Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

K-8|Private
225 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sheridan School 5

Posted June 03, 2016
- a parent
We found Sheridan almost by accident but in the end we're quite happy we did. As two dads we were not sure what to expect but the true commitment to diversity at the school is very impressive. Not that they have it perfect -they don't - but they are willing to have tough conversations and look beyond band aid solutions. Academically, I am still working to understand the nuance behind the term "progressive education" but what I see is a school that focuses on teaching kids how to think. We were super impressed by the approach to math - it's not just rote memorization (although there is some). I even learned to think about math differently because of it. The school has been having some great discussions about the future. I was very pleased to see that as part of the strategic planning process both feeder and destination schools were interviewed and the overall opinion of Sheridan was very high. Although our family is not thinking about high school yet, it's great to know that the Sheridan kids are sought after for their maturity and their inquisitive approach to learning. In addition to the very warm and safe school environment, we found that our son LOVES the after school activities as well. From Karate to breakdance to "future makers" he's enjoyed it all. Overall, we've loved our Sheridan experience so far. We've become fond of the kids, the staff, the parents and the overall community.

Sheridan School 5

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
Our son loves Sheridan and so do my husband and I. Sheridan School offers a progressive curriculum which is helping our son become a more critical thinker. Sheridan also offers a safe, caring and inclusive school environment. The teachers are great! They're highly educated, great at communicating the weekly class assignments (via the class blog) and are always available to give us advice and/or updates on his progress. Sheridan has been a great fit, not just for our son, but also for our family.mar


Sheridan School 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Sheridan is a great school with a wonderful community of parents, teachers and staff. It has been a joy to watch our daughter blossom and grow academically and socially. She is an environment where she feels safe and her confidence has increased as a result. I cannot say enough about the wonderful teachers and the joy they bring to learning. It is a wonderful feeling when your child says she loves school and looks forward to going every day.

Sheridan School 5

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
Sheridan has been an incredible experience for our children. It is caring, nurturing, and extremely child focused - things that make it a safe place for our kids to try new things, stretch themselves, and explore complex ideas and concepts. We have had wonderful experiences with teachers in every grade so far who care about our children as people and learners. From languages to art to science, they work to engage each kid where they are and stretch their limits. If you are considering Sheridan, I encourage you to go to an open house and talk to one of the 8th graders - the best measure of a school's success. You will be blown away by their maturity and poise, and by the fact that they are truly well-balanced, kind, thoughtful human beings. Both my daughters look up to the older kids at the school and feel connected to and supported by them. It is a real community, not snobby, not racist, not quirky. Take the negative posts with a real grain of salt - and go visit and see for yourself. It is an amazing place.

Sheridan School 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Completely supportive of all types of children and families, academically challenging, with a focus on social/emotional development. We could not have asked for a better environment. Everyone knows my child so she will never get lost. Attentive teachers and administration who view parents as partners in their child's academic success.


Sheridan School 5

Posted April 13, 2012
- a parent
This school has been wonderful for my daughter. She has come out of her shell and gain so much confidence. She loves the close knit community. This is a great school for those looking for a small, nurturing and creative environment.

Sheridan School 5

Posted September 09, 2009
- a student
Sheridan is an amazing school. I am now in my 9th year there, as for the people says kids have 'social problems' is far from the truth the community is strong. The headmaster is kind and caring to every child there. The staff is kind and wants you to succeed. We are not a sit down, be quiet school. We are a friendly school focused on every member of the school. I think that this is a great school it may be small but it's a great school

Sheridan School
no rating

Posted June 21, 2009
- a parent
sheridan is a creative, nuturing, inspiring, and academically challenging environment where each child is allowed to develop as an individual while becoming an integral part of the overall school community. Our child thrived in her kindergarten year and loves her school, teachers, and friends. Our only complaint would be the food service, which is too rushed and offers too many processed alternatives to the regular well-balanced lunch menu and too many junky snacks during recess and after school - there is no financial opt out for parents who would rather pack lunch and snacks. However, this same source caters some of the other independent schools in the area, so that issue should not be a large factor in decisionmaking.


Sheridan School
no rating

Posted May 10, 2009
- a parent
Sheridan is a great place to school. There are fabulous teachers, fantastic learning techniques, and great people. It is a cute little school with lots of wonderful people and great teaching.

Sheridan School 5

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
Our daughter has been at Sherican for 1.5 years now (all of K and half of her first grade year) and my nephew and niece each attended Sheridan for 9 year (K-8). We really have nothing but good things to say about the schhoo.nothing bo

Nearby schools

Sheridan School
4400 36th Street NW, Washington, DC  20008
(202) 362-7900
Last modified Sheridan School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top