Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tyler Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 480 students

Tyler Grows Learners, Arts, Language, Technology, and Global Citizens
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2014

My daughter attends the Spanish Immersion program at Tyler -- it's an excellent program, which provides a strong foundation for her growth and development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

Positives: Spanish Immersion Program, Special Education these programs have great parent involvement and the leadership seem to be open to all things necessary to continue to see success for these programs. Additionally, before and aftercare is contracted out to Polite Piggy's which is a great program Need Improvements: The Traditional Program consist of predominantly African American students and perhaps less parent involvement, thus the leadership doesn't present a clear plan to improve the Traditional Program. My observation the school get great feedback from those parents with children in the Spanish Program but I would feel 99.5% accurate in stating the feedback would be less than positive for those parents in the Traditional Program. Unfortunately I didn't do my homework before transferring my child when a open seat became available because I heard so many great things about the school. Unbeknown all the positive feedback was in reference to the Spanish Program. I am planning to move my child as soon as I can get a seat at some of the other public/charter school options that challenges all students and have good solid leadership team at the helm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

This school is doing much better then before. I am so glad that there is more parent participation. I believe that the more parents the better outcome a school can be.


Posted August 1, 2013

Tyler is an amazing school with smart, committed, motivated teachers and a visionary administrative team. I'm all-in on public education, and Tyler makes it easy to marry my principles with reality because it totally rocks. My children speak Spanish because they've learned it at Tyler. They get to incorporate different forms of art, like poetry and plays, into their everyday lessons. They benefit enormously from their opportunities to interact with special needs children at the school. They eat well, with a great food service provider and daily USDA Fresh Fruit and Vegetable snack. My eight-year-old even knows how to program a computer! The principal recognizes that children need help with their social-emotional development as much as their intellectual and physical development. I can't say enough about this amazing place. Tyler rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Tyler is an excellent school with a very active parent community, a hard-working, committed group of teachers, and wonderful leadership. While the school's test scores aren't where anyone wants them, they've shown exceptionally high progress over the past couple of years. Families expect that trend to continue for years to come based on the hard work of all stakeholders. We offer a fantastic arts integration program, Spanish immersion program, and special education program. Together, it's a fabulous environment in which to be a student and a family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I have been a parent at Tyler for the last 5 years. It is so amazing to see where the school is today. Both of my children are in the Spanish Immersion program. It's amazing that my 4th grader is now fluent in Spanish, and my 1st grader is well on her way. They also have an amazing computer instructor who is teaching the kids to program in Python and Scratch. My son was creating his own games by the end of the year. The school is also an arts integration school and there is an ongoing partnership with the Phillips Collection and the Kennedy Center. All classroom use art to teach. There is good parent involvement, and I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

We feel privileged to have such a good public school in our neighborhood that integraties the arts in the curriculum across the English, Spanish Emersion and Special Education programs. Our daughter has flourished at Tyler and can't wait for summer to be over and see her teachers again. While I certainly wouldn't say that there isn't room for improvement, we are thrilled to be a part of the Tyler community and are looking forward to our son attending in 2014 (fingers crossed!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

Last school year, my husband I were convinced by the assistant principal to give Tyler a try. We did and were very satisfied with my child's preschool teacher. We were active in the classroom and chaperoned a lot of trips. The teacher was very engaging and did a WONDERFUL job teaching the students academics as well as social skills. By the end of the year, our child showed major improvement and could write, knew the entire alphabet and all of the sounds. Fast forward to this year (Pre-K)... We are COMPLETELY dissatisfied. Our child is being taught the alphabet and sounds all over again. Tyler speaks of diversity but it seems the Spanish Immersion classes are diverse. However, the arts integrated classes are not. We are now very unhappy and will be pulling out child out of the school. Tyler should take notes from Watkins Elementary. Also, today, as I was attempting to sign my child out of school 15 minutes early, I was met with opposition! My husband and I do not make it a habit to take our child out of school early so, for me to be chastised and questioned on why I was signing my child out was just ridiculous. We cannot wait to say GOODBYE to Tyler.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

The special education program at Tyler being "the very best" is relative. Many parents at the school feel the special education program is below average-- as is the rest of the school. The SEC is deceptive and the special education "team" at the school is a joke. For parents seeking Tyler for its special education programs-- beware! The "team" will act like they care but they are really clueless, unmotivated and do not have yoru child's best interest at heart. Don't for one minute think they are on your side-- the only side they are on is the side that saves them the most money!


Posted February 10, 2012

Please research this school for yourself...DCCAS Test scores, AYP and student culture.... The only way I would recommend Tyler is only for Spanish Immersion. Get your kids in early, take advantage of SI program while looking for a performing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2010

The special education program is among the very best in the District and has outstanding teachers who are extraordinarily committed and function as a team. The Spanish program is newer (first incoming class is now entering 3rd grade) ... 100% immersion for pre-S and pre-K, then 50-50 from K up. A core of now seven teachers is beginning to develop an identity as a teaching community. Tyler was awarded a three year Arts Integration catalyst grant, with the idea of finding new ways to raise all students' test scores. The outgoing principal responsible for the vision lifting an accelerating Tyler students' upward trajectory achievement-wise has been replaced with a seasoned principal with outstanding results in mixed income, mixed ethnicity student populations, including a Spanish program. The parent involvement at Tyler is outstanding and committed to building community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

Tyler Elementary is a great up and coming public elementary school. It hosts a Spanish Immersion program from preschool through 1st grade (it is adding a class each year through the 5th grade). Tyler also has an awesome special education program focusing on children with autism and MR. The principal is highly efficient, dedicated, and resourceful and particularly supportive of parental involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
8%
Writing

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
22%
Science

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
8%

2010

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2011.

112 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2011.

112 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
13%
Science

The state average for Science was 35% in 2011.

40 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
8%

2010

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students15%
Black, non-Hispanic7%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Students27%
Black, non-Hispanic14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students42%
Black, non-Hispanic31%
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Black, non-Hispanic45%
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Writing

All Students51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students36%
Black, non-Hispanic33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Black, non-Hispanic59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Science

All Students18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

In 2012-2013, this school was designated "Focus".

About the tests


The DC school classification system includes multiple measures to evaluate performance and student growth. The possible classifications, from highest to lowest, are Reward, Rising, Developing, Focus and Priority. These measures include the DC CAS, annual growth, graduation rates, attendance rates and participation rates. Under the system, required under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), each school is given a School Index Score based on the performance of its students. Schools receive different levels of support, resources, flexibility and monitoring based on their classification.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the city.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests in the District of Columbia. Test scores are based on 2012-13 DC CAS results.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 DC CAS results from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 71% 1%
White 17% 1%
Hispanic 9% N/A
Two or more races N/A 57%
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/AN/A
Special education 21%N/A13%
English learners 1%N/A7%
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Attendance

  This school District averageState average
All Students 97%N/AN/A
Asian/Pacific Islander 96%N/AN/A
Black, not Hispanic 97%N/AN/A
Hispanic 98%N/AN/A
White, not Hispanic 99%N/AN/A
Economically disadvantaged 97%N/AN/A
Students with disabilities 98%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 97%N/AN/A
Source: DCPS, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Frentress
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (202) 698-8064

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Continuation
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Game club
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Navy and Yellow
School mascot
  • Tiger
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
BASIS DC
Stuart-Hobson
Eliot Hines
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 G St. SE
Washington, DC 20003
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 939-4810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT