Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hope Community PCS - Lamond

Charter | PK-6 | 392 students

We are best known for Core Knowledge Curriculum and the Writing Aviator program.

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

My child has been a part of this school since pre-k 3, he is now in the 3rd grade. When he first started it was great and the teachers were great but after kindergarten it went all down hill. This school changes administration so much that you never know who is who anymore. This year I have had to address so many problems pertaining to the teachers and my child. They have been yelling at him, getting in his face, not allowing him to go to the bathroom, cursing at him, telling him to shut up, calling him stupid. The staff in this school is unequipped to deal with children and there are only a few teachers and staff members that I can actually say are good people. They switch principles every year so you never know who is in charge, they don't act concerned about your issues and the well being of your child and their main focus is testing. The only positive thing about this school is the curriculum. My child is learning a lot in this school and is very well advanced in some areas. They have a lot of work that needs to be done and they need to get better teachers who know how to communicate with the children and the parents. This will be my sons last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

The staff are very welcoming,everyone knows each other. The teachers love to teach. I like that they always send home notices about events and keeps the parent informed of whats going on weekly in a newsletter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

my daughter has been going to this school since PK3, she will be entering Kindergarten this year. She is excited about going to school. Everyday she comes home and tells me what she has learned. I can see her advancement. The teachers are creative, energetic and keep the kids engaged. I don't know where the disconnect is, their state test scores for grade 3 and above are not the greatest. Definately need more community envolvement. We will hang in there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

My son has been here for PreK3-K. We've been lucky to have the most competent, caring teachers who do a super job every day and manage to challenge the students. This despite those who bring their kids late (disruptive), don't complete homework, etc. My son has been in the aftercare program and they do homework for part of the time, then go outside or do free play inside. In the classrooms they group students by ability, and the ones who are advanced are receiving more challenging work. In K, my son is doing some 1st and 2nd grade work, so they definitely push the kids. A little too much homework sometimes (15-20 pgs/week), can't imagine doing this with 2 or more kids... Everyone knows each other at this school and my son has thrived. Great additional (at a cost) activities such as basketball, chess, Lego, gymnastics. Would love to see more parental involvement but there is a small group very dedicated. Also wish they would teach Spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2011

All this school cares about are test scores and giving young children busy work. The young children that attend there are overstimulated which causes stress and dissatisfaction on them. Honestly this school is a poor excuse of an educational system. Mostly everyone that works there down to administration has an attitude problem. As another parent had pointed out, kids are not even taken outside for recess everyday even when weather permits. I worked at this school and let me just say I would recommended you keep your kids away. Now there are some excellent teachers but those are very few and limited. I've seen with my two eyes a teacher yell in a small child's face "shut up" and I've also seen her pull the child so hard that he fell to the ground on top of another child who was sleeping. I do agree with what the parents are saying about the principal because in my experience she was useless. I spoke to her about the issues I had in the school and there no action to help solve the conflict. She really could care less about her staff and apparently about the children as well. Good luck to her because she's gonna need it with some of the staff members she has working for her.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 24, 2011

Very unsatisfied! On the first day of school we were greeted by a rude staff member who greeted us with this statement "I need your proof of residency." Even another teacher was appalled by rudeness in her approach. After stayin with our son for about an hour, we followed the class to the playground. As we were leaving, to go the our car, we found our son later trying to follow us out the gate unsupervised! We came back a couple hours later to check on him and he was no where to be found!! The teachers began to argue with one another blaming each other on who had my son last. He apparently wondered off and was with another teacher. Too much for a two year old on a first day of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

This school should be converted back into the warehouse it once was, the administration is extremely incompetent. Very few 'highly qualified' and certified teachers are on staff. Not a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

Thats your job . Any school your child attends is just supplementle to what you do at home , nothing can replace you as PARENT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

Hi Parents! Here is what I say: I am happy my daughter is happy. She comes home talking about all these things I know I've never exposed her too, and she has developed a larger than life personality. There are teachers there who are committed to making sure the kids at HOPE like change from the time they walk in. I love that she has a real grown up schedule, and that she has these best friends that i have to hear about everyday. They have a lot events and field trips--I wish I didnt have to pay for all of them, but it looks like the teachers and kids are having fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

My son has changed this year. I know horrible and so does he-we were there last year...BUT THIS SCHOOL IS what we both needed! I think everyone has their own experiences, but I dont know how it could be far from mine. I have been to six different events celebrating my son, I have had impromptu conversations with my son's principal, I have built a relationship in one year with many of the teachers just to be in tune with whats going on in the grades he is going to. There is always something going on-hes safe, hes learning, hes having fun...II will be returning and I hope good and involved parents join me! A solid 87% and I hope they climbed to an A next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Horrible, Horrible, Horrible school, every parent should immediately remove their child(ren) from this atrocity under the guise as a school. Principal is past incompetent (never available), teachers are not qualified and the lack of professionalism is shameful to say the least. Avoid this school at all costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

I think its great that they are trying to raise funds to have rubber mulch surfacing on the playground. This will make it much safer for the little ones. For all the Hope parents out there please support this effort so that students can have a great playground. Good job Hope Lamond. I cannot wait to see my daughters report from the DC-CAS. Go Hope!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

This school has a great early childhood program. Up to 90 percent of children that left kindergarten and went to first grade are rated advanced on their DC tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

This is the second year of school for my Pre-K child. We love her teacher (he looped) who has been with her for entire time. The administrative leadership is awful. There is no responsiveness to the parents' needs and the leadership is terrible. There is no outdoor play (even on the very nice winter days); overall this school has great potential through its teachers, but is in great need of new leadership. CH
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

This is my oldest daughter 2nd year there. I have a couple of problems with the school. 1. extended day doesn't do homework so your child will come home with alltheir homework. 2) They have changed the lunch menu. My daughter said the food this year was nasty. 3) They dont have enough teachers @ the school, 5th & 6th grade is combined. 4) the extended day & meal program cost entirely to much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

The principal is not responsive to parents concerns. The PK3. PK4 and K teachers and helpers all do a great job with the children. The school lost more than half of the teachers from 08/09 school year. They all decided to continue their careers at other chartered school in the area. This is a major lost to HOPE because most of the best teachers left. The upper grades are much less desirable. Extrended day for the morning and afternoon combines cost $275. The meals cost $2.20 for breakfast and $3.30 for lunch. I would recommend this school for the early childhood education but I would not stay beyond K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

There are a high number os teachers leaving form the 08/09 school year. The principal isn't available. Teahcers are great. Before/aftercare $275 and breakfast/lunch expensive ($2.20 and $3.30) the early childhood teachers are awesome..althought 2 of them opted to go to another chartered school for the 09/10 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

Hope is not jus a school it's a family that takes pride and effort in thier determination towards education. I love that my child is a part of the Hope family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

Fun and active staff members, great parental communication, approachable administration, parent involvement very high. and a great language program for early childhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2011.

68 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2011.

68 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 35% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Students41%
Black, non-Hispanic42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Students44%
Black, non-Hispanic45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Writing

All Students31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Science

All Students7%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White, non-Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Limited or not English proficientn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington, D.C. used the District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment System (DC-CAS) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8 and 10, science in grades 5, 8, and 10, and composition in grades 4, 7, and 10. The DC-CAS is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the District of Columbia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

In 2012-2013, this school was designated "Developing".

About the tests


The DC school classification system includes multiple measures to evaluate performance and student growth. The possible classifications, from highest to lowest, are Reward, Rising, Developing, Focus and Priority. These measures include the DC CAS, annual growth, graduation rates, attendance rates and participation rates. Under the system, required under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), each school is given a School Index Score based on the performance of its students. Schools receive different levels of support, resources, flexibility and monitoring based on their classification.

Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

This school is a low-performing (Tier 3) school, according to the DC Public Charter School Board, the organization that regulates DC charter schools. Schools that are persistently or significantly low performing (Tier 3) could have their charters revoked, resulting in closure. If a school has been identified as low performing by a local authority and that designation could result in school closure, the school receives a "Below average" GreatSchools Rating.

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the city.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests in the District of Columbia. Test scores are based on 2012-13 DC CAS results.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
City
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 DC CAS results from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from the DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE).

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 92% 1%
Hispanic 8% N/A
Two or more races N/A 57%
White N/A 1%
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/AN/A
Special education 7%N/A13%
English learners 0%N/A7%
Source: Office of the State Superintendent of Education, 2011-2012

Attendance

  This school District averageState average
All Students 84%N/AN/A
Female 86%N/AN/A
Male 83%N/AN/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 91%N/AN/A
Black, not Hispanic 84%N/AN/A
Hispanic 86%N/AN/A
White, not Hispanic 89%N/AN/A
Economically disadvantaged 84%N/AN/A
Not economically disadvantaged 85%N/AN/A
General-Education students 84%N/AN/A
Not limited English proficient 84%N/AN/A
Source: DCPS, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Character Education School of the Year (2007)
  • Parent Choice (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Danah Telfaire
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (202) 722-4431

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Dance club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • green, yellow, navy
School mascot
  • Huskies
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
395
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
430
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6200 Kansas Avenue, NE
Washington, DC 20011
Website: Click here
Phone: (202) 722-4421

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ideal Academy PCS
Washington, DC





Roots PCS
Washington, DC



Choosing a school in Washington, D.C.?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Navigate the system in
Washington, D.C.

Read how to navigate the
local process »
Washington, D.C.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT