Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


St. Peter's Interparish School 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
I agree with many of the recent reviews. St. Peter s is an outstanding school that is academically challenging and doesn t just educate the children s minds, but nurtures their spirit. The entire faculty is fully invested in the children and they are constantly striving to make the school and academic experience even better. A few items to highlight: 1) 2013 Blue Ribbon Award winner; 2) Student Families (a student family is one kid from each grade K-8) these families are tasked with service projects. It allows older students to mentor and younger students someone to look up to - while teaching the importance of giving back to the community. 3) St Peter s has good families that raise good kids. Less time teaching respect and dealing with behavioral issues means more time focusing on educating. You have never met a more polite student body. 4) The school is just getting started. The relatively new leadership of the school puts a real emphasis on continuous improvement. 5) Value you won t find a better school in DC and the cost, especially when compared with other local schools, provides exceptional value.

St. Peter's Interparish School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
St. Peter's is a small Catholic school with excellent academics and a strong community. Our two children get individualized attention and everyone in the school knows their names. There is a robust accelerated reading program, a competitive science fair, and math and geography bees. Our oldest daughter is active in the school's music programs and is looking forward to the next spring musical and her ability to participate in the drama production this year. There is regular physical education and time for outdoor play. The thing we enjoy most is the strong grounding in faith, the emphasis on community service and social justice in the student families program, and the connection to the church.


St. Peter's Interparish School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
High academic standards, great little school community, caring teachers, in a unique Capitol Hill neighborhood, St Peter's is a true DC treasure. It has a values-infused culture inspired by its Catholic faith, and it doesn't shy away from that culture. Your child will emerge from St Peter's with a solid education, but just as importantly, an exceptional character. Highly recommended.

St. Peter's Interparish School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent of three at St Peter School and we love the holistic education that our kids are receiving. It starts with the academics, which have improved significantly over the past 5 year culminating in St Peter being awarded a DOE Blue Ribbon School designation last year. This is awarded to only 50 private schools nationwide each year. But more importantly, St Peter's teachers and staff educate the whole person with a focus on making our kids good and decent human beings. It really does feel like a family.

St. Peter's Interparish School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent of three at St Peter School and we love the holistic education that our kids are receiving. It starts with the academics, which have improved significantly over the past 5 year culminating in St Peter being awarded a DOE Blue Ribbon School designation last year. This is awarded to only 50 private schools nationwide each year. But more importantly, St Peter's teachers and staff educate the whole person with a focus on making our kids good and decent human beings. It really does feel like a family.


St. Peter's Interparish School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
St. Peter School is a true treasure & we are thrilled to have our 3 children here! SPS is a small Catholic school (PreK-8) located three blocks from the nation's Capitol. DOEd recently recognized St. Peter s greatness by naming it a National Blue Ribbon School. Caring teachers create an academically challenging learning environment with a holistic approach to ensure students gain a love of knowledge as well as strong character. We have been at St Peter School over 5 years now and we feel blessed to have this wonderful school and the community of life-long friendships that go along with it. If you are looking for a school to offer a great education in a warm, caring environment with excellent teachers, involved parents and well-rounded students then take a look at St. Peter School.

St. Peter's Interparish School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
I'm a parent with three kids currently enrolled at St. Peter School. Our oldest child has been at St. Peter School for seven years. We couldn't be happier with the outstanding academic education our children are receiving, as well as the strong moral grounding they get from a Catholic-based education. The principal, teachers and faculty are top notch, and the parent community is committed and engaged. We are grateful to have this special school in our Capitol Hill neighborhood!

St. Peter's Interparish School 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
St. Peter School is an amazing community of dedicated teachers, a strong administration, supportive parents and dynamic students from top to bottom. A faith based education that leads to the top area Catholic High Schools including Gonzaga, Visitation, St. Johns, Dematha and Elizabeth Seton to name a few. Students leave St. Peter School well prepared for high school, are grounded in their faith and strong in their academic grade school basics. Its the longest running Catholic Grade School in Washington DC and you can see the Capitol Dome from the top floor- its a pretty amazing place.


St. Peter's Interparish School 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
This school is phenominal. We could not be more pleased. St. Pete's recently won the Blue Ribbon Award by the Department of Education (very prestigious acknowledgement of quality only given to exceptional schools). The teachers, the administration, and the school community as a whole is very welcoming and all pulling in the same direction for our children. I genuinely thank God for St. Pete's, we were very worried about raising our daughter on Capitol Hill with the school situation so confusing.

St. Peter's Interparish School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
We have been a part of this school community for 7 years. It has been a real gift for our entire family. Our children are challenged academically -- the teachers are top notch, the resources available to the kids are cutting edge, and the school's proximity to myriad learning opportunities in the Washington DC/Capitol Hill area make it an extraordinary learning experience. But academics are not the only thing St. Peter School has going for it. It is a spiritually robust environment that fosters a real sense of connectedness to God, to fellow students, and to community. When you walk through the halls of St. Peter School you hear laughter, you hear conversations and lessons in which the kids are really invested, you see the kids exhibiting an eagerness to learn, helping one another, and you sense a confidence among the kids that they are securely planted in a loving and supportive community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.

Find the great schools in Washington Dc


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Peter's Interparish School
422 3rd St SE, Washington, DC  20003
(202) 544-1618
Last modified St. Peter's Interparish School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Peter's Interparish School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews.