Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

567 students|Meridian Pcs
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Meridian PCS
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
Great teachers, horrible school leadership. Leadership And administration often times hinders with the teachers trying to accomplish.

Meridian PCS
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
Lack of high standards and accountability for students. Students are often passed along, without merit or earning their grades.


Meridian PCS
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
There is a lack of high expectations for students. Ultimately, this will harm the student.

Meridian PCS
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
Most teachers really care for their students. However, this is Dampered by leadership and administration. School administration treats the school and environment like a business, and not like a school.

Meridian PCS
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
There is a extreme lack of student discipline within the school. Often times changes in personnel occur, and parents and teachers are the last to know. The school leadership waits to the last minute to share important decisions with parents, families, and staff. Students have a lack of accountability.


Meridian PCS 1

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
I am a former teacher of Meridian. I would never under any circumstance send my child to this school. Chances are, your child has great teachers. However, there are serious and disturbing problem with administration. Teachers are disposable to administration , and are often fired for without reason. It is not normal for students to cycle through this many teachers in the school year. Students do not receive the services that they are supposed to receive. Students here are under stimulated, And over tested. There is a lack of accountability and high standards for the students. There are a lack of resources available for students. Ultimately this hurts the students. Please reconsider all other options before sending your student here. I would absolutely not recommend working here.

Meridian PCS 4

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
My child has been in preschool at Meridian for 2 years. The preschool teachers and specials teachers are excellent. The program is very good. Some of the food and snacks served are good and some are not. The administration leaves a lot to be desired. They do not communicate well with parents as to what is going on/special events, etc. They continually say they lack parent participation and yet they hold parent meetings at 11:00am making it difficult for parents to attend. Children are often missed when they hand out flyers regarding events such as field trips, concerts, etc. They are not very good about updating their website calendar or the bulletin board in the preschool with this information. The assistants and admin staff that greet parents at the door and answer the phones are all very nice, but never know what's going on and cannot answer questions about events. The administration attempted a couple of not very well thought out field trips that didn't happen in the end. They continually want to take the kids to expensive places that serve no educational purpose even though 87% of the students are considered low-income (and we have the Smithsonian in DC which is free and educational). I have talked to administration numerous times and they always listen and act grateful for the input and yet nothing has changed. With that said, overall we have been very happy there (in the preschool), but are changing schools for kindergarten.

Meridian PCS 1

Posted December 01, 2015
- a teacher
I'm very worried about the students who go to this school. They seem stressed and unhappy. They are over tested and under challenged. The overall environment is chaotic and disrespectful. Parents, I would think twice before sending my children here. Do your background research diligently.


Meridian PCS 1

Posted December 26, 2014
- a community member
I have great concerns related to the current status of MPCS and its ability to deliver a good educational experience to its students as well as its ability to create a caring environment for its staff and the students' families. From firsthand experience, I have found the current Head of School to be a divisive and disingenuous school leader who has done much to destroy the "caring and family-oriented" nature of the school. She has surrounded herself with a number of (though not all) mediocre school administrators and has totally erased much of the collegial atmosphere that existed among staff before her tenure; largely brought about as a result of her dismissing from employment about half the school staff at the conclusion of her first year at the school. What is particularly disconcerting is the fact that I have heard from a number of students, staff, and parents that the school is not responsive to their needs, that school administrators do not return phone and email messages, that the school lacks a nuturing environment, and cases where parents have recently withdrawn their children from the school. Please investigate other school options that may be more suitable.

Meridian PCS 4

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
I really like Meridian, however to be fair this is the only school my kids have ever attended. Like all schools, they too have some issues, but over all I'm very comfortable leaving my kids in the hands of the staff for the day. Believe me when I say that's not a comfortable task, I'm now looking for schools in our new zip code and its quite challenging.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meridian PCS
2120 13th Street Northwest, Washington, DC  20009
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (202) 387-9830
Last modified Meridian PCS is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top