Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eagle Center -McGogney 5

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
Really good school. This camous make the camous on new jersey ave look like trash!

Eagle Center -McGogney 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
This is my daughters first year in school. She started at EAPCS at the age of 2 and I was so concerned that I may have put her in school to early. However, her teachers reassured me almost daily that her progress was on point. I had concerns about her speech and they took my concerns seriously and worked with her and I am very happy. My daughters have gone on several field trips that, I even wanted to take off of work to attend. Also, the after-care program is phenomenal and I am ALWAYS impressed at every after-care program. I'm giving Principal leadership only 3 stars because there is a new principal that have not had an opportunity to get to know as of yet and our paths rarely cross and I don't think he has been as visible as the previous principal.


Eagle Center -McGogney 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
TDW: I've been a parent/Autism Advocate since 2010 at EAPCS prior to their relocation to Wheeler Rd SE and my son has received ESL services via EAPCS applicable to his HFA (High Functioning Autism) and I'm extremely satisfied with the progress that he's made to date! I look forward to seeing more improvements, not only in him, but other children that I know personally there. EAPCS is what you make it, if you are an active parent who doesn't mind keeping an open line of communication with the school and teachers, this is "Your home away from home!" Join us, I'm certain you won't regret it!

Eagle Center -McGogney 5

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
My twins entered first grade this year. From the beginning, it was clear that one of them had significant learning delays. The IEP process was prompt and thorough. Her individual plan and goals were set, and I was excited that my daughter would finally begin to get on track. Soon after her plan began, she still wasn't "catching on" the way we all expected. It was evident that the initial plan was not going to work for her. The IEP team quickly came back together and addressed every concern I had. They bent over backwards to devise another plan adjusted to the way my daughter learns best. EAPCS is a diamond in the rough. I couldn't have chosen a better school for my twins' education. This team of dedicated professional educators want my child to succeed as much as I do!

Eagle Center -McGogney 5

Posted December 12, 2012
- a parent
I AM VERY PLEASED WITH EAGLE ACADEMY... This is my sons 3rd year at the school. He is very advanced for his grade, and was when he first started there. I appricate the fact that they realize how advanced he was at the beganing of the year. All of his teacher have challeged him. Yes the parking is horrible, but parking has nothing to do with quality education. He is in the kindergarden reading at a 3rd grade level. He loves school and sometimes doesn't want to leave. I think the teachers are great. Some are strict, but they have to be. I dont like the new location, because of the group of children and the parents. However, i do love the new school. They have before and after care, with a great staff of people. The school is very secure and clean. A school that my child can learn well while enjoying him self says a lot for the staff. I love this school and the staff.


Eagle Center -McGogney 4

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
My son was at Eagle from age 3 until the third grade. The teachers, staff, parents, and children felt like family. We will miss everyone.

Eagle Center -McGogney 5

Posted July 19, 2012
- a parent
I LOVE EAGLE ACADEMY. Eagle Academy is the best school . My child has been enrolled at Eagle Academy sinc she was 3 and is now going to the 2nd grade. My child learned how to read, write and spell in her first year at Eagle. The teachers at Eagle Academy are highlt educated and dedicated to teaching your child. Eagle has so much to offer, before and aftercare, extra activities, excellent social services and great communication. I recommend Eagle Academy to anyone that wants the best education for their child. Eagle Academy is definetly STARTING EARLY and SOARING HIGH!!!

Eagle Center -McGogney 4

Posted July 19, 2012
- a parent
I MADE THE RIGHT DECISION FOR MY CHILD'S FIRST SCHOOL EXPERIENCE!!!! Eagle Academy is perfect. They have proven to better than all the rest. The staff is very friendly and educated. I felt comfortable when I left my child there the very first day of school. My childs teacher was awesome. Eagle academy not only was great for my youngest child but they were great for my entire immediate family. My husband received information and referrals for employment. We received a Thanksgiving basket and our children were registered for christmas toys. When i just needed to talk and vent some of my challenges, Eagle has a educated, helpful and understanding Social Services worker. she supported me and kept my business confidential. I don't know if I should name names, but Mrs. Lockette deserves alot of credit for all her help. It was also a pleasure every morning and evening to be greeted with a warm smile by the front desk staff. I love Eagle Academy and look forward to many great years at Eagle Academy.


Eagle Center -McGogney 5

Posted April 26, 2012
- a parent
Eagle Academy is a GREAT. I would recommend the school. My son loves it at Eagle, he is learning and all the teachers are great with the kids. Yes, they have time out of of school but that will occur with all the schools in this area. The before and aftercare program is wonderful. The program puts on a performace twice a year at Crampton you have to see the kids in action OUTSTANDING. The school will be moving to an new buidling in ward 8. If you have not registred your child get on IT. The school will be the place to have your children.

Eagle Center -McGogney 5

Posted March 22, 2012
- a parent
My Daughter has Been at Eagle Academy for 3 years now, we have been pleased with her progress since enrolling. Her teachers have always been quick to Identify areas of need and to reinforce areas that she has excelled in by way of providing work at a higher grade level so that she does not get bored with the things that she has already mastered. the Staff create a very family-like atmosphere. I feel welcomed and at home each time I enter the building. The Teachers and staff know all of the students not just the ones that are in their classes. Eagle also has a great Before and aftercare program that nurtures the educational things that are taught during the day and enhance the children's creative creative senses and teach fine arts. yes parking is a PAIN but they are moving to a lager facility next school year and after that the parking will not be a problem. I HIGHLY recommend Eagle Academy to all parents looking for a Great Charter School!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.

Find the great schools in Washington Dc


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eagle Center -McGogney
3400 Wheeler Road Southeast, Washington, DC  20032
(202) 544-2646
Last modified Eagle Center -McGogney is a Charter school that serves grades PK-3
Eagle Center -McGogney Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.