Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Emerson Preparatory School 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a community member
Emerson Prep is one of those school that are small but unique. their staff is warm and opening. Their administration is wonderful. Great schools

Emerson Preparatory School 5

Posted September 22, 2013
- a parent
If you are looking for a school with small classes, rigorous academics, caring and professional teachers and staff look no further than Emerson! My daughter loves going to school and avoids all the drama of a 'typical Breakfast Club high school experience' Staff really cares about the student and family. If there are any academic or social issues the staff will work with the family to help solve the problems with you! Best thing we have ever done for our daughter.


Emerson Preparatory School 5

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
Emerson Preparatory College High School's name partially defines itself based upon the fact that its student body exhibits scholarly aptitude and college preparedness. The Headmaster, as well the Director of Admissions are both dynamic educators, who care about the educational wellness and well-roundedness of its student body. The professors treat each student with respect while encouraging forethought. The administration and office staff is superb. A small, balanced environment is great for any ivy league bound scholarly-type student. It matters not, that your child is assertive, or reserved, Emerson has the unique educational coursework applicable for your student.

Emerson Preparatory School 5

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter is off to a great high school start at Emerson. Before she started, the school took the time to understand her academic and social needs and took those into account in choosing her fall class schedule. Having four 90-minute classes a semester allows student to focus more in-depth on fewer subjects. It also gives the school flexibility to design a course schedule based on the needs, aptitudes and interests of its students. The Dupont Circle location encourages our daughter's independence by allowing her to commute via Metro. Emerson is a wonderful option for a teen who thrives in small classes and is ready for an academic community that focuses on learning (not testing) and encourages independence. Also, for our daughter, who is bright but needs extra support, the school is providing additional academic support that is really helping our daughter succeed.

Emerson Preparatory School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Students are supported, engaged & taught to think. Classes are small enough that there is always help available & daily lessons can incorporate spontaneous discussion & new lesson direction.


Emerson Preparatory School 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
Best decision to send my daughter to Emerson Prep. She blossomed intellectually and socially and was happy to go to school. Great teachers and leadership. The kids really count.

Emerson Preparatory School 5

Posted April 03, 2010
- a parent
I think Emerson really understands education in every sense of the word. I'm glad my daughter is a part of this great institution!

Emerson Preparatory School 5

Posted November 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Emerson Preparatory School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Emerson's welcoming environment and tailored educational curriculum make it a joy for my academically talented child. He looks forward to each school day with exceptional teachers, stimulating courses, and students who enjoy learning.

Emerson Preparatory School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a community member
Emerson is a great school for children who would benefit from small classes and who need flexible teachers and administrators who endeavor to tap into their students' interests. Emerson's curriculum is rigorous and comprehensive. Classes are accellerated, so they're longer: 90 minutes each. This extra time combined with the small class size allows teachers to get to know students and to understand how they learn best. The social environment at Emerson is unlike any I've seen. For reasons I still haven't figured out entirely, students who felt socially awkward or excluded in other environments thrive at Emerson. They support one another and many develop sustaining friendships. I taught at Emerson for several years. In my time there, I observed that once classes got underway, new students and their parents alike breathed a sigh of relief , as though they knew they'd found the place they belonged.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emerson Preparatory School
1324 18th St NW, Washington, DC  20036
(202) 785-2877
Last modified Emerson Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Emerson Preparatory School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top