Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Howard University Middle School PCS
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
I think home work great . they need to work hard with students. I think some of teacher need need to be hired.

Howard University Middle School PCS
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
They put more time in complain... instead of help students that need some help. This school need lots of help.


Howard University Middle School PCS
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
No ....respect for students or parents. Dean of students have no disrespectful.....no one manager this school.... help

Howard University Middle School PCS
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
No...teacher is bad ....the Dean of students terrible.....bullying by teacher if they don't like your child.

Howard University Middle School PCS
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
I think the teacher don't care about the student. The Dean of students terrible....the teacher bully the the students.


Howard University Middle School PCS 1

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Do Not sending your child to this school if you like your child to be bully by the teacher and complaining about your child all the time.... nothing good to said about your child.

Howard University Middle School PCS 4

Posted September 17, 2015
- a community member
I am the new head of school at Howard University Middle School of Mathematics and Science. I noticed that many of the negative reviews that have been posted were from last year when we had some internal difficulties. What happened last year was unfortunate. However, please understand, the commitment to delivering a quality education to every student has not changed. We have some of the most qualified teachers in the DMV, many of them award winning educators. Our curriculum is rigorous and students who leave us will have at least a transferable high school credit in Algebra 1 and could possibly have a credit in geometry as well. No school is perfect and we have addressed many of the concerns from last year. We continue to have the commitment of the Howard University community and are reestablishing the partnerships that made our STEM school one of the best in Washington DC. I hope that next year, I will be able to give us 5 stars as we continue to improve. At (MS)2 we expect our students to do something extraordinary every day!

Howard University Middle School PCS 1

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
PARENTS BEWARE!!!! Do not send your child to this school. This is my child's last year at this school and what a journey we have been through. If you want your child to get into a good high school this is not the place to start.


Howard University Middle School PCS 1

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
This was our child's first year and we are very disappointed. The administration didn't deliver any of the things that attracted us to enroll her. With the arrival and appointments of Dr. Blackmon, who arrived in August 2014 by January 2015 several key teachers were fired and incompetent substitute teachers were placed in classrooms to instruct our children. There are numerous problems faults not with the school, but with the administrative staff there is a high volume of turn over at this school, it was the potential to being an outstanding opportunity for our children that desire to pursue a career in the field of STEM and being on the campus of a HBCU in itself a benefit but with its current leadership it will not be the school of choice for our child next school term the only way we would consider returning next year is the REMOVAL of Dr. Blackmon, she's not the best choice for the school, the students or the HBCU college community.

Howard University Middle School PCS 1

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
I would not recommend that you send your child to this school. High staff turnover, administration does not seem to care about the students', teachers' and parents' concerns. As a Charter School, this school gets away with a lot of things like who they hire and how they treat staff, students and parents. This School retains lots of substitutes much longer than they should which is out of compliance with Special Education for those with 504 plans. Principal seems out of touch with teachers' and students' needs. Many supply shortages. No transparency at the School. Administration lacks honest communication with the students, teachers and parents. Professional development is lacking. Some students do not feel safe with some of the teachers. School has high percentage of African-American students yet the curriculum is insensitive to their needs. High suspension rate. Find and send your child to another school so you won't regret it too.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Howard University Middle School PCS
405 Howard Place, NW, Washington, DC  20059
(202) 806-7725
Last modified Howard University Middle School PCS is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Howard University Middle School PCS Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top