Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lafayette Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 700 students

Our school is an arts-intergation campus for all children.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

My child left Lafayette during winter break and is doing much better in her new school. She is learning more and has a better teacher. After 3 years at Lafayette, it is nice to have her in a school with fewer problems. I didn't realize how stressful it was for us as a family until we left the school. I enjoy the new parents group as well,. not as much rah-rah and hype as we found at Lafayette, but honest dialogue between mature adults
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Agree with all the comments about hit or miss teachers. Tend to agree with comment about strong Lafayette boosters not really understanding what a good school is. Strong fundraising has not improved the quality of the school and there doesn't seem to be any interest of the parents to do so, there is more interest and motivation in protecting the feeder to another DCPS. Odd. We will hopefully go charter next year but this will thankfully be our last at Lafayette. Fingers crossed that we will have luck on our side for teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

I am a former student of Lafayette and I have just graduated from the fifth grade. Lafayette is an amazing school with so many opportunities for all ages. The kids are respectful of one another and I feel I have learned a lot in the past seven years. I only have experience with 2 bad teachers but the others were fabulous. I made so many friends at lafayette and I will miss it horribly. Overall, I recommend lafayette as a school to any child. -Elise R


Posted July 25, 2013

Lafayette may still be one of the strongest elementary schools in DC, but unfortunately it has many problems. My child just graduated from 5th and the experience has definitely been mixed. First and third grade teachers were excellent, second and fourth grade pretty solid. Kindergarten and fifth grade teachers were awful. The fifth grade at Lafayette is a disaster. Our child's teacher was extremely disorganized, unkind towards the children, and left projects uncompleted. This awful teacher was hired just two years ago, which leads one to wonder how a school with a good reputation accepted someone whose standards are so low. The positives are the good teachers, the fantastic art teacher, strong music program and arts integration. Parent involvement has been historically extremely strong, which has helped the school raise money for arts programs and renovations, but seems to be falling off. The kids are mostly great and there is very little bullying or behavior problems but some parents can be cliquey and snobbish to a comical degree for a group of adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

Lafayette is a good school. Maybe not great, but it does a fine job given the limitations faced by any school. The music program is great - there are lots of instruments available to the student to use, for free. The only real reason I am posting here is to provide a little balance to some of the angry comments. I'm disturbed by references to "uneducated" parents in more than one comment. Is this some sort of coded language for differences of race, class, or neighborhood? I guess I shouldn't be surprised, but I am. In any case, don't get dragged into the sniping and criticizing. There are pluses and minuses to every school - Lafayette is no different. Show up, get to know your kids' teachers and the staff. Say hello, smile. Be friendly. You might be surprised at the good things you will see and hear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

Thank heavens the school year is over! This will be our last year at Lafayette and I won't miss it. No my child is not graduating, we are just pulling her out to get her into a good school. One of the odd things about Lafayette is all the hype and rah-rah that surrounds it. The parents who think it is an excellent school, tend to be uneducated themselves, so are unable to distinguish a good school from a bad one. I am so glad we won't be returning, this is a happy day for at least one Lafayette parent. We are getting our child out before too much damage has been done, and she is not too far behind her peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

We relocated from the SF Bay Area last year and our children (first and second grade) were previously in a small private school. Lafayette as definitely an adjustment for them but at the end of the school year they both had tears in their eyes because they were leaving their teachers and friends for the summer. The thing that sticks out for me is the ownership of the school that the parents have taken on. The previous post has it wrong, we found highly educated, caring, and well rounded parents at Lafayette. Very few schools are perfect but we are very happy to be part of the Lafayette community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

There is a high variation in the quality of teachers, but the biggest problem is the literal lack of walls. The school uses dividers, or sometimes rows of lockers or cubbies, to separate classrooms in otherwise large open sections of the school. Unfortunately, this does not reduce the sound from other adjacent classes. The refusal to construct actual walls between classes makes it very difficult for the children to focus on the teacher an also makes it very difficult for the teachers to keep the children's attention. The school benefits greatly from the wealthy families who are able to raise considerable amounts of money to fund equipment and additional teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

Five years in and we are more and more disappointed each year. Our expectations were never beyond fair but still we find the academic and social aspects of Lafayette way below average. Parent involvement is good but teacher quality is not consistent. The principal, who has a background in high schools is always barking at the children and my kids fear her. Fear, not respect. . Her approach is degrading and sometimes humiliating. We wish private was within our budget. General school communication is good with a weekly news letter and robo calls but for years, communication with teachers is awful. Most won't respond to emails and it can be very confusing to keep up with homework, projects and field trips if you are relying on a 9 year old to convey everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

