should be noted that the school has gone through a transformation starting 6 years ago with a new principal and administration. The change has been significantly for the better from what we have seen. We would not want our children in another school on Capitol Hill nor anywhere else for that matter. If you are looking for a good school for a child this would be a great place to start your search.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

St. Peter School provides an excellent education for the whole child - mind, body and spirit. It's a small, close knit community that cares for one another -- a little slice of Mayberry in a big city. My kids have been students for 5+ years at SPS and have benefited from excellent teachers, engaging curriculum and all the "extras" that seem to be vanishing from other schools -- PE, Health Class, Music and Art. Most of the teachers have a true love of and gift for the profession; watching them is amazing and my children have grown to love learning. The school administration is excellent upgrading technology and the academics constantly. We consider ourselves to be a very fortunate family to belong to such a terrific community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

My family has been at St. Peter School for five years. The curriculum is strong and the standards are high. The environment is energetic. The faith-based culture is nurturing, and the community of parents and students is vibrant. St. Peter School is a wonderful place to give your child an outstanding and well-rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

Our children are enrolled in kindergarten and pre-k at St. Peter, and we couldn't be happier. The environment is nurturing, positive, and consistent - which we value greatly for young children. Through programs like Student Families and Safety Patrol, older and younger children get to know one another. This provides the older kids with tremendous leadership opportunities while modeling good behavior for the little ones. The little ones feel safe, respected, and empowered working with older children (a unique opportunity made possible by the pre-k-8 range). From an academic perspective, our pre-k child enjoys the center-based curriculum that is anchored in play and socializing, while our kindergartner is ready for the excitement of advancing toward literacy and math skills. St. Peter School has made huge strides in the last few years to deepen science, math, and technology offerings, and those changes are having an impact on even the youngest students - just yesterday my son was wide-eyed talking about measurement! Finally, as practicing Catholics, our family has appreciated the organic way that religion - and the value of being a good, thoughtful person - is integrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

St. Peter Interparish. My child went to this school and it is somewhat overrated. Most of the teachers are beginning teachers with limited experience. Class instruction is jumbled and home work is poorly defined resulting in parents having to scramble around to find out the assignments. School has an excellent reputation however that reputation does not describe the current administration. I would choose another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

St. Peter School provides an excellent education to elementary and middle school students. The parent/teacher/school community is one of the most active and supportive I have ever seen. I have two children there who are doing very well both academically and socially as a result of the wonderful teachers and staff along with the involvement of the parent community to provide a strong learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

St. Peter's is all and more than what I had hoped for in an elementary school for my daughter. From the very start I was pleased with St. Peter's and four years later I couldn't be more satisfied. Each year I have witnessed significant improvements, the most important is our new principal, Mrs. Jennifer Ketchum and our new pastor, Father William Byrne. The leadership both have demonstrated conveys strength of conviction, dedication to academic excellence, and a committment to improving all facets of the school. In addition to a strong administration, St. Peter's has a talented and committed faculty. We just had parent/teacher conferences and I have never enjoyed such a thorough review of my daughter's progress. Parental involvement in their child's education is a proven factor in his or her success; you couldn't find a closer and more committed group of parents than the one at St. Peter's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

It's a new school year and Mrs. Ketchum, the principal, really patched it up well. There's tons of new young teachers who know what to do and how to do it. It really is a great school. I get a great education, and I know everyone here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2009

I love it here, I have praticipated in the school musical! Which really helped me get over my shyness, and learn how to sing. I have so many friends in so many different classes. Since the school is so cozy and small, I know everyone in the school. I learn more than five things each day. Go!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2009

St. Peter's has a very loyal following and a long and durable tradition on Capitol Hill. It is a classic, small Catholic school in a cramped urban setting. So it doesn't have a gym, or vast playgrounds, or much in the way of amenities. What it does have is community and a strong cadre of devoted teachers and parents. At a very reasonable price, the school manages to educate hundreds of kids every year who go on to great high schools and colleges and to prosper in their adult life. It is also a school almost entirely absent of controversy of any kind, which is saying a lot in itself. With few exceptions, the students are well-mannered and respectful. And the school's new principal, Ms. Ketchum, is top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

My son recently graduated from St. Peter's, and on the whole I was quite displeased. Some of the teachers were excellent, but their skills were offset by the poor behavior of other teachers. The administration was poorly operated, with little direction or supervision of teachers AND students. I would not recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

I am very displeased with St. Peter's. It seems that the children's education does not come first at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 7%
Black 17% 80%
Two or more races 10% N/A
Hispanic 4% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: Manually entered by school official

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Special education 5%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/AN/A
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Regional Science Bowl (2011)
  • Regional Science Bowl (2012)
  • Regional Science Bowl (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Ketchum
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • CEC
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Dance club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School colors
  • navy, white
School mascot
  • panthers
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Application fee
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Catholic High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

422 3rd St SE
Washington, DC 20003
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 544-1618

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Eagle Center -McGogney
Washington, DC



Richard Wright PCS
Washington, DC


Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT