Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (8 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS 5

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
Amazing school with incredible people proving a great education to a wonderfully diverse student body.

Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS 5

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has already been at SSMA for 3 years. During that time the school went through substantial growth and is constantly improving. All the staff is always very kind and helpful. My daughter is very happy there and I rarely hear her to say she don't want to go to school. She substantially improved her concentration skills. The best part or SSMA is the grace and courtesy teaching. Everyone is very polite and the children learn how to coexist with each other in a very gentle way. I love it and so does my daughter.


Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
I love the guides and appreciate their varied cultural background. SSMA puts emphasis on diversity and it is doing a great job.

Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS 5

Posted February 29, 2016
- a parent
We have 2 daughters at SSMA, they love going to school and we know our girls are in good hands !!!

Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS 5

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter is in her 2nd year (PK4) at SSMA and we have had a wonderful experience and we are so excited about the future of this school.


Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
There are many people at this school I would like to thank. I will start at the top with the school's director, Dr. R. She has had so much to deal with over the last year and half that we have been there (location issues, going through 2 accredidation processes) and she handled it all with such amazing grace. She is a big reason I'm so excited about the school's future and I am so thankful for her. Of course I am also thankful for my daughter's teacher and the assistants in the classroom (but, Dr. R. was the one who hired them so she gets some credit for that too :D ).

Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter has learned a lot over the past year and a half and she likes school. She loves her teachers so it seems to me they are effective.

Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
The only "homework" she has been given are a calendar fun little activities to do. For example for PK3: Find something that feels smooth in your house. Go to the library and check out a book about fall. Name 5 things you are grateful for. Play the "I Spy" game - remember to take turns. Find some triangle shapes in your house. But no real homework which I think is perfect for 3 - 5 year olds. Her teacher will say, " just let them be children at home".


Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a parent
The school focuses on the whole child - not just the "three R's". In the primary class (PK3 through Kindergarten) they learn practical life skills, grace and courtesy, independence, what it means to be part of a community (sharing, waiting your turn, doing your part). They learn to respect and care for others.

Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS 5

Posted February 26, 2016
- a student
We are in our third year at Shining Stars, and our child loves going to school here. In all honesty, we did not choose this school for any particular reason, other than this is where we happened to "win" admission through the lottery. However, we now realize how incredibly lucky we were! The Montessori approach is remarkable, and our child is thriving. The teachers are excellent, and care deeply about the children and the work that goes on in the classroom. We also appreciate the diversity - both among students, as well as teachers and staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.

Find the great schools in Washington DC


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS
1240 Randolph St NE, Washington, DC  20017
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. (202) 723-1467
Last modified Shining Stars Montessori Academy PCS is a Charter school that serves grades PK-6
Top