Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus 5

Posted January 06, 2014
- a teacher
DC Prep Edgewood Middle provides a phenomenal foundation in character and academic education--providing students with the opportunity to develop pertinent skills, needed throughout their lives, during each aspect of the school day. The teachers go above and beyond to create a fun, engaging and rewarding environment for the students. The teachers and staff members genuinely care about each student's development, in and out of the classroom--making DC Prep an amazing place for everyone.

DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus 5

Posted December 18, 2013
- a teacher
I am continuously inspired by my colleagues to improve my instruction. DC Prep shares my belief that character education is key to academic success.


DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus 5

Posted December 15, 2013
- a teacher
Some things I love about working here: - Continued professional development and feedback for teachers, no matter how long you've been in the classroom. - Staff members who are all incredibly dedicated and hardworking, and who like working together. - Families who are involved in what is going on in their child's education. Our Parent Action Team is an amazing resource for our school, and they do so much to support the work of our teachers.

DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a teacher
DC Prep is an excellent school. The teachers are extremely dedicated and hard-working and are passionate about their students. The curriculum is rigorous and requires students to work very hard. Students who enjoy being challenged academically will thrive at DC Prep. The school has a very proactive school culture with high expectations for students. There are a lot of incentives for students who are on time, focused in class, completing homework and working hard. It is a terrific school all around!

DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a teacher
DC Prep is committed to building the educational divide in Washington, DC and I am honored to be a part of such an amazing school with dedicated educators and students with an immeasurable desire to learn. Outsiders may see us as having unrealistic expectations for our preppies, but we don't want to create a world of mediocrity, but greatness. And to those people, i say, raise your expectations! Our preppies are students who will one day become presidents, doctors, educators, and leaders! I hope to one day send my own children to DC Prep. Thank you DC Prep for providing Washington, DC with a Decade of Raising the Bar!


DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus 1

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is in the fourth grade at DC Prep EMC. She is the highest scoring student in her grade, as she was last year and the year before at DC Prep EEC. She loved EEC. She HATES EMC. It is not the curriculum or homework, which are great, or the dedication of the staff, which is considerable. It is the intense disciplinary environment. There are assigned seats at lunch. Talking is prohibited almost anywhere, including lunch at times. There are routine detentions for minor infractions, which would not even be infractions at any other school,and for things which the student has no control over, such as being tardy, as a way to punish the parents. This kind of pointless, unfair discipline does nothing but make her angry, as it would anyone. She thinks the teachers are picking on her and trying to find anything to punish her for because she is so well behaved. I tend to agree, especially since the Principal said at the beginning of the year that everyone would get consequences, so that they would learn to accept them and move on. The only moving on we will be doing is to another school. ASAP

DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus 4

Posted October 31, 2013
- a community member
DC Prep is doing really well with my neighbors kid. I think that schools such as DC Prep should have more campus.

DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
My son has graduated from DC Prep and now attends McKinley Technology. The DC Prep teachers and their determination to reveal the excellence in each student is the reason I would recommend this school to anyone....


DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a teacher
DC Prep is committed to academic excellence. Teachers care unconditionally about student success and leadership works hard to support and create lifelong teachers and learners. The school focuses on collaboration among teachers and works hard to create rigorous, engaging material and lessons that meet the needs of all students. It is an honor to work at such a school where parents, staff, and students care so deeply and are all invested in meeting the same goals.

DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a teacher
DC Prep has one goal, to have its students succeed at the best area high schools and successfuly complete college. The teachers at the school pursue this goal relentlessly, most working 60 hours or more per week crafting the curriculum to ensure this is possible for every student. The result of this pursuit is an outstanding curriculum and results for students. In math, students achieve high test scores, but more importantly delve deeply into the process of math understanding. In reading and writing, students explore literature using supports that allow them to first meet and then exceed grade level expectations. In both reading and math, Prep Session classes allow students to work up to grade level or accelerate depending on their needs. In social studies, science, and specials, students receive hands-on instruction that allow students to really experience these subjects. This instruction, supported by an intense character education model allows all students to be ready for great high schools. DC Prep's only shortcoming is its singular focus on great high school success. Strict dedication to academic success is their focus. There is room for little else.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.

Find the great schools in Washington Dc


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus
701 Edgewood Street, NE, Washington, DC  20017
(202) 832-5700
Last modified DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus is a Charter school that serves grades 4-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
DC Prep - Edgewood Middle Campus Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.