Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

PK-12|Private
0 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


British International School of Washington 1

Posted March 01, 2016
- a student
My children will not return next year. The leadership of the school is confusing. The principal is consistently negative and disrespectful when talking about Nord Anglia Education yet he continues to work for the school that is owned by NAE. This inconsistency leaves this parent uncomfortable with not knowing what are school decisions and what are corporation policies.

British International School of Washington 1

Posted October 02, 2015
- a community member
Teaching and grading is very inconsistent. This year 13 percent of students did not pass the IB. Besides, the school has lost over 100 kids during the summer.


British International School of Washington
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
I think the school Principal is doing a wonderful job. He's there every morning to greet the children as they arrive and his communication to parents is funny and thorough. The school is being upgraded and improved all the time and the teachers are motivated and happy.

British International School of Washington
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
As with all schools there's a mixed bag at the school. Some are better than others but the good ones are really good. Teachers seem to go above and beyond. There is always a good dose of humour which makes the teachers non-threatening and approachable. My son has some of his all time favourite teachers at the school.

British International School of Washington
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
My son was in middle school last year and there was not too much homework. He managed to get it done fairly easily and never complained. This year he is working towards his IGCSEs and they homework has gently ramped up which is good I think. It's quite refreshing the way he's doing it each night without a fuss. I think it's because there isn't too much pressure and the school is nurturing.


British International School of Washington
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Students at BISW are encouraged in sport and life to be determined, persistent and gritty. My son is in the secondary school and they are really ramping up the notion that he might want to do some work and really apply himself. He's really rising to the challenge. It's wonderful to see him blossom and really become determined to succeed. I hold the school responsible for this.

British International School of Washington
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
BISW is a small intimate school in which the students are encouraged to be inclusive of everyone. The children have come from all over the world so there is a great diversity of backgrounds religious and ethnic. The children are very inclusive and mature about the way in which they interact with each other. There appears to be no bullying and no racism amongst the students so I can only assume this is because of the attitudes of the staff.

British International School of Washington
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
The BISW fosters compassion, caring and empathy through a truly internationally focussed curriculum. Students are taught about life in places far from DC, about global issues and environmental challenges. The school is involved too with a small community in Tanzania where they BISW students visit once a year to help out on the ground. The school is always having fund raising events for charities and celebrating students who give back by fund raising. They encourage children to do community service.


British International School of Washington
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
The school has a policy of children challenging themselves to beat their own personal best rather than competing against each other. This means students cannot be unfairly treated. Students are happy and included so there isn't a need to compete. I think all schools foster honesty and integrity so it's no different to anywhere else.

British International School of Washington 5

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
My son started at BISW 7 months ago. He came from one of Australia's top private schools which he really enjoyed so he was bound to make comparisons. Of course the facilities aren't anything like he had back home but this was made up for with the closeness of the community and quality of the teaching staff and students. My son was accepted into the community straight away and felt very at home. The teachers are non-threatening and enthusiastic and the students are mature, worldly and there to learn. Since we arrived there have been major upgrades of the facilities which are improving all the time. Sure things are sometimes less than perfect in the IT area but who cares, the place is run with humour, enthusiasm, a terrific sense of community and a wonderful global outlook which we find brilliant. The school is on the up and up. I can't recommend it enough.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

British International School of Washington
2001 Wisconsin Avenue NW, Washington, DC  20007
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (202) 829-3700
Last modified British International School of Washington is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top