Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

British School of Washington

Private | PK-12 | 400 students

An authentic international education rich in the arts, languages, and technology
 
 

 
 

Living in Washington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $750,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2012

We have two children at BSW and have been with the school for four years. The teachers and curriculum have consistently met and exceeded our expectations. The children are challenged and develop a love of learning from the beginning. We have seen this continue each and every year. Teachers are caring, dedicated, challenging, creative, and hard-working. The International Primary Curriculum (IPC) is one of the many aspects that help make BSW a unique and special school. The IPC is taught in the Primary School (Reception (PK) - Year 6). It is an engaging curriculum designed to foster rigorous learning, particularly focusing on on academic, personal and international learning. Through the IPC teachers are able to provide their students with innovative and exciting ways to learn, which I have seen first hand in our children. They truly do love learning and we can't imagine providing our children with a better education than at BSW!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

Our daughter started attending BSW this year (elementary school) and we have been very happy with the experience so far. Her home room teacher is excellent, and her reading and math performance has improved dramatically. I believe that the academic standard is quite high compared to any private school in the area. Most importantly, our daughter is very happy. We have particularly appreciated the school's willingness to help students who enter the school at varying levels to catch up to their class mates through individualized attention. I did not get that impression from any of the other private schools we visited, most of which seemed more concerned with what the student would bring to their school, rather than what the school could do for the student. That said, the physical facilities are not really up to par (particularly in term of sports, play areas etc.) and the language program needs strengthening. But there are signs that this is being addressed - so we'll see. Our daughter has only been at the school for half a year, and it remains to be seen whether our experience will extend to other teachers, but so far, we have had an excellent experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

I have several children at BSW. Quality of the school is best at the primary stage and then steadily deteriorates in secondary and student numbers drop making it a very small school at IB level. Teachers variable - some excellent, others far from it. Strengths: design and technology, maths and english. Weaknesses: sport, language program. School building very average - below DC public schools in terms of facilities. Governance structure is not responsive (for profit, based in the UK). Parent involvement correspondingly limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

As a student attending this school, and having attended for over 5 years, I can honestly say my experience here has not been the best. Although I have gained a lot from having to cooperate with classmates, it's definitely been a struggle. There are some teachers who show clear signs of favoritism, and these displays are very discouraging for the rest of the class. Having seen the IB room (which, by the way, is simply disgusting), I was really worried about going here next year. I now attend a public school taking AP courses instead, and not once have I regretted it. There have been several occasions as well where I have seen students mistreated by teachers both unfairly and wrongly. Some punishments that are put on some students are then not put on other students who rightly deserve them as well. I don't know how well this school works for kids, for me it didn't. That's just my own experience.


Posted January 14, 2011

My child attended the lower school for 2 years and had a very rough time of it. Teachers need more training. There is a focus on appearance and presentation in everything that is done. Creativity and individuality is not valued. The environment is very structured, but not consistent. There is also some bullying. I just can't recommend the school, but I will say that the music program and the foreign language program for lower school is very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

Our child has been at the British School for nearly 3 years now and it goes from strength to strength. All three teachers have been excellent, and the management team are improving the school every year. Best of all, she loves going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

We have been at the BSW for 2 and half years. We will no long be attending. We have been very disappointed with the teaching and schools responsiveness (?).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

This is our second year with the school and we absolutely love the education our son is receiving. His teachers are excellent and the structured environment has proven to be a great fit for him. We also like the fact that parents are highly encouraged to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

We are into our second year with the British School of Washington. Last year went rather well. The teacher was creative and really worked with the kids. This year is totally different. The teacher doesn't seem happy to be there or to be teaching. Our child is unhappy, which is the worst of all. We've tried working with the administration. They seem 'understanding,' but this doesn't solve the problem. Bullying has also been an issue, and some kids seem allowed to break the rules that others are forced to follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

I have been to this school for nearly four years and I agree that some of he teachers are good but for the most part they never manage to actually teach us anything unless they're one of the good teachers. The fact that we don't have a playground isn't a problem at all. In fact, many of us think it's a good thing because it gives you more of an opportunityto be creative with games and you'd be surprised at how easy it is to play games with something you brought from home like a skipping rope or hula hoop. What my classdoes is have someone bring in a ball each day and we all play soccer. Thanks to that I have actually made more friends because we play as a team. The only thing I don't like is that they give us too much homework, more than they tell you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2009

There is a new head so people are hopeful that things will improve at the BSW. I concur with most of the comments below. The school has incredibly inconsistent results for different grade years and teachers involved. The school has rolling admissions and appears to for the most part accept just about anyone at any point in the year; that alone should tell you something about the school when you compare it to excellent private schools in the DC area where very long waiting lists are the norm. In theory the school concept has great promise; but in practise it has not achieved its potential by a long shot. Maybe some day it will
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