Lafayette seems to suffer from the classic problem of how hard it is to get rid of bad teachers. After 5 years years of wonderful teachers at lafayette prek thru 3rd grade...we have suffered the bad attitude of a teacher this year, While great leadership from the adimin staff seem to be helpful, the end result is the children in this 4th grade class seem to learn nothing other than adults can be mean spirited too. IT is so hard to see how three of 4 teachers in a grade can be amazing and one can be out right detrimental. We had a fourth grader who had an amazing year last year learned a lot and had wonderful and kind teacher. We have our second son in 4th grade this year and have a different set of teachers and a totally different experience. Lafayette really suffers from the hit or miss teacher lotto and complete inconsistent curriculum from classroom to classroom in each grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

The discrepancy between the reviews has to do with the differences between parents of Lafayette students. Parents who have limited education, limited life experience and little exposure to the rest of the country, rate Lafayette high. They don't know anything else. Parents who are educated, have more life experience and know about educational standards in other parts of the country, find Lafayette does not meet their expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

Our son attended Lafayette from K-4. He received the best marks possible each year. DCPS tests these kids to death and our son consistently scored at the top of his class. Unfortunately, we had an unpleasant wake up call when we moved to Md and he began grade 5 in Montgomery Co. His new teachers reported that he was very behind his new classmates. We noticed that he was struggling. We were so surprised because according to DCPS, he was at a 7th grade level in reading and 6th grade level in math. We assumed that he'd be placed in the gifted and talented class in Mo.Co. Apparently, DC standards are very low compared to most US school systems. A very tough break for a kid who was accustomed to being one of the smartest in his class. His confidence was shattered. I guess Lafayette and a few other NW schools may be the creme of the crop in DC, but in a school system that is consistenly rated one of the worst in the country, what does it mean to be one of the best in the city? Google DCPS ranking/ ratings. You'll find a plethora of information about DCPS being the worst school system in the COUNTRY. We saw what we wanted to see at the expense of our kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

Reading these comments, you might wonder why there is such disparity between the rave reviews of some and the disappointment expressed by many others. My explanation: 1. Lafayette has many talented, motivated, and kind teachers on its staff. If your child is lucky enough to end up with several of these teachers in a row and you don't experience the alternative, you might legitimately wonder what all the fuss is about. Unfortunately, even more of the school's teachers are not strong, and some are downright bad. 2. Parent "leaders" and the principal persist in denying problems and dismissing conflict. For whatever reason, they discourage discussion of opportunities for improvement and marginalize parents who raise issues. As a result, everyone--parents, students, other teachers--knows who the "bad" teachers are, but the principal doesn't do anything about it. 3. Lafayette students perform well on standardized tests due to their socioeconomic advantages, not because of anything the school does. To attribute that success to the school is tempting, but a mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

Lafayette school is a good public school in DC. Parents are very involved and the school is a center of the neighborhood. Crowding is a problem as it has become very popular in recent years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

Tough to know how to respond to some of these disgruntled parents without knowing what grade their kids are in, or what the context is for their comments. Both of my kids have excelled at Lafayette. My 2nd grader is at a 5th-6th grade level in Math and Reading. My 5th grader is leaving Lafayette at an 8th grade level in Math, 7th grade in Reading, with amazing experiences in competitive sports, art, music, leadership, and conflict resolution. Of course some teachers are better tha others - that's life. No parent depends solely on their kid's teachers to make sure they learn, and yet I haven't made any herculean efforts with my kids outside of the classroom, and no tutors, etc. Sorry if some kids are faling through the cracks, but the numbers speak for themselves and Lafatte is a top 3 elementary scool in the DCPS and on par with the better public schools in Montgomery County, MD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

Abysmal education. Thank goodness this school year is ending soon. Our Child learned very, very little at Lafayette. The entire year was chaos, lack of communication, poor teaching, absent teachers, minimal homework...a general mess. Most parents in our child's class agree that this year was a total loss for their kids. Nice neighborhood, involved parents but the school has tanked due thanks to a mass of bad or teachers who are "over it" with their profession. There is only so much a parent can do at home afterschool and on weekends to compensate. Now we get to spend our summer scurrying to catch our child up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

NOT a good school or investment in your child. If you are a smart parent, go enroll your kid at Janney or something. Lafayette's standards are terrible and dysfunctional. I'm being serious, you will not end up happy at lafayette unless you are VERY lucky with teachers each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

