Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Maret School

Private | K-12 | 635 students

 
 

 

Living in Washington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $579,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2012

Maret was the best thing that ever happened to me. Coming from a public school, I had no idea what to expect. With many affluent classmates, I thought I would stick out as that was not my background. This is a learning environment like no other. Students, faculty and staff alike made me feel safe, special, and a vital part of the Maret community. I'm 6'3" and I still remember the little kindergarteners running in between my legs on the way to class. Those kids are now grown men and women now who are some of my best and most loyal friends in the world. With such a stellar reputation and the exclusivity of such a private learning environment, you would think it could be stifling and rigid, but that's exactly what Maret is not. You learn to seemlessly mesh with all races, nationalities, religions, etc...and it's not forced at Maret. That just doesn't happen at many places---maybe on a college campus but not in a lower, middle or high school environment. The teachers have all been there for decades but their teaching styles and techniques are all individualized, not stale. If you want to learn and grow as a person too, there is no place like the Maret School.


Posted September 15, 2011

I cannot say enough good things about Maret. This is a challenging school run by expert educators who are dedicated to being sure each and every child reach his/her potential. We transferred from St Albans to Maret and felt like our son had been emancipated from an overload of "drill and Kill" homework to class assignments and discussions that were designed to really teach children new skills and become more creative and thoughtful. At Maret they really teach kids to love learning , respect each other, and rise to meet new challenges. In addition, the place is culturally an incredibly nice community where students are comfortable working closely with teachers and respect/ admire their peers rather than seeing them as "competition".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

My daughter is at Maret (MS) and we are really really happy. The school's teachers and families are amazing and the progressive/ free spirit education values that Maret School promotes, are simply spectacular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

Outstanding school that combines both accademic and educational excellence with a supportive and humane environment. Teachers are creative and enthusiastic in their approach to each student. Our daughter has been at the school for 5 years and we have yet to hear a complaint about a teacher or class from her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2010

My son was a "lifer" (attended from kindergarten through 12th grade) and loved it. There is a clear sense of community and respect for individuality. It has a very strong academic focus, yet the atmosphere is cooperative rather than competitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

My doughter is in 4th grade and has been there since kindergarten.She really likes to be with the older and the younger kids. The quality of the instruction is very high. There is an interdisciplinary approach to learning that works well towards educating well rounded children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

I go to Maret and I love it. you know everyone in the school, except for maybe a couple people, But you even know the people in high school. If you have trouble during the day, the teachers devote the extra time they have to us, the students. They are very patient and very polite. Most the teachers our very nice and they become your best friends. You end up having a great relationship with the teachers and everyone else there. I love Maret!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2009

Maret is a phenomenal school. It has taught me to strive for the best as well as seek knowledge in every facet of life. I have studied texts whose main points help me in a variety of debates. I would recommend this school to anyone with intellectual curiosity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2008

I am at Maret and I LOVE it the teachers are great and so is everybody in it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2008

My 2 children, both in high school, have been at Maret since kindergarten, and we couldn't be more pleased. Some of the teachers have been extraordinary, the kind you remember all your life. The small size means a lot of individual attention. It's also wonderful that the school has kids from kindergarten to 12th grade all on the same campus, so that they're not always segregated into age groups but can learn from each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

My daughter has attended Maret since fourth grade (after graduating from Beauvoir). She is a junior in high school now and has excelled academically, socially, and extracurricularly. Maret was such a wonderful extension of Beauvoir -- a school we also loved -- in the elementary years, and it continued to be an appropriately warm but academically challenging school in the middle and high school years. I especially appreciate the wonder teacher-student relationships that develop at Maret. The faculty is truly a caring bunch that comes to know their students extremely well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

Maret is a very friendly school that is very strong in academics and sports with a very comforting and challenging enviroment!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2006

My son has been at Maret since the 9th Grade and will be graduating this year. Maret has been a first rate experience for my son both academically and socially. The 9th grade was a good transition year and the students were very accepting of my son. The class sizes are small. The faculty gets to know the strengths and weaknesses of your child and works to futher develop those strenghts and strengthen the weaknesses. We will miss Maret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

there is a wonderful relationship between the students and the teachers. The small class sizes and the small campus make for a very home-like environment. Despite the coziness of the school, the academic standards are very high and the teacher quality superior. You can't go wrong at a place like Maret!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 7%
Black 17% 80%
Two or more races 11% N/A
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: Manually entered by school official

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Special education 0%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Special olympics
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • It's Academic
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15am
School end time
  • 3:15pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Marjo Talbott
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (202) 939-8845

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Amnesty international
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • It's Academic
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Model UN
  • Model congress
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Maret continually embraces different cultures, interests, perspectives, and talents. With a philosophy of high achievement joined with nurtured risk-taking, Maret prepares students to become responsible, thoughtful, and well-informed adults who are able to play an active role in improving the world. Our vivid mix of cultures hails back to our beginnings as a French school enrolling students from many nations and backgrounds. Today the wealth of backgrounds, personalities, and opinions among our families and faculty gives Maret vivacity that’s not only visible, but tangible as well.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
140
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
800

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$25000 - $35000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Application fee
Yes. $65.
Fee waivers available

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3000 Cathedral Ave NW
Washington, DC 20008
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 939-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT