Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


National Presbyterian School 5

Posted February 08, 2013
- a parent
We have been at NPS for almost 4 years now and feel so incredibly fortunate that our son is part of such a warm, nurturing and loving community. He absolutely adores all his teachers. In addition to the gifted loving homeroom teachers, he has numerous specials teachers (music, drama, PE, spanish, library, etc) who all know and geninely care for him. Why are we at NPS? 1) My son is so very happy there 2) Spanish teacher is amazing and spanish is taught beginiing in kindergarten. 3) The reading and math programs are evidenced based. The school has reading and math specialists overseeing and teaching those programs and the children are broken in to small groups (4-5) children where wonderful learning occurs. 3) Small class sizes. 4) Solid evidenced based curriculum 5) Talented and Gifted faculty and staff 6) Mr Neill, the School Head is absolutely wonderful 7) After school program is unbelievably accomodating and staffed with top notch individuals and programs.. If you have something come up, you just call and your child is taken care of . 8) Parents Association hosts numerous events throughout the year. I could write so much more but out of characters.

National Presbyterian School 5

Posted January 18, 2013
- a parent
We have two daughters at NPS with a combined 15 years of schooling and we could not be more thrilled. With a very deliberate focus on elementary education, the school gives kids a great foundation. It is above all warm and nurturing. All the teachers are first rate and incredibly dedicated and caring. Everyone is approachable and responsive and the sense of community is quite heart-warming. We love that they really live the core values of Love, Honesty, Respect, Safety and Responsibility. Our girls, while very different, have both thrived academically and socially. It has been a second home for our family and we will be sad to move on! If you are considering private schools, we highly recommend NPS. It is indeed a very special place.


National Presbyterian School 5

Posted September 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

National Presbyterian School 5

Posted August 20, 2007
- a parent
NPS combines rigorous academics with a warm and caring community; it is a very special school.

National Presbyterian School 4

Posted August 08, 2005
- a parent
Out son attended PreK at NPS. We found the school to have a caring community that focused on early-childhood education. We liked the friends our son made, as well as their families. His teacher was exceptionally creative and made learning fun by using puppets, drama and games. We also liked the firm structure the school provided for our son. His class size was 11 and many caring staff members were always contributing to his education - from the headmaster to the rest-time supervisor - they knew his name and he felt comfortable and secure in the school setting. The specials, such as music, pe and science were excellent and he enjoyed participating in them twice a week. NPS was an excellent choice for our son.


National Presbyterian School 5

Posted October 09, 2004
- a parent
My son is in 6th grade at NPS (class of '05) and has been there since grade 1. His well rounded education - academic, athletic, artistic and spiritual - has been nothing short of superb. NPS is a wonderful, challenging, nurturing, school. Its young graduates are sought by the finest independent schools. It is not inexpensive. But if you have the financial means and are considering a private school for your little one, you could do no better than National Presbyterian.

National Presbyterian School 5

Posted June 18, 2004
- a parent
My daughter now reads way above her level. This is a great nurturing school. They teach children to love each other my daughter has many friend in all the grades. What would make this school better is if they enforced more discipline. They also have lots of after school classes too.

National Presbyterian School 5

Posted December 16, 2003
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

National Presbyterian School
4121 Nebraska Ave NW, Washington, DC  20016
(202) 537-7500
Last modified National Presbyterian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
National Presbyterian School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top