Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

6-12|Private
300 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Edmund Burke School 5

Posted April 19, 2016
- a community member
Burke is a wonderfully excepting community. The teachers are great and they actually want to help the students succeed. 10/10 Would attend again.

Edmund Burke School 5

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
We love Burke! The parents and teachers and classes are great. The location is perfect, and the kids...smart and upbeat.


Edmund Burke School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
Burke has a great balance of academics and steering students towards more critical thinking (along with strong arts and fun sports teams)

Edmund Burke School 5

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
My daughter adores Burke! She is happy just being herself, is excited about what goes on in her classes, loves her teachers (well, almost all of them - she is a teenager,) and is becoming an independent, self-motivated, knowledgeable and civic-minded young lady. We love the urban location, the vibrant and inclusive community, the AMAZING arts program and the high academic standards. What a great school!

Edmund Burke School 5

Posted July 03, 2013
- a community member
The Edmund Burke School is, in my opinion, the perfect atmosphere for students to learn and grow as individuals. For me, a former student, Burke was the place that gave me a feeling of comfort that few places ever could. I truly grew into my own as person with the aid of the instructors and my fellow students. The sense of community is palpable when you step into the building and nothing can replace that. I mention all of this and will move to the most important aspect, the education. Burke prepared me for college in a way that can only be appreciated now that I am in college. Thanks to the progressive type of education you receive at Burke, the transition to a college workload is made easily and seamlessly. In short, Burke is a place that I consider almost a second home that shaped my life in more ways than I can express in a short written statement.


Edmund Burke School 5

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
I am a Graphic Design teacher @ Burke and the parent of two alums. My son graduated in 2007 and my daughter in 2011. Burke is a unique place. Students there vary widely in the breadth of their abilities. But a consistent aspect of the students there, is how multifaceted each student is. An example is a 2013 graduate who not only was able to take multiple AP classes, be a talented photographer, able to play pretty much any musical instrument, plus sing in the Spring Musical. Ah, an outlier you say. Nope. While all students may not have that many abilities, there are many that do. Almost all have at least two strengths in very different areas, whether it is Athletics, Academics, Arts, or Social Service. Academics are tough at Burke. Arts are college level. Commitment to community is extraordinary. Athletics are inclusive. Student - Teacher relationships are collegial which is VERY helpful in the transition to college. Students are taught how to think critically, and write very well. My daughter says that Burke taught her how she herself learns. My only complaint is that the students know my dog's name better than mine.

Edmund Burke School 5

Posted December 23, 2012
- a parent
A great place for high academic standards AND development of a student's personal/individual potential. A wonderful balance between intellectual discipline and exploratory freedom.

Edmund Burke School 4

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
Burke allows a student to be him/her self. They allow ones strengths to flourish while developing any weaknesses. Burke does not generalize , they work individually with the person you are or strive to become. Burke builds confidence and self assurance in all students.


Edmund Burke School 1

Posted January 08, 2012
- a community member
this school is so small that friend options are very limeted. If you are not liked, you are teased by everyone

Edmund Burke School 5

Posted March 09, 2011
- a parent
Burke is a terrific school that looks at each student as an individual. We have two students who graduated from Burke who were very different from each other academically, socially, and temperamentally. Each thrived because each was given what she needed to succeed. Both were well prepared for college and graduate school and continue to visit their teachers when they are in DC

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edmund Burke School
4101 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Washington, DC  20008
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (202) 362-8882
Last modified Edmund Burke School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top