Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-8
Private
Washington, DC
Students enrolled: 225
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sheridan School 5

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
Sheridan has been an incredible experience for our children. It is caring, nurturing, and extremely child focused - things that make it a safe place for our kids to try new things, stretch themselves, and explore complex ideas and concepts. We have had wonderful experiences with teachers in every grade so far who care about our children as people and learners. From languages to art to science, they work to engage each kid where they are and stretch their limits. If you are considering Sheridan, I encourage you to go to an open house and talk to one of the 8th graders - the best measure of a school's success. You will be blown away by their maturity and poise, and by the fact that they are truly well-balanced, kind, thoughtful human beings. Both my daughters look up to the older kids at the school and feel connected to and supported by them. It is a real community, not snobby, not racist, not quirky. Take the negative posts with a real grain of salt - and go visit and see for yourself. It is an amazing place.

Sheridan School 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Completely supportive of all types of children and families, academically challenging, with a focus on social/emotional development. We could not have asked for a better environment. Everyone knows my child so she will never get lost. Attentive teachers and administration who view parents as partners in their child's academic success.


Sheridan School 5

Posted April 13, 2012
- a parent
This school has been wonderful for my daughter. She has come out of her shell and gain so much confidence. She loves the close knit community. This is a great school for those looking for a small, nurturing and creative environment.

Sheridan School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sheridan School 5

Posted September 09, 2009
- a student
Sheridan is an amazing school. I am now in my 9th year there, as for the people says kids have 'social problems' is far from the truth the community is strong. The headmaster is kind and caring to every child there. The staff is kind and wants you to succeed. We are not a sit down, be quiet school. We are a friendly school focused on every member of the school. I think that this is a great school it may be small but it's a great school


Sheridan School 0
no rating

Posted June 21, 2009
- a parent
sheridan is a creative, nuturing, inspiring, and academically challenging environment where each child is allowed to develop as an individual while becoming an integral part of the overall school community. Our child thrived in her kindergarten year and loves her school, teachers, and friends. Our only complaint would be the food service, which is too rushed and offers too many processed alternatives to the regular well-balanced lunch menu and too many junky snacks during recess and after school - there is no financial opt out for parents who would rather pack lunch and snacks. However, this same source caters some of the other independent schools in the area, so that issue should not be a large factor in decisionmaking.
1 person found this helpful

Sheridan School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2009
- a parent
Sheridan is a great place to school. There are fabulous teachers, fantastic learning techniques, and great people. It is a cute little school with lots of wonderful people and great teaching.
1 person found this helpful

Sheridan School 5

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
Our daughter has been at Sherican for 1.5 years now (all of K and half of her first grade year) and my nephew and niece each attended Sheridan for 9 year (K-8). We really have nothing but good things to say about the schhoo.nothing bo
1 person found this helpful


Sheridan School 5

Posted December 20, 2007
- a teacher
I am a former teacher at Sheridan School who is still somewhat involved in the school. In the past seven years or so, Sheridan has progressed from being a very good school to a truly outstanding school. Over the last five years, the school has been implementing an action plan based on its self-study for accreditation with the Association of Independent Maryland Schools. As a result of the intellectually-charged, reflective, and highly motivated faculty implementing this action plan, Sheridan has honed its very strong curriculum, updated its facility, and made many other improvements to what was already a very good school. I would agree with the previous poster's final clause--talk to parents, and visit the school. It's a magical place. As for the poster's other comments, I don't understand them. The school is not strange and quirky, and the teachers are uniformly caring. Sheridan is definitely worth a look.
1 person found this helpful

Sheridan School 2

Posted November 11, 2007
- a parent
I believe that Sheridan School has outlived its reputation. There seem to be a large number of students with behavioral or social problems. Fundraising seemed to be the first priority of the administration. We got the impression from other parents that your treatment at the school is highly dependent on your level of contribution. The Art and Science programs are sources of frequent complaints by parents. We found the overall curriculum to be very fuzzy and ill defined. Your child will be greeted by name every day by the Head of School with a big pasted on smile and may be given 'high fives' by their teachers, but beneath the surface, many of the teachers do not seem particularly caring or nurturing. This is a strange and quirky school, and I would suggest speaking in depth to quite a few parents before even considering it for your child.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sheridan School
4400 36th St NW, Washington, DC  20008
(202) 362-7900
Last modified Sheridan School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Sheridan School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top