Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hospitality Senior High PCS 1

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
If you're serious about your child's education you will not send them here. The school is not focused on developing students academically. It is a pipeline from jail to a labor job after high school. The administration is under qualified and focused on punishing students. None of my child classes has textbooks, homework, or even a stable teacher. If you want your child to get a good education and then some place else.

Hospitality Senior High PCS 1

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
The school markets itself as a way to get your child to college or even a job in hospitality. I recently transferred my child because she was not getting the education I wanted for her. When trying to transfer her out of hospitality I found out the courses she had been taking there would not transfer to another school forcing my daughter to be placed in a lower grade. The new principal is under qualified and not helpful to parents or students. The test scores of all students are extremely low and they are unequipt to deal with high preforming students. Please don't send your child here.


Hospitality Senior High PCS 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
Hospitality Senior High PCS is a great school for students who want to go on to College and achieve their dreams of their future successes. The Principal Mr. McBride is a true leader and really cares about the well being of each an every student at Hospitality Senior High PCS. The staff there really tries to keep a positive atmosphere for students to learn and tries to assistant student to make sure they make the best choices to push them closer to achieving their dreams of success.

Hospitality Senior High PCS 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
This school has really prepared me for the real world and also for my higher learning

Hospitality Senior High PCS 5

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
Hospitaltiy has done well under the direction and care of Mr. McBride. My child/nephew has graduated the class of 2013 and I am thankful for all the dedication they put into his education and for always being their and listening and nuturing him to become a great man today. He wants to go to college and loves learning and knows he can achieve. Thank you HHS


Hospitality Senior High PCS 1

Posted July 27, 2013
- a community member
Hospitality High School is the worst school in the DC area. While the staff is good, the administration is either working for the Marriott Corporation and is not interested in the well being of the students, (they do not interact with students at all) or they are afraid of the behaviors of the students and prefer to hide behind their office doors ( the principal and assistant principal). Teachers are bullied by administration and students (7 left by October 30th and did not return). Programs offered by the Marriott Corporation are wonderful but all students cannot avail themselves of the programs, only ones "liked" by the incompetent administration. I would not recommend that you send any student there.

Hospitality Senior High PCS 1

Posted September 20, 2012
- a community member
I attended this school a few years ago and the new principal there is just terrible. He shows favoritism to trouble making students and the vice principal sits in her office on fb & watching real housewives of atlanta all day. The executive director that is also in the building sits around and tries to act like she's maintaining some type of control of the students when really she doesn't do a thing. The test scores are terrible...they're constantly getting in new teachers so don't get used to anyones teaching style. There were some very good teachers there but now the principal and vp try to hire all of their friends to work there so they'll have some people to socialize with since no one else in the building likes them. The upperclassmen math teacher is the worst...in no way do they prepare you for college...and the people in charge are disrespectful. The vp used to teach there and although i never took her class my friends have been cursed at by her before.. Worst school ever..they can't even get their own building because their test scores are so bad & they dont have enough students..they had to bring back students they kicked out to get their enrollment up.

Hospitality Senior High PCS 1

Posted September 20, 2012
- a community member
Those four and five star comments are cleary written by people that work in the building because the school is terrible and has been on a downward spiral since the new principal has gotten there & I have never seen a hospitality student that can write that well..Sorry.


Hospitality Senior High PCS 1

Posted September 20, 2012
- a teacher
From the perspective of a former faculty member, I can tell you that having your child attend this school is a bad idea. For the school to be called Hospitality, the attitudes of the staff, especially the leadership is the exact opposite of that. All they care about is enrollment numbers and bring back students that were previously expelled or "transitioned" out of the school just to meet enrollment goals. Students are suspended for not being in uniform for days, but those who curse out teachers and staff are only taken to a "relief room." Unless they curse at the principal or vp, then they are suspended for a week. The building temperature is controlled by Roosevelt so students often sit in classrooms so cold they can see their breath and can't put on a jacket unless it's a uniform jacket. In the summer, the classrooms are too humid for students to stay awake and learn. Truancy is high, new DC CAS scores are low (26% proficient) and enrollment will decrease. The school is a poorly run, chaotic mess and needs to make serious changes before it is shut down.

Hospitality Senior High PCS 4

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
My nephews has been there for the last three years and now the school is under new leadership, since last year, the school is doing great. This being high school, a lot of the academic success fall on students wanting to learn, but Hospitality makes sure they have all the tools needed to succeed in school, college and in their career. Its a relaxed atmosphere of fun and 'hospitality'.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington Dc


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hospitality Senior High PCS
1851 9th Street, NW, Washington, DC  20001
(202) 737-4150
Last modified Hospitality Senior High PCS is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hospitality Senior High PCS Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.