Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

567 students|Meridian Pcs
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Meridian PCS 1

Posted December 01, 2015
- a teacher
I'm very worried about the students who go to this school. They seem stressed and unhappy. They are over tested and under challenged. The overall environment is chaotic and disrespectful. Parents, I would think twice before sending my children here. Do your background research diligently.

Meridian PCS 1

Posted December 26, 2014
- a community member
I have great concerns related to the current status of MPCS and its ability to deliver a good educational experience to its students as well as its ability to create a caring environment for its staff and the students' families. From firsthand experience, I have found the current Head of School to be a divisive and disingenuous school leader who has done much to destroy the "caring and family-oriented" nature of the school. She has surrounded herself with a number of (though not all) mediocre school administrators and has totally erased much of the collegial atmosphere that existed among staff before her tenure; largely brought about as a result of her dismissing from employment about half the school staff at the conclusion of her first year at the school. What is particularly disconcerting is the fact that I have heard from a number of students, staff, and parents that the school is not responsive to their needs, that school administrators do not return phone and email messages, that the school lacks a nuturing environment, and cases where parents have recently withdrawn their children from the school. Please investigate other school options that may be more suitable.


Meridian PCS 4

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
I really like Meridian, however to be fair this is the only school my kids have ever attended. Like all schools, they too have some issues, but over all I'm very comfortable leaving my kids in the hands of the staff for the day. Believe me when I say that's not a comfortable task, I'm now looking for schools in our new zip code and its quite challenging.

Meridian PCS 1

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
Very disappointed. This school was unable to provide alternative lunch for my child with milk and cheese allergies. My child was unable to experience the educational program at this school because he was feed fruit for lunch and sent to the water fountain if thirsty while the rest of his class enjoyed a hot meal.

Meridian PCS 5

Posted December 17, 2012
- a parent
We have our 3-year old in the program here and couldn't be more pleased. The teachers are excellent, the principal and vice-principal are out in front every morning greeting the children and parents, and there when we leave. The school is communicative, committed to an open, nurturing environment that celebrates the individual as well as community, and high standards of education. If I had any issue, I have no doubt it would be addressed thoughtfully and thoroughly by the staff. The new facility is absolutely beautiful, and I think it has given the school a renewed sense of pride. My sole complaint is class size - there are three teachers for 25 children. Hoever, the teachers manage the classroom so ably, it didn't take us or our child long to adjust.


Meridian PCS
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a teacher
Meridian truly believes that it takes a village to raise child, and its converse: it takes a child raise a village. Meridian cares for the whole child and the child's family. In turn, we teachers are the better for the families we have grown to know and love. Through its Parent Center and that dvoted team as well as the different tutoring programs it offers during the school year and in the summer, Meridian is the kind of school that is really all-encompassing, It is a privilege to work there.

Meridian PCS 4

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The staff is so devoted to do their best for the success of their students. They have also a very organized system to bring the parents in the over all activity of the school.

Meridian PCS 2

Posted July 10, 2006
- a student
Meridian Public Charter School is not a great school to go to when you are going to the sixth, seventh and eighth grade. The fifth grade and under, the children are being taught well but the other grades are not.


Meridian PCS 5

Posted December 06, 2005
- a parent
Hello! This is my daughter's second yr at Meridian, from my personal experience this school is great. My daughter seems to be picking up on spanish language being around the multi culture children as well as reading early, she's only in K. The teachers are great when it comes to staying on top of things (Parents-me), of course it starts from home. However, I plan to keep my daughter there until grade 7 no need for back and forth when there's good education right there.Trust me its a good school really stern teacher's

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meridian PCS
2120 13th Street Northwest, Washington, DC  20009
(202) 387-9830
Last modified Meridian PCS is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Meridian PCS Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top