Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

PK-12|Private
0 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 78 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


British International School of Washington 4

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
We moved to BISW 3 years ago, we love the school and the teaching system. Most of the teachers are nice and dedicated. The actual Principal is great! Very polite, answers every question personally and listens to feedback The activities at BISW are amazing and various from organizing trade shows to theatre presentation and the study of music is strongly encouraged especially after the collaboration with Juilliard School.

British International School of Washington 4

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
We like BISW's teachers and the curriculum. It has prepared our children very well. I am writing in response to the parent review that is oddly critical of the Parents' Association (of which every parent/caretaker is a welcomed member --- there is no entry fee, no sign up - you just show up) to clarify a few things about their opinion on the PA board. The Parents' Association board has no actual board power at the school or relationship to the school beyond being a parallel organization, so the post is confusing. It is a PTA board, not a school board. In our experience, parents all have access to the schools' communications and there are no gatekeepers. I was really surprised to read the review as it does not at all ring true to what we have experienced during our eight years at BISW. Additionally the political commentary is just odd, frankly, as in our experience we have never heard any kind of partisan political conversation on any field trip, visit, or class presentation -- especially one that is in any way part of a school lesson. It is an international school so those definitions vary widely by country so it doesn't even make sense. We value highly the school's use of the Washington DC region as an extension of the classroom. With so many children from different countries in the school, it is truly an international experience and certainly not one that we've noticed is overtly ideological beyond valuing the importance of understanding one another beyond nationality. In some respects it provides a respite from the Washington political intensity. It has been a great school for us, and has provided a sound foundation.


British International School of Washington 1

Posted March 01, 2016
- a student
My children will not return next year. The leadership of the school is confusing. The principal is consistently negative and disrespectful when talking about Nord Anglia Education yet he continues to work for the school that is owned by NAE. This inconsistency leaves this parent uncomfortable with not knowing what are school decisions and what are corporation policies.

British International School of Washington 1

Posted October 02, 2015
- a community member
Teaching and grading is very inconsistent. This year 13 percent of students did not pass the IB. Besides, the school has lost over 100 kids during the summer.

British International School of Washington
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
I think the school Principal is doing a wonderful job. He's there every morning to greet the children as they arrive and his communication to parents is funny and thorough. The school is being upgraded and improved all the time and the teachers are motivated and happy.


British International School of Washington
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
As with all schools there's a mixed bag at the school. Some are better than others but the good ones are really good. Teachers seem to go above and beyond. There is always a good dose of humour which makes the teachers non-threatening and approachable. My son has some of his all time favourite teachers at the school.

British International School of Washington
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
My son was in middle school last year and there was not too much homework. He managed to get it done fairly easily and never complained. This year he is working towards his IGCSEs and they homework has gently ramped up which is good I think. It's quite refreshing the way he's doing it each night without a fuss. I think it's because there isn't too much pressure and the school is nurturing.

British International School of Washington
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Students at BISW are encouraged in sport and life to be determined, persistent and gritty. My son is in the secondary school and they are really ramping up the notion that he might want to do some work and really apply himself. He's really rising to the challenge. It's wonderful to see him blossom and really become determined to succeed. I hold the school responsible for this.


British International School of Washington
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
BISW is a small intimate school in which the students are encouraged to be inclusive of everyone. The children have come from all over the world so there is a great diversity of backgrounds religious and ethnic. The children are very inclusive and mature about the way in which they interact with each other. There appears to be no bullying and no racism amongst the students so I can only assume this is because of the attitudes of the staff.

British International School of Washington
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
The BISW fosters compassion, caring and empathy through a truly internationally focussed curriculum. Students are taught about life in places far from DC, about global issues and environmental challenges. The school is involved too with a small community in Tanzania where they BISW students visit once a year to help out on the ground. The school is always having fund raising events for charities and celebrating students who give back by fund raising. They encourage children to do community service.

Nearby schools

British International School of Washington
2001 Wisconsin Avenue NW, Washington, DC  20007
(202) 829-3700
Last modified British International School of Washington is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top