Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS 1

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
How can I sum this school up in 10 words or less........................................This schools sucks!! Don't even bother send your child there.

Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are too young and they're just there for a check. They need to hire more seasoned teachers to mix it up and mentor to the younger teachers


Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
The school was ok when I started, principal called you back in a timely manner(NOT NOW) and teachers were pretty good( just a tad bit of advice- keep in constant contact with your child teacher it makes a difference. Now the teachers are young and appear to only be their for the check. My children were also injured at MMB and both times I was not contacted by the school. I have to agree with the other parent, the teachers yell at the students like they are irritating them. If your child currently attends this school always ask them how their day went. I would NEVER recommend this school to ANYONE.

Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
The school was ok when I started, principal called you back in a timely manner(NOT NOW) and teachers were pretty good( just a tad bit of advice- keep in constant contact with your child teacher it makes a difference. Now the teachers are young and appear to only be their for the check. My children were also injured at MMB and both times I was not contacted by the school. I have to agree with the other parent, the teachers yell at the students like they are irritating them. If your child currently attends this school always ask them how their day went. I would NEVER recommend this school to ANYONE.

Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
The school was ok when I started, principal called you back in a timely manner(NOT NOW) and teachers were pretty good( just a tad bit of advice- keep in constant contact with your child teacher it makes a difference. Now the teachers are young and appear to only be their for the check. My children were also injured at MMB and both times I was not contacted by the school. I have to agree with the other parent, the teachers yell at the students like they are irritating them. If your child currently attends this school always ask them how their day went. I would NEVER recommend this school to ANYONE.


Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
The school was ok when I started, principal called you back in a timely manner(NOT NOW) and teachers were pretty good( just a tad bit of advice- keep in constant contact with your child teacher it makes a difference. Now the teachers are young and appear to only be their for the check. My children were also injured at MMB and both times I was not contacted by the school. I have to agree with the other parent, the teachers yell at the students like they are irritating them. If your child currently attends this school always ask them how their day went. I would NEVER recommend this school to ANYONE.

Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS 1

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
The teachers yell at the students all the time and they cover up accendents that your child have I have been at this school for 3 years both of my kids have been seriously hurt to the point surgery have been involved and they did I nothing they never do anything even when u complain nothing happens the principal doesn't care and he does nothing my kids feel unsafe at this school and I withdrew them early please beware of this school DO NOT ENROLL UR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL if you love ur child do not bring them here

Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS 1

Posted May 26, 2014
- a community member
We entered the unified lottery this year and got offered a place at Bethune. I tried numerous times to call them to enroll at the school and no one ever called me back. When I finally got through to a person to ask about how I would enroll the person hung up on me. I enrolled elsewhere. The administration is incompetent.


Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My son has been a scholar here since PreK-3 and has truly blossomed into a critical thinker that is caring, self-driven, and has zeal for learning. My son is now an 8th grader and I am beyond satisfied with the quality of education that he has received at MMBDA. The school leadership is phenomenal, implementing the IB program, problem-based learning, and the arts. My son started in the Spanish-Immersion Program at 3 years old, and is quite proficient and has been accepted to one of the highest performing high schools in the city. I have recruited family members, neighbors, and friends to Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy and they are also impressed with the school's impact on their children academically and socially. I rate MMBDA with 5 Stars. Thanks for the difference you have made in my son's life.

Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS 1

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
This school is incapable of professionalism. Do not send your child here. There's a serious bullying issue against the children that want to excel and the children that don't (which is 90% of the school population). I don't see great things for this school, its unfortunate because I had such high hopes for this school. My child will be leaving at the end of this year.

Nearby schools

Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS
1404 Jackson Street Northeast, Washington, DC  20017
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (202) 459-4710
Last modified Mary McLeod Bethune Day Academy PCS is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top