Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-12
Private
Washington, DC
Students enrolled: 635
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Maret School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a community member
As a student almost in the 7th grade at Maret, I love it at this school. This coming school year will be my second year at Maret and I am in love with the school. It is truly an amazing place to be.
1 person found this helpful

Maret School 5

Posted March 05, 2012
- a community member
Maret was the best thing that ever happened to me. Coming from a public school, I had no idea what to expect. With many affluent classmates, I thought I would stick out as that was not my background. This is a learning environment like no other. Students, faculty and staff alike made me feel safe, special, and a vital part of the Maret community. I'm 6'3" and I still remember the little kindergarteners running in between my legs on the way to class. Those kids are now grown men and women now who are some of my best and most loyal friends in the world. With such a stellar reputation and the exclusivity of such a private learning environment, you would think it could be stifling and rigid, but that's exactly what Maret is not. You learn to seemlessly mesh with all races, nationalities, religions, etc...and it's not forced at Maret. That just doesn't happen at many places---maybe on a college campus but not in a lower, middle or high school environment. The teachers have all been there for decades but their teaching styles and techniques are all individualized, not stale. If you want to learn and grow as a person too, there is no place like the Maret School.
2 people found this helpful


Maret School 5

Posted September 15, 2011
- a parent
I cannot say enough good things about Maret. This is a challenging school run by expert educators who are dedicated to being sure each and every child reach his/her potential. We transferred from St Albans to Maret and felt like our son had been emancipated from an overload of "drill and Kill" homework to class assignments and discussions that were designed to really teach children new skills and become more creative and thoughtful. At Maret they really teach kids to love learning , respect each other, and rise to meet new challenges. In addition, the place is culturally an incredibly nice community where students are comfortable working closely with teachers and respect/ admire their peers rather than seeing them as "competition".
1 person found this helpful

Maret School 5

Posted June 19, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is at Maret (MS) and we are really really happy. The school's teachers and families are amazing and the progressive/ free spirit education values that Maret School promotes, are simply spectacular.
1 person found this helpful

Maret School 5

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
Outstanding school that combines both accademic and educational excellence with a supportive and humane environment. Teachers are creative and enthusiastic in their approach to each student. Our daughter has been at the school for 5 years and we have yet to hear a complaint about a teacher or class from her.


Maret School 5

Posted June 26, 2010
- a parent
My son was a "lifer" (attended from kindergarten through 12th grade) and loved it. There is a clear sense of community and respect for individuality. It has a very strong academic focus, yet the atmosphere is cooperative rather than competitive.
1 person found this helpful

Maret School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
My doughter is in 4th grade and has been there since kindergarten.She really likes to be with the older and the younger kids. The quality of the instruction is very high. There is an interdisciplinary approach to learning that works well towards educating well rounded children.
1 person found this helpful

Maret School 0
no rating

Posted May 26, 2009
- a student
I go to Maret and I love it. you know everyone in the school, except for maybe a couple people, But you even know the people in high school. If you have trouble during the day, the teachers devote the extra time they have to us, the students. They are very patient and very polite. Most the teachers our very nice and they become your best friends. You end up having a great relationship with the teachers and everyone else there. I love Maret!


Maret School 5

Posted March 18, 2009
- a student
Maret is a phenomenal school. It has taught me to strive for the best as well as seek knowledge in every facet of life. I have studied texts whose main points help me in a variety of debates. I would recommend this school to anyone with intellectual curiosity.
1 person found this helpful

Maret School 0
no rating

Posted October 27, 2008
- a student
I am at Maret and I LOVE it the teachers are great and so is everybody in it!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maret School
3000 Cathedral Ave NW, Washington, DC  20008
(202) 939-8800
Last modified Maret School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Maret School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top