Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School 5

Posted December 13, 2010
- a community member
I attended GDS from K-12th grade and I can attest that it is a remarkable place. The faculty is phenomenal. When I reached college (an elite school) I was actually disappointed in the quality of my professors, as GDS had set the bar so high... The school fosters independence, creativity, and freedom of expression, within a supportive and nurturing environment. It was the first integrated school in Washington, DC, and this legacy underpins the school's philosophy and mission to this day.

Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School 2

Posted October 30, 2010
- a parent
My experience with Georgetown Day School was unique. I can't comment on the education, but I can comment on the adminission process. Georgetown Day schools caters to the above average income. Even thought they receives funds from organization to help encourage low/middle income families to apply, at the end, they prefer the wealth. Your chance of being admitted as a low to middle income family is not as concrete as a family with wealth. My daughter applied for admittion. She is a 4.0 student with excellent grades above her age group. However, she was declined over an average student whose family was wealthy. As a result, we quickly realize that Georgetown was more about the money vs. the academic ability of the child.


Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School 4

Posted July 24, 2010
- a parent
With new leadership at GDS, perhaps some of the challenges the school has faced will get much needed attention. Most faculty are above the average. Rigourous academic programs make excellent college acceptance rates. Wonderful history. The administration needed a shake up, our hope is that the new head will carry the original mission forward.

Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School 5

Posted June 28, 2010
- a community member
Georgetown Day School is undoubtedly the finest institution in Washington, DC. I was a student there from Pre-K to 12th grade and had a fantastic experience. As an African American student, I believe that GDS displays a strong commitment to diversity and fostering cultural understanding. The faculty and staff are superb and inspire a lifetime love of learning.

Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School 3

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
While there are many good things to say about GDS (the teachers and staff are incredible, the enrichment opportunities are outstanding) we took our kids out because the school simply did not reflect the kinds of values to which we wanted our kids exposed on a daily basis. We found that the affluent parents, who were not in the majority, have an awful lot of power in the school. These families are often the ones with the difficult and/or less talented kids and the school not only tolerates them but bends to accommodate them. The student body has more than its share of entitled kids (who no doubt have entitled parents) and there is a real 'mean girls' problem. Bottom line: Because of the need to build new facilities and raise money, GDS no longer walks its walk.


Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School 5

Posted April 25, 2010
- a student
Not just the best school in the world--the best place in the world.

Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 20, 2010
- a parent
Great school! This school truly lives up to its mission. Kids are encouraged at an early age to be assertive and be responsible for their own learning. You can tell a good school by how engaged the students are and how eager they want to be in school. The forum area in the highschool is a great space the school provides for kids. My son stays in school until 8:30 most weekdays, this allows him to participate in extracurricular activities and do his homework and have fun with his friends as well. Teachers are so nice, and accommodating, students are not intimidated to approach their teachers for help.

Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School 5

Posted November 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School 5

Posted June 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School 5

Posted November 06, 2008
- a student
GDS is the best school in the world. All students are lucky to be part of such a wonderful environment. Each student is smarter than the next. Standards are set very high at GDS, yet each student is able to meet them.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

4530 MacArthur Blvd NW
Washington, DC 20007

School website
(202) 295-6200
(202) 295-6151

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.

Find the great schools in Washington Dc


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School
4530 MacArthur Blvd NW, Washington, DC  20007
(202) 295-6200
Last modified Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School is a private school that serves grades PK-8
Georgetown Day School - Lower/Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews.