Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
I've got two kids enrolled--both in the French program. We really love it. The school is racially balanced between black, white, and latino students. In addition, we've been very pleased to find that there are a significant number of families led by LGBT parents, and the school environment has been very welcoming. You'll also find a big contingent of kids with Returned Peace Corps Volunteer parents (the Executive Director of the school is an RPCV too). Academics in an immersion program can be challenging, but the staff handles it well and my kids are thriving. The aftercare program offers a chess club, violin lessons, and martial arts classes in addition to other activities like art, playtime and time in the library. It's a challenge to get in, so if you're picked through the lottery system you'll definitely feel like you've won the golden ticket.

Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
Fabulous school, great staff. My child started here in pre-k4, the teachers are excellent. The focus is defiently on the learning and success of your child.


Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a community member
This school is AMAZING. All of the staff are amazing definitely care about the students. Also, if aftercare is provided, and there are a number of activities, including chess, steel drums,karate, and a number of other amazing activities. PS:The lunch there is not only healthy, but delicious!

Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attended this school from 3rd through 6th grade. She a grew a lot in those years and she has become such a positive young lady. She has graduated now and we will certainly miss the sense of community at this school. It is truly a special place and I feel that she is both socially and academically prepared for the future.

Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS 5

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
The children are happy to learn in this school, the academics are good, and everyone is involved. The language immersion here is really good as well.


Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS 4

Posted January 05, 2013
- a parent
I think this is a great environment for the kids who attend. The physical space is clean; nice playgrounds - 2 separate (for younger and older kids. The teachers my daughter has Pre K French) are great. They are warm and seem really concerned about the welfare of the students. I am really excited that my daughter comes home speaking words from a new language (we speak english at home). She is able to tell me a new word everyday. I do not know the principal... and I cant understand why. I've asked who the principal is, and I just have never seen her. Non-the-less, the school seems well organized. Special events are handled well. I get letters every week updating me on what is happening at the school, and how I can participate Overall, I am really satisfied. The one drawback is that the academic challenge seems week. I think there is much more of a focus on languages and the immersion concept. Meeting / stimulating individual needs seems to be on the back burner.

Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS 3

Posted December 22, 2012
- a parent
This school is a mixed bag. Some teachers are superb, others not so much. Admin generally does a poor job engaging parents and it can take forever to get an issue resolved, assuming it does get resolved. The property is great, but the classrooms are tiny, which can cause issues among kids. The language immersion program is a key reason why we came, but that's mixed, too, although it does seem to be improving. (Kids who do not speak a second language at home rarely leave bilingual.) Still, it is a warm and welcoming place, and there is an open door policy for parents, which is great. On-site chef is great, which means school lunches are excellent. Great playground, allows for fantastic parent community to develop. I'd recommend this school for kids who can handle close quarters and who are interested in learning the rudiments of a second language.

Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a community member
Great school! Dedicated teachers. Students love being there. I love the fact that all students learn French or Spanish.


Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS 3

Posted November 11, 2011
- a parent
Great school, one drawback....the academics are weak. The environment. Is absolutely wonderful. You can tell everyone pretty much enjoys working and loves children. The school lacks a gifted curriculum as well as attention to providing for rigorous instruction for these special learners. Teachers are skilled with scaffolding but not extending. Such a shame, it is truly a jewel.

Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
Great School which gets better every year. I love the language immersion program. Faculty and staff are excellent.

Nearby schools

Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS
3700 Oakview Terrace, Washington, DC  20017
(202) 265-7237
Last modified Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom PCS is a Charter school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top