Our children do not fall thru cracks at Lafayette, they fall into sink holes. Unless your child is placed with a competent, caring home base teacher, you can pretty much assume that you, the paren(s) will be your child's primary educator for the year. My best estimate, having been a Lafayette parent for 7+ years, is that 60% of the teachers are decent to great and the other 40% are fair to terrible. These same undesirable teachers return year after year after year with the same below average results. It isn't just the classroom teachers, either; Special Ed and ESL teachers are no better. The children and their educations are not top priorities at Lafayette. The school is terribly over crowded. Lafayette is made to accommodate roughly 500 students but there at over 700 in attendance. The fire code sign about capacity in the cafeterioum (the cafeteria & auditorium are one shared space) is ignored as it is over capacity on a daily basis. If it we're for the parents, their "voluntary" contributions and parents association, Lafayette would be considerably worse. There s a lot of shame to go around at Lafayette.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2012

It breaks our hearts to admit this but Lafayette has truly declined in the past 5 years. The main topic at after school pick up amongst the many parents is the very poor quality of teachers and pitiful principal leadership. Each grade has 4 teachers divided amongst about 100 children. Generally there are 2 good teachers for each grade and two horrible teachers. It is luck of the draw each fall when kids are assigned to a teacher. The bad teachers never leave and are not fired, regardless of how poor their students perform. When any of my children have been placed with the underperforming teachers, my wife and I spend the entire school year teaching our kids the basic material they should have learned during the school day. It is a huge burden but we can't let our kids slip behind. We often wonder why we pay such high taxes in this neighborhood- for what! Every Lafayette family we know is fortunate to have one stay at home parent or tutors. Without that luxury, Lafayette test scores would be considerably lower. This year, Our son and his classmates joke that there teacher is the dead guy from "Weekend at Bernie's"- physically present- mentally absent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

My husband and I are very involved in our kids education. I have the luxury to be with our kids each day after school. Our kids get undivided attention during homework time. . Without this daily help, our kids, both who have tested as above as above average IQ, would slip thru the LARGE cracks at Lafayette. More often than not, my kids struggle with their homework because they did not learn the lesson during class time. Ultimately, I end up teaching the concepts/skills necessary for them to do well. 50 of Lafayette teachers are wonderful. The other 50% are an absolute disgrace. These lousy teachers do the absolute minimum required, which Involves barely showing up. Lafayette had gone downhill in all aspects over the last 8 years. It is over crowed, the principal is ineffective, she puts band aides over catastrophe discipline issues and turns a blind eye to some clearly horrid teachers. This year, there have been some very serious discipline problems at Lafayette. Not general elementary school problems but Senior High school level problems. Many issues get brushed under the carpet and there is quite a bit of CYA going on at Lafayette.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2011.

297 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2011.

296 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 35% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students89%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanic93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanic93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students98%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanic99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanic99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students90%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanic94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanic95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Science

All Students90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

In 2012-2013, this school was designated "Reward".

About the tests


The DC school classification system includes multiple measures to evaluate performance and student growth. The possible classifications, from highest to lowest, are Reward, Rising, Developing, Focus and Priority. These measures include the DC CAS, annual growth, graduation rates, attendance rates and participation rates. Under the system, required under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), each school is given a School Index Score based on the performance of its students. Schools receive different levels of support, resources, flexibility and monitoring based on their classification.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the city.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests in the District of Columbia. Test scores are based on 2012-13 DC CAS results.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 DC CAS results from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 1%
Black 10% 1%
Hispanic 8% N/A
Two or more races 7% 57%
Asian 3% N/A
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/AN/A
Special education 7%N/A13%
English learners 3%N/A7%
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Attendance

  This school District averageState average
All Students 100%N/AN/A
Asian/Pacific Islander 100%N/AN/A
Black, not Hispanic 100%N/AN/A
Hispanic 100%N/AN/A
White, not Hispanic 100%N/AN/A
Economically disadvantaged 100%N/AN/A
Students with disabilities 100%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 100%N/AN/A
Source: DCPS, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • OSSE Reward School (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Step team
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Amharic
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
  • Step team
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • Lynn Main
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (202) 724-8961

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Amharic
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Kennedy Center
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girls on the run
  • Math club
  • Step team
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Blue, Gold
School mascot
  • Bears
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


1 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
100
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
2000

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Alice Deal Middle
Wilson Senior HIgh
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5701 Broad Branch Rd. NW
Washington, DC 20015
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 282-0116

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Wilson High School
Washington, DC


Sheridan School
Washington, DC


St. Ann's Academy
Washington, DC



Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT