Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
No, this place is a bonfied day care center. Students get away with everything. Walk out of class, curse out teachers, hit other students, all with no consequences

Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
How could they possibly. Students are allowed to beat each other up and get a 5 minute time out and sent back to class.


Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
No, they don't care about the students who are struggling or need help. They don't comply with IEP's at all. Don't let them lie to you.

Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted November 27, 2015
- a parent
1st yr parent getting the feel of the place but I am vocal parent and it is understood what I expect for mine

Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS 4

Posted November 27, 2015
- a parent
My child is in his 1st year at the middle school the teachers my child has dealings with understand that I expect just as much from them as they expect from me as a parent I have spoken on issues with the the Principal as well as support staff and all concerns have been addressed and corrected I came into the situation with an overstanding that children will get out of hand my child had a bullying incident that was handled right away I like what I see for the most part but I remember what most forget I am the employer and the staff are the employees


Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 24, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Humphries was a great teacher; I was sorry to learn that she left, because I know she made a great impact on my grandson excelling in reading.

Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 24, 2015
- a parent
My grandson has homework every night and it can be challenging. Therefore, I feel it just enough to keep him thinking. More thinking and less tv.

Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS 4

Posted October 24, 2015
- a parent
My grandson have attended this school for the last 2 years (kindergarten and 1st grade). He is learning and can read better than other children older than him. I was especially impressed when I picked him up one day and asked him what did he learn today and he said " I have 206 bones". Most adults do not know this. Keep up the good work achievement prep. In addition, I would like to add that the children do have gym and a play ground. Moreover, they are in the process of building a new campus. This new campus with have a state of the art playground.


Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS 1

Posted June 02, 2015
- a teacher
I taught at the Mississippi Avenue Elementary campus during the 2014-2015 school year. I would not recommend Achievement Prep to any parents seeking a school for their children or to any teachers seeking employment. The teaching/learning environment at this school is deplorable. Parents, beware, this is a place that is physically and emotionally unsafe for your child. Teachers, beware, students can hit you, kick you, scratch you, bite you, and curse you out on Monday morning then turn around and do it again on Tuesday. The level of physically dangerous and even violent behavior here is frightening, to say the least. The scholars with a desire to learn often complain of feeling sad, frustrated, and even angry because the outrageously unruly and disruptive behaviors of their classmates impede their learning. The teachers here work extremely hard and try their best, but they receive very little support from the administration. Morale and school spirit are low, yet stress and frustrations are high. The school leaders are young and inexperienced and lack the knowledge and ability to successfully operate a school east of the Anacostia River. The people that run this place should be ashamed of themselves for doing such a disservice to the scholars and their families. As an educator and a parent, I was absolutely disgusted with what I observed and experienced at this school. Our children deserve to be educated in a safe and friendly environment that is conducive to learning. Achievement Prep is not that.

Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS 1

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
I will never understand how a school that does not have GYM, ART, MUSIC, FOREIGN LANGUAGE or a SUITABLE PLAYGROUND is considered a Tier 1 school. Bullying is accepted and there is a revolving door for staff to come and go. The school also advertised diversity when I originally applied, however it is 100% Black. One of my child's teachers gave my child a Thank You note with Misspelled words...WTHeck!!! My goodness, they don't even teach the students how to write in cursive to prepare for high school. This school is a nightmare that is even infested with ROACHES!!! WARNING: During state wide testing, the students get a whole week and a half of HALF-DAYS...they gave parents a WEEK notice! The expectations of the students are higher than STAFF expectations! I could go on and on...Just beware!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS
1500 Mississippi Ave, SE, Washington, DC  20032
(202) 562-1214
Last modified Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS is a Charter school that serves grades 4-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Achievement Preparatory Academy PCS Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top