Our child used to attend BSW but sadly, it just didn't work for us especially as we progressed into the Middle School. We thought we were signing up for a British private school education but instead, the school models itself on British public/state schools. Academically, it's OK, I always felt the students could have been pushed more and the teachers very much taught to the tests and no further. I'm not suggesting the teaching was poor, in fact, there are a few good teachers but when the school has very few facilities to offer for $20,000 a year the classroom teaching throughout the whole school needs to be excellent. If you have a 3 year old it's worth a look as they teach reading and writing at a very young age but visit other schools to compare. It shouldn't be your first choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

My daughter has attended BSW for the past 4 years and I believe the faculty and the administration (yes, the administration) are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2008

Our child has really flourished at BSW for the past several years. It's especially great for any 'quirky' kid who doesn't fit in a really socially competitive environment. BSW teaches kindness and respect, and the teachers really know their pupils as individuals. Not for everyone, sure, but worth a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

Clearly this school is going through growing pains where it has never quite found its footing. I agree that academics are the school s best point; however, like any school it has some excellent teachers and some very mediocre teachers. Historically we have been happy about the curriculum, especially in the earlier years where there was a strong emphasis on teaching fundamental concepts; however, we have been disappointed as of late, where the academic rigor in some subjects is lacking including an insufficient level of homework and scant use of textbooks. Considering the tuition is now in the $20K range with no discounts available, one should take a VERY close look at this school compared to other private schools in the area. The new facility is very lacking and appears to be the product of another unilateral decision by the baffling administration who continue to blow-off the inputs from parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

Students who have remained with the school over a long period have excelled academically because of its high standards, quality of curriculum, and outstanding teachers. While I agree there are big problems with the school's administration (& this has been true since the very beginning, in 1998) the negative impact appears to be on the parents and not the students, who generally speaking, have flourished. The curriculum is very demanding but the kids who've stuck with it from the early years are now doing very well academically, as measured by UK and U.S. standardized exams, awards in national competitions, and university admissions, as well as personally (early emphasis on courtesy, respect for diversity, and articulateness pays off in high school). BSW's certainly not parent-friendly, but the students seem happy, and if a parent can tolerate the daily frustrations and focus on BSW's long-term results, the returns make it worthwhile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

This school is run as a total profit enterprise -- little care is given to the well-being of the students or relations with parents. There is no playground, and many parents with ideas to improve the school and community relations are ignored at best, if not treated as pariahs. We have just received notice that a venture capital firm has invested in the corporation, and therefore can expect that the almost blind profit drive of the administration will worsen. Don't put your kids here yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

We concur with the comments on the inadequacy of the school administration and the almost antagonistic relations with well-meaning and highly educated parents. The absence of any confirmed outdoor play space and an inadequate indoor playspace is problematic. Art, science and music are scant. Having said this, the teachers themselves are incredibly dedicated and hardworking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

The academic quality at BSW is high, and the teachers are good. Yet overall we have been disappointed and have decided to enroll our child elsewhere. The leadership has been surprisingly unilateral, even when approached in a constructive way by parents. Earlier this year, the pre-k class enrollment rose to 26 children, with only one teacher, and other classes were at 23 or 24. Discipline in the classroom was a problem and there seemed to be little time to attend to the social and emotional needs of the students. Problems relating to the move to the new location caused us to lose seven full school days, and we have been informed that this time will not be made up. Thus, our sense is that when the chips are down, the school will sacrifice the well-being and education of current students for somebody else s bottom line
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

The teachers are fantastic. That's why most parents stay. However, the administration of the school is very poor. There are many examples of poor leadership. One example relates to outdoor play space. The school is now in a new location. Unfortunately leadership did not make an outdoor play space for children over 5 a priority. Parents/children have been granted a grassy area for 6 months but have been repeatedly told that there is no guarantee this space will be available next year. This is very upsetting to many parents of younger children, especially given the fact that the previous location had a dedicated outdoor play space. Had leadership communicated effectively with parents prior to signing the lease at the new location this situation could have been avoided. BSW may be great school in 5 years - but would not recommend it at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Origami club
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:30pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • David Rowsell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ECIS
  • IBO
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (202) 829-6522

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Internships
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School-run shuttle from nearby metro and bus stops
  • Yes.
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • Origami club
  • Science club
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Navy and Red
School mascot
  • Lion
More from this school
  • Twitter: https://twitter.com/BSW_School
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$12000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Application fee
Yes. $150.
No fee waivers available

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 Wisconsin Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20007
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 829-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hardy Middle School
Washington, DC






Holy Trinity School
Washington, DC


Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT