Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas More Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 146 students

Our pride is excellent, our spirit is commitment.

 

Living in Washington

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $117,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2011

My daughter is planning on a ttending this school next year after reading these profiles I believe that I made a great choice. So far I had been impressed with what they had did as far as enrolling my child into school. I havent yet met the Principal but I heard alot of great things about her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

My son has been attending St. Thomas More Catholic Academy as it is now called since the 2nd grade and he is now in the 5th grade. I have been extremely satisfied with the school, teachers, principle and the curriculum. The teachers are just excellent. They are extremely dedicated to ensuring our kids receive the best education possible. They go above and beyond what is asked of them and they make learning fun and challenging so that the kids want to come to school and they want to learn. My son enjoys attending the school and has such a passion for learning and excelling in school. He set a goal at the start of the school year to get perfect attendance and straight A's and he has accomplished his goals. I am very proud of him and proud to be a part of the STM family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2010

I have to agree with the last review. I have three children that attend that school and they all get treated iffernetly. The lady principal caters only to home assocation parent children. Alot of the parents took there child out the school so that should tell you somethin. I would not recommend either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

St. Thomas is an excellent academy! My daughter loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

I am delighted to be a part of the STM community. Mr. Graham and the entire staff truly cares about my child. I am satisfied with the high level of academic services I am getting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

St Thomas Moore School is a great School my son been going since the kindergarten and now he is attending the 4Th grade. The quality of the school is great when it come to your childs education. I like to think each of my son teacher who taught my son Gerald they did a great job challege him with his learning he has been a A student all four years I give all of you 5 stars. I like to thank the Principal Mr Graham for the love he put in all the students at the school. My son love him so much. Thanks for all your help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 99%
Hispanic 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
White 0%
Source: Manually entered by school official

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Special education 0%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Step team

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Step team

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Bridget Coates
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Fax number
  • (202) 562-2336

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • After school programs
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Band
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Dance Ministry
  • Step team
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Red and Gray
School mascot
  • Pirate
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
146
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
175
Students typically come from these schools
Hart MS
DC Public and Charter
Other Area Catholic Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Application fee
Yes. $50.
No fee waivers available

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Archbishop Carrol HS
Gonzaga
Bishop McNamara
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4265 4th St SE
Washington, DC 20032
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 561-1189

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT