Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marie Reed Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
The other day my child who is in PK4 said to me, "my teacher is so cute." I asked her how so. She said, "she always treats me nicely and teaches us so much. I just love her." As a parent, it's wonderful to see all the new things my daughter learns every day and to know that she appreciates her teacher and enjoys school. However, I also know that her teacher won't let my daughter get away with too much which is great. It's the perfect balance.

Marie Reed Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Montoya in the front office takes care of every kid at Marie Reed as though they were one of her grandchildren (several of whom ARE!) She will stay as late as the last child, she makes sure they want for nothing, and she is always smiling! I almost never see her alone in her office, there is always some little one sitting near her reading or coloring. They love her and she loves them!


Marie Reed Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
The large events at Reed are night and day compared to other schools we've been to. Reed kids go where they're supposed to, sit relatively calmly, and quite down when told. They're not silent, of course - they're still kids! But they put their natural enthusiasm in check very quickly when told.

Marie Reed Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
A number of times I have seen students taking care of each other, looking out for each other, from little gestures like making sure they don't leave a book or coat behind, to larger things like comforting a hurt classmate when they're crying or hugging a kid who is leaving early to go home sick. It's a very warm, family community.

Marie Reed Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2015
- a parent
This school is excellent! My child is receiving such a great education in a very socially and culturally diverse environment. The dual language model is incredible, the staff is so friendly and inviting to new families, and the new plan for renovations to the building is really exciting. The staff, parents, and community are clearly invested in the success of the school. They have innovative ways of providing services and activities to the kids. Art, Music, Tennis, Soccer, Snowboarding, just to name a few I cannot stress enough what a great choice this school would be for any child!


Marie Reed Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2015
- a teacher
Marie Reed is an ethnically, racially and socioeconomically diverse community that supports the needs of all students. I have loved working here and have enjoyed getting to know the teaching and parent community. My colleagues are excellent and all have impressive pedagogical knowledge; I know that all kids are getting a great education regardless of their classroom teacher. I am continually pushed to become a better teacher because of the connections I've made with my students and families. Every staff member makes an effort to help every child in the school. I am lucky to be part of the Marie Reed family!

Marie Reed Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2014
- a parent
The school is really friendly, the preschool teachers are amazing and the prinicipal is extremely involved in improving things at the school Their curriculum is very nice and children seem to really enjoy their time there.

Marie Reed Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
This school has been amazing for our kindergartener. The dual-language program is invaluable for Spanish immersion, and the curriculum is challenging and engaging. Our teacher has been at this school for 22 years, yet still has all the energy of a 5-year-old! The kids adore her, and so do we. The building is a bit outdated, but the facilities offer so many great options - a pool, a basketball court, tennis courts, and our brand new soccer field - not to mention two separate playgrounds. They have a partnership with Fillmore Arts Center for half-day art and music every week, in addition to on-site art classes. The principal is heavily involved in the school community, and has been very responsive to all of our questions and issues. And all of the staff are quick to reach out and help or just say 'hi' whenever we're in the building. More and more families in the neighborhood are choosing to go to Marie Reed; it's the best little school you've never heard of. We love it!


Marie Reed Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 18, 2007
- a parent
The new leadership is horrible. Excellent pk-3 teachers. School is not what it use to be,

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marie Reed Elementary School
2201 18th Street Northwest, Washington, DC  20009
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (202) 673-7308
Last modified Marie Reed Